Multisat dish - Toroidal?

dssnosher

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
DM500
My Location
Ukraine
Greetings!

Due to my lack of expertise, I have to revert back and ask few questions on multi sat reception.
The goal is to get 4 birds from west Ukraine:

Badr 4 26.0°E
Astra 2F 28.2°E
Eutelsat 28A 28.5°E
Eutelsat 9A 9.0°

The list is not limited and I want to be able to scale to maybe 2-3 more in furure.

Do I need toroidal dish for this?
How can I possibly diplex this setup onto 10+ receivers? Do I need cascadable multiswitches? From what I understand, the above listed satellites all need linear LNBs?
 
Last edited:

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
I don't think you're going to get 26e and 28e with any lnbs

Plus we will have no idea what the reception of those satellites would be like in Ukraine anyway.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Where are you located. Astra 2F and E28A are more or less the same position so count as one satellite. You should be able to receive 9E and 28E on the same dish. For 26E you will need a bigger dish (size depending where you are). A 17/16 multiswitch allows for one more satellite and up to 16 receivers.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Ukraine??? or Canada???
 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
I used to chat with a feed hunter called satsid I am sure a few members will know him. his setup was amazing, I wonder where he hangs now I miss the chats he taught me a few bits along my way when I first started.
 

dssnosher

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
DM500
My Location
Ukraine
Set up will be out of Lviv, Ukraine.
Lyngsat shows good signal on all satellites.
Is Toroidal dish required for this or can be done with 1 x 1.5M dish?
 

dssnosher

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
DM500
My Location
Ukraine
Where are you located. Astra 2F and E28A are more or less the same position so count as one satellite. You should be able to receive 9E and 28E on the same dish. For 26E you will need a bigger dish (size depending where you are). A 17/16 multiswitch allows for one more satellite and up to 16 receivers.

Wouldn't 17 do 8 lnbs? 8 x 2 (VorR)+(LorH)
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
26E is probably marginal in Lviv

2F European is probably ok, although you can forget the UK beam.

Eut 28A should be ok

Eut 9A should be nice and strong.
 

dssnosher

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
DM500
My Location
Ukraine
26E is probably marginal in Lviv

2F European is probably ok, although you can forget the UK beam.

Eut 28A should be ok

Eut 9A should be nice and strong.
Thank you! Badr-4 BSS needs 1.2M according to satbeams
 

davemurgtroyd

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
1,309
Reaction score
707
Points
113
Age
72
Location
Oxford
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Oxford
Wouldn't 17 do 8 lnbs? 8 x 2 (VorR)+(LorH)
No European Ku band satellites require 4 outputs from each lnb - two polarisations (V & H) and two frequency bands (High & Low) and usually best practice is to use quattro lnbs (not quads) which have the 4 required outputs fixed and thus have less switching electronics in them (and the multiswitch) to go wrong.
 

dssnosher

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2011
Messages
41
Reaction score
10
Points
8
Age
41
My Satellite Setup
DM500
My Location
Ukraine
No European Ku band satellites require 4 outputs from each lnb - two polarisations (V & H) and two frequency bands (High & Low) and usually best practice is to use quattro lnbs (not quads) which have the 4 required outputs fixed and thus have less switching electronics in them (and the multiswitch) to go wrong.

Something new for me every day, thank you. How would I tell by looking at sat on lyngsat or any other satellite data repository whether it needs V+G and H+L?
 

gibertini

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
479
Reaction score
337
Points
63
Location
up north
My Satellite Setup
DM800HDSE SIM 2.10 80CM ORBITAL FIXED@28.2E
My Location
53.6N 2.4W
Something new for me every day, thank you. How would I tell by looking at sat on lyngsat or any other satellite data repository whether it needs V+G and H+L?

look if the frequencies are either V or H or between 10.7ghz-11.7ghz (low band) or 11.7ghz-12.75ghz (high band).. there are 4 sub bands again aswell.. 10.700-10.950/10.950-11.700/11.700-12500/12.500-12.750. in general terms the birds at 28.2/5east broadcast between 10.7-12.75, BADR4 between 11.7-12.75, and eutelsat9a between 11.7-12.50 although in the case of astra 2f ect what you can get with a normal sized dish in ukraine i cant say so you might only need a perticular sub band. best bet as suggested is get quattro lnb,s and a 16 way switch so you can expand but as stated you will struggle to get 28.2/5e and 26e with normal feed lnb,s without losses and i dont know if they do narrow feed quattro lnb,s although they might.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,004
Reaction score
1,260
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
How would I tell by looking at sat on lyngsat or any other satellite data repository whether it needs V+G and H+L?
Pretty much all Ku band satellites over the European skies needs a linear polarized, universal LNB to receive the full spectrum range.
 
Top