mm and lnbs

metheny

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi all, Could someone please suggest a cheapish LNB that works well with a Samsung vs9800ci? Ive tried an MTI blueline , but it keeps failing on certain channels(good on others though) and my old analogue which worked well is nearly dead(on most but not all channels?)so not sure whether its cam/receiver or lnb? Any suggestions greatly appreciated, cheers folks
 

Razor

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
1,319
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Location
Ireland
The MTI should be fine I use a C/bridge .6 only £35 got it from Wizard SAT by mail order. What dish are you using.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,368
Reaction score
7,093
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Is the system failing to clear channels because of signal strength ?

If not then a change of LNB is not going to change things.


Cal Amp 0.5s are a good allrounder
 

metheny

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Channel Hopper said:
Is the system failing to clear channels because of signal strength ?

If not then a change of LNB is not going to change things.


Cal Amp 0.5s are a good allrounder
Thanks for replying Razor and Channel Hopper, i have an(old)80 cm dish and sginal strength is good 90+, an old analogue lnd was good till the recent solar flare, maybe thats blown something? maybe my new lnd and cam dont like each other or the receiver?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,057
Reaction score
1,443
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
There will normally be no problems between LNB and CAM and rarely between LNB and receiver, unless you have inadvertantly changed the settings, it is more likely that your dish has become misaligned, or your LNB skew requires adjustment.
 

metheny

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Points
0
rolfw said:
There will normally be no problems between LNB and CAM and rarely between LNB and receiver, unless you have inadvertantly changed the settings, it is more likely that your dish has become misaligned, or your LNB skew requires adjustment.
Thanks for replying, ill try and play about with lnb if it ever stops raining.
 
Top