Multiswitch and SKY Please Help

Deano

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Sky Plus+ 4 Free Sat multiswitch and RTE and BBC Dual Aerial
My Location
N. Ireland
Hello,

I am new to these forms and I cannot find much that will help me to my specific multiswitch question.

I am moving into a new house in the next few weeks and each room has a Digital Satellite Standard Coax cable. It is usually used to connect a Digital Freeview Aerial on the roof but I intend to use this for satellites.

Well let me explain

I have bought a Triax 5 x 8 way multiswitch,
I have also a Quatro LNB with 40mm Collar with bracket so I can connect it to my sky minidish.
I have 2 aerials amplified and combined going into the Aerial Socket on the multiswitch.

What my question is well will my setup work. I intend to run the following

2 Sky Plus Box (Living Room), (Bedroom 1)
3 Sky Digibox (Kitchen), (Bedroom 2), (Bedroom 3) FTA

I have heard of Insertion Loss from the Quattro and some people including an Aerial / Satellite installer said not to worry. I intend to do all the internal work with putting face plates and such

The questions are,
1. What type of face plate will I need for the living room and bedroom 1 I assume a 4 output plate, FM, TV, Sat 1 and Return? I also believe I need two cables?

2. If I connect the Multiswitch output directly to a sky digibox will this work or must I use a faceplate to diplex the signals.

3. Will I need to amplify my signal using an IF Amp before the Multiswitch?

I do intend to get a proffessional aerial installer to mount the aerial and the modified sky dish to get best results.

Will this setup work or am I missing something?

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire