Nilesat 7W with 1.2m dish from UK?

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
37,993
Reaction score
1,406
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Been asked this question today, but can't really tell from the footprint and can't test it myself, it seems unlikely as we are way outside the 44db marker, but would be interested to know.
 

>COR<

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
177
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
68
My Location
Sneek, HOLLAND
Hello Rolf,

From the reactions on the other forums, the vertical channels will come in, the horizontal are weaker, some could get them with a 1.2 metre dish, most not.

I have the Triax 1.1 and 0.3 Invacom, and 30 metres CT125 and get all vertical channels, and in cloudless weather 2 horizontal on the brink of breaking up
Location Sneek Holland :p
CHeers,
Cor.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,605
Reaction score
6,905
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Agree with Cor on this one - the channels available in the UK are down to the polarisation of them

If its a question about seking Arabic channels in general then have they tried Arabsat ? Certainly there is more deidcated Egyptian stuff on Nilesat, but the main news and entertainment from the Middle East is available with a 1.2 from 26 East
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
37,993
Reaction score
1,406
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Thanks Guys, I think that the guy is Egyptian and is particularly looking at Nilesat, I'll give him a call tomorrow and pass on your information..

Cheers. :)
 

lee32uk

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
191
Reaction score
1
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 1500ci+ super
Triax 1.1m dish
Diseqc motor
Invacom lnb
My Location
Manchester
I can get some channels on 7west with a 1.1m dish here in Manchester, but its a bit hit 'n' miss.If the guy is after Arabic channels then Hotbird is also a good choice.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
37,993
Reaction score
1,406
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Found out that he is after Turksat for the football, he has bought a 1.3 metre dish from tursat.co.uk for the purpose.
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,605
Reaction score
6,905
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Tursat advertises its dishes with 'interesting' performance claims
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
37,993
Reaction score
1,406
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Yes and pretty cheap as well, would be interesting to see how they perform next to a Channel Master 1.2.
 

>COR<

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
177
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
68
My Location
Sneek, HOLLAND
Found an place in the UK too that does 1.85 offset dishes for 250 pounds 45 dB gain...

Cor.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
37,993
Reaction score
1,406
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Where's that Cor, can you post a link? Would be interesting to see, not interested in acquiring that size dish, but interested in seeing the details all the same.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
37,993
Reaction score
1,406
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Ah yes, there is a mention of this dish in a much earlier thread, I think Channel Hopper knows something of it, I also believe that it was originally cheaper than that, but they put the price up. :)
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
30,605
Reaction score
6,905
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I thinlk it was a typo on the website when translated from Euros to GBP, pity as its now correct

There are quite a few Polish dish manufacturers, but this is the first that has a UK distribution chain. The ones Ive supplied have got good gain, but suffer from UV breakdown of thre plastic parts after a year, and are easily damaged by the couriers, so check the reflector carefully, and before signing.
 

foufou

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.unlocker.org
and in Belguim at 50.7N 5.6E
What size for dish and LNB
LNB 0.5 and dish 1.20 m : IS it possible for give all channels from Nilesat?
Big Big Big thanks for all replay ;)
 

ricky321

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2003
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
71
Website
Visit site
My Location
East Midlands
Had a car made in Poland a few years back, bit like a Lada , both obsolete, lets hope the dishes last longer.
We need some-one brave enough to spend up to £999 a lot of cash to me.
My 1mtr in the English midlands gets me most sats but not 4W7W and stuff well out of Europe.
Have fun wherever you are.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
37,993
Reaction score
1,406
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
foufou said:
and in Belguim at 50.7N 5.6E
What size for dish and LNB
LNB 0.5 and dish 1.20 m : IS it possible for give all channels from Nilesat?
Big Big Big thanks for all replay ;)

Should be similar to Holland, so vertical channels only.
 

Old Satellite

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
458
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Nilesat in Belgium for the Horizontal needs a 1.8 for good stable reception.

A 1.2 will normally recieve the 11996H and 12037H transponders in good weather conditions as they tend to be the strongest of the Horizontal transponders.

regards

Old Satellite
 

>COR<

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
177
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
68
My Location
Sneek, HOLLAND
Hi,

Just had a mail exchange with the Hollstar firm, the text is here:
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your e-mail.

There is no problem to sent a 185cm offset dish to Holland, but the cost
of transportation will be high. This is alu dish and it requires a special
packing.
We can send you R200 offset dish, which is made of epoxy and better for
transportation.

I will check the transportation prices of both dishes and I will let you
know tomorrow.

Best regards,

Janusz Sulisz

That was 2 day's back, still not got an answer to what that other dish will cost and the price for transportation....


Cheers,

Cor.
 
Top