On The Edge (26E MBC problems)

Chesters

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star Zeta Receiver, Fraccaro 85cm motorized Dish
My Location
Lincoln UK
Hi Guys, Is there any way to increase my signal quality? I am just managing to get MBC on Arabsat at 26.0 degrees east and when I get it the picture is good but if the wind gets up I tend to suffer. Dish is a Fracarro 85cm dish with a Maplin twin output Lnb sat on a Moteq 2100 motor, reciever is Fortec Zeta.
 

Robbo

Retired Mod
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
6,424
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Age
57
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
The mbc transponder is very weak in the UK. If the wind is effecting it, maybe you need to adjust the azimuth position slightly. The best way of improving the signal is to get a bigger dish.

Robbo:)
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Good choice of dish :D :D

As the Mbc beam on 26e is weak, if the dish moves a fraction you losing it. I have a similar problem with rain fade as I'm sure most do. There's not much margin for error with this beam/Tp. A better LNb may improve the situ. Is the dish very exposed?

SM :)
 

Chesters

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star Zeta Receiver, Fraccaro 85cm motorized Dish
My Location
Lincoln UK
Yes unfortunatly it is prone to wind, I'm just wondering if a more rigid mounting might be a good idea.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Ah.... tell me you haven't got it on a 'L' Type Bracket? :D
 

Chesters

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star Zeta Receiver, Fraccaro 85cm motorized Dish
My Location
Lincoln UK
When you say an 'L' bracket what do you mean? The thing that I have fixed to my wall is a flat plate approx 15cm x 20cm with a rectangular tube mounted in the middle at 90 degrees and then the dish mount tube at 90 degrees to that. Is this a nono?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Chesters said:
When you say an 'L' bracket what do you mean? The thing that I have fixed to my wall is a flat plate approx 15cm x 20cm with a rectangular tube mounted in the middle at 90 degrees and then the dish mount tube at 90 degrees to that. Is this a nono?

Yes, is that what you got ? :D
 

Chesters

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star Zeta Receiver, Fraccaro 85cm motorized Dish
My Location
Lincoln UK
Yep I'm afraid so. Ok then what should I be using?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,862
Reaction score
11,302
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
T & K brackets with a length of steel tubing. Those L brackets flex too much - and have a nasty habit of shearing off in winter storms!
 

Chesters

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
72
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star Zeta Receiver, Fraccaro 85cm motorized Dish
My Location
Lincoln UK
Ok so T & K brackets, it is at this point were my lack of knowledge shows itself. Can you give me an example of such brackets and where to get them.
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
T&K fixings either 12 Inch OR 18 Inch. 2 inch steel mast in fine and fit the motor between the two.

Check the site sponsors in my signature for supply of brackets

SM :)
 

Attachments

  • T+Kbrackets - satman.jpg
    T+Kbrackets - satman.jpg
    2.9 KB · Views: 33

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,862
Reaction score
11,302
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You can get T&K's from big DIY stores or maplins.co.uk.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
50,862
Reaction score
11,302
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You can get T&K's from big DIY stores or maplins.co.uk.
 

wod

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
238
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
or people who fit tv aerials will have some and i'm sure they would sell you a set of the brackets
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
At a reasonable mark up I'm sure:-lmao
 

guest poster

registered
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
989
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
21
Chesters said:
Hi Guys, Is there any way to increase my signal quality? I am just managing to get MBC on Arabsat at 26.0 degrees east and when I get it the picture is good but if the wind gets up I tend to suffer. Dish is a Fracarro 85cm dish with a Maplin twin output Lnb sat on a Moteq 2100 motor, reciever is Fortec Zeta.

I think you have done very well with that setup to get MBC... The Fortecs are not known for sensitivity either... I'd say you could gain a vital 20-30%+ with a much more sensitive stb and LNB... good cable is critical too..

Maybe the Fracarro is as good as they (the manufacturers) say...


:cool::cool::cool::cool:
 
Top