Minidish above gutterline

cvs

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
47
Hi All,

I need to mount a minidish on the side, towards the rear of my house, above the gutterline to ensure a clear line of sight. Would 18" T&K brackets with a scaffold pole be suitable for the task?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,685
Reaction score
9,666
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Only if the clearance required is less than 18" !

You need to measure the overhang of the roof and/or the guttering.
 

cvs

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
47
Analoguesat said:
Only if the clearance required is less than 18" !

You need to measure the overhang of the roof and/or the guttering.

First thing I did.

Just wanted to make sure the t&k/scaffold pole combination would keep the dish firm as it will be ~4ft above the gutterline.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Yes, that should be more than adequate for a minidish. :)
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
18inch i think will be too big as a minidish is small so maybe 12inch will do it, depends on the guttering overhang as you dont want it to stick out
 

cvs

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
47
wod said:
18inch i think will be too big as a minidish is small so maybe 12inch will do it, depends on the guttering overhang as you dont want it to stick out

Unfortunately the overhang >12" with the guttering - Anyone know where I could source a made to measure set of T&K?

Do you think the scaffold pole is overkill and I could use something smaller (lighter)?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Can't think of anywhere to get other than the standard sizes, you can use 1.5" steel mast, but ideally heavier guage than standard aerial mast, I have used the tube used for railings on mezzanine floors previously, but not sure how easy it is to get hold of normally.

If you are happy with scaffold pole and can easily get hold of it, then go ahead with that. :)
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
you will need 1.5inch pole for a minidish as the bracket only takes that size unless you drill them out for 2 inch pole
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
No, it will fit a 2" mast wod, I've fitted lots on 2" masts, you just need a big enough U Bolt.
 

aba

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
173
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
chaparral montery 40 fully loaded
ehcostar ad3600ipvia
3 dishes zone 2 / 1 mt motorized / 2.3 m motorized
My Location
nottingham
18 inch t & k brackets only give you about 15 inch clearance from the wall to the edge of the gutter
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
rolfw said:
No, it will fit a 2" mast wod, I've fitted lots on 2" masts, you just need a big enough U Bolt.

ah yes, mine fitted a 2inch pole without drilling anything it had the long metal bracket on the back but seen some with just 1.5inch, the zone 2 dishes i'm sure need drilling or bigger v bolt as dont they use the pole bracket
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Correct, the zone 2 only fits a 1.25" mast, unless you "adapt" them. ;)

@ aba, that is also correct, infact probably closer to 14" if using a 2" mast.

You could always try something like the Raven Standoff mast and brackets, they only give a couple of feet above the gutter, but do give a true 18" standoff. _http://www.creativesatellite.co.uk/index.html?lang=en-uk&target=d31.html
 

Yeshi

Sleepy Hollow
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
865
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
37
Location
Norden - Near Edenfield (not Rochdale)
My Satellite Setup
Dm500, TM9100, Samsung V+, 1M Dish. Motect 2100..
37Inch Plasma, Wii, Xbox360.
My Location
Behind pin 9 on an atmel
Hi,

I have a 16" T&k in my van.. that should be adequete, 18 would be too big.. although i have seen a 24" tk on a house. looking at it closely a 12" would of done the job.. they look bloody stupid..

I have also got a Tk on the back of my house.. zone 2 fits on the scaffold.. (with the arm attached.)
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,022
Reaction score
1,427
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Didn't think the zone 2 had an arm Yeshi, thought it was pole mount only.
 
Top