Newbie Here New member from s.africa

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
I have been told I need at 1.5 metre ku motorised dish and a 2.3 metre c band motorised dish to pick up FTA signals in S.Africa. It will be an adventure.
My Location
South Africa, Eastern cape
Hiya,

Newbie signing in.

I apologize in advance for all the mundane questions I will ask.

This isn't the place etc .. I will find the right ones.

Best wishes

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
Welcome to satellites.co.uk

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Been invited to Cape Town for work, but the flight arrangements and logistics of the trip interfered with other installs, despite the similar timezone issues.

What are you hoping to receive with the current system and what do you have in reserve?

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
I have been told I need at 1.5 metre ku motorised dish and a 2.3 metre c band motorised dish to pick up FTA signals in S.Africa. It will be an adventure.
My Location
I am starting from scratch .. but have an enquiring mind and a decent budget .. plus space to put dishes.

I have been advised I need to track 46e (which appears to have a footprint from Axerspace-1 c band to get me going and 68e (Intelsat-20)

I got a satellite pointer app for my phone, and both are there. Can post pics if it helps etc.

Dish size will be the biggest issue (sourcing it - 80cm seems about the biggest stocked locally) and am advised to look for between