New to Satellite

lewis

Reaction score
I have never used Satellite before. I'm interested in getting free european channels and I'm not really interested in SKY. What equipment do I need and can I install it myself, I am fairly handy and understand IT etc. If anyone has any tips I'd be very grateful. Thanks. Lewis. Based in London

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
That really is a "How long is a piece of string" question Lewis, and there are several previous threads in this section asking for similar information.

Do you mean that you want to receive the free European channels, or the encrypted European channels free?

damhy

Reaction score
My Location
Kent
Main parts you will need for a basic set up:
Satellite dish (the bigger the better in my opinion, max legal size without planning consent is 90cm)
MultiSat receiver (Preferably one with CI slots on it, this will allow you to open it up a bit)
Universal LNB, you can pick up some cheap 0.6dB minimum though preferably 0.3dB.
Obviously cables, connectors, and some bracket for the dish.

If you wanna get a bit more technical you could opt for:
Motor mount for the dish (Saves on manually aligning it)
CAM (Some generic cam like the XCam, depending on what you wanna watch)
Blank Programmable cards (to add channel keys on to, some cams dont need this)
Card programmer (to put codes on to the cards)

My main setup is:
ISS 85cm Dish from http://www.brymar.co.uk/
Moteck SG2100 Motor from http://www.turbosat.com/
Golden Interstar universal LNB which I got from ebay
Technomate 5500CI Plus receiver which I got from ebay

I dont have any CAMs, did have but now I dont.