New SKY cards?

Cupart

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
....
My Location
....
I was just wondering if anyone have any idea of when (and if) SKY are to send out new viewing cards in the near or distant future?

When I was on their analogue service new cards were sent out quite frequently. Didn't subscribe for a few years after they switched off their analogue signal and started again in 2004 on digital and haven't heard (or read) anything about new cards being sent out. Is there any reason for this I wonder?

Cheers,

F
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,964
Reaction score
9,766
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Sky are overdue for a card swap out (normally about every 5 years - and the last one was 2003), but nothing has been said in public about it recently
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
They only send out new cards when they need to, particularly as they would need to send out in excess of 7 million. The analogue system was compromised on several occasions, hence the replacament, the digital system was close to being fully compromised a few years back, hence the card replacement, but they obviously consider that one is either not necessary, or not financially justifiable at the moment.

As Analoguesat says, do not rule one out in the near future, as I'm sure that they are looking at ways to prevent the cards being shared.
 

Cupart

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
....
My Location
....
I take it we'll hear about it here then, when that time comes well in advance...

I could imagine it's a costly afaire if SKY has (not sure on the figures) around 8+ million subs and all need a new card sent out...
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
680
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Age
51
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Even if the cards cost them 50p each, times that by 8 Million plus postage at (maybe 30p each) then it´s still a ****ing lot of money to do a card change.

Whatever the reason for changing them then Murdoch isn´t gonna sign that one lightly.

Furthermore if there was a card change then all cards abroad would go down and need to be changed. If this took a month to sort out (sent to agents then sent to customers etc) then if as estimated that 25% of their business was abroad then that will cost them another huge chunk of change.

Sorry if I have rambled.

Cheers

Triggs
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I don't for one minute think that there are 2 millions subscribers abroad, but even if there were, the cards would be sent out to the registered addresses, so no extra cost involved.

But whatever happens, if a card swap is about to happen, it will be all over the net like a rash.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,964
Reaction score
9,766
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
There are rumours that part of the contact with NDS states that the cards have to be swapped every 5 years or so, but SKy are pushing for postponement due to the costs involved.

No idea how true it is.
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
680
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Age
51
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
rolfw said:
I don't for one minute think that there are 2 millions subscribers abroad, but even if there were, the cards would be sent out to the registered addresses, so no extra cost involved.

But whatever happens, if a card swap is about to happen, it will be all over the net like a rash.

You are probably right I was rambling but can you imagine the "rash" Murdoch would get having to shell out that much money. :-rofl2
 

dasteelman

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
532
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
85cm transparent dish
85cm Penta Dish (motored)
Black Ultra LNB
VU+Solo
VU+Duo
technomate 9100 linux
Quali-TV (4:2:2)
Eaglebox
UK nds card
My Location
Tyne and Wear
trigger said:
You are probably right I was rambling but can you imagine the "rash" Murdoch would get having to shell out that much money. :-rofl2

oh dont worry about unlcle ruppy having to shell out...it would be the customers who would fit the bill ;)
 

Cupart

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
....
My Location
....
The monthly charge for the 6 mixes has just gone up in Ireland from EUR 30 to EUR 31 pr month. It actually went down from EUR 30.50 to EUR 30.00 to then go up again...

This could be the first sign that Rupert needs postage money for sending out new cards :-rofl2
 
Top