1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Off Topic Chatter 2017

Discussion in 'The Meeting Place' started by st1, Jan 1, 2017.

  1. John Pykett

    John Pykett Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    43cm Triax Dish, Humax HB-1000S
    My Location:
    Hucknall, United Kingdom
    im guessing that when i access my epg the tuner is accessing the home transponder and the channel that is on for mini tv?
     
  2. davemurgtroyd

    davemurgtroyd Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    374
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    Oxford
    Unlikely unless the channel and home transponder are on the same polarisation and in the same frequency band. Far more likely it is accessing a cached version of the EPG if it is a single tuner box.

    Think about it a tuner can only tell the lnb to send one of the four blocks of signals to the receiver - one polarisation and one frequency band at a time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2017
  3. John Pykett

    John Pykett Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    43cm Triax Dish, Humax HB-1000S
    My Location:
    Hucknall, United Kingdom
    how can it be cached if it doesnt have hard drive or usb drive connected?
     
  4. Topper

    Topper Amo Amas Amant Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    20,072
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    IDD CI24 ECONO MM Penta 1.20 Galaxy II
    1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 25 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancashire
    All processors have built in on-board cache
    Cache memory, also called CPU memory, is random access memory (RAM) that a computer microprocessor can access more quickly than it can access regular RAM. This memory is typically integrated directly with the CPU chip or placed on a separate chip that has a separate bus interconnect with the CPU.
     
  5. davemurgtroyd

    davemurgtroyd Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    374
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    Oxford
    Cache memory

    EDIT beaten to the post
     
    Topper likes this.
  6. Chris1979

    Chris1979 Id venit partem in meos domos

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    4,624
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Somerset
    My Satellite Setup:
    Sky Dish, Iss 1m Dish, Gibertini 1.5, Gibertini 1.25, Triax TD88, Technomate 80cm mesh. 2 x SMR99G h2h mounts. Gibertini polar mount. Alsat Diseqc 1.2/36v positioner x2. Vu+ Duo as my Freesat/Freeview, Dr HD D15 & Tbs 6983 sat card for feed hunting.
    My Location:
    Somerset
    Netgear telephone support just makes you want to bang your head on a brick wall.

    20 minutes later on an 0845 telephone number, I have finally managed to get an rma so I can get my router fixed.

    So I am limping along on an old modem router :-(
     
  7. John Pykett

    John Pykett Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    43cm Triax Dish, Humax HB-1000S
    My Location:
    Hucknall, United Kingdom
  8. Topper

    Topper Amo Amas Amant Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    20,072
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    IDD CI24 ECONO MM Penta 1.20 Galaxy II
    1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 25 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancashire
    Not too sure the concept of not watching TV when it is pissing down outside would really catch on in the UK...somehow and it would be a devils own job to try to focus something which could not be formed into a perfect parabola, but I take to point concerning the neatness of storage
     
    davemurgtroyd likes this.
  9. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    21,480
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East

    I cant get the video to play on this device, but it looks like a foldaway solar panel.
     
  10. sonnetpete

    sonnetpete Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,569
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    Normandy, France
    EDF here in France are selling them..according to the US agents prices start at $20,000, so I'd guess not really cost effective to have it converted to a sat dish...
     
    Lazarus likes this.
  11. davemurgtroyd

    davemurgtroyd Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    374
    Trophy Points:
    63
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    Oxford
    How would you get the folding petals to align with each other to form a decent parabola - it would take a lot of expensive extras to do so on top of its already cost of $20,000. Adjacent panels would have to rise or fall to align Petals folding that way is a non starter
     
    Topper likes this.

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors