One LNB - Two or more orbital positions

NWW

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
42
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
TD88 9E/13E/19.2E/28.2E 4x Inverto Black Octo's, 8x Diseqc
HTPC with DVBlink 4.5.2 TBS6981/Digital Devices Cine S2 + DuoFlex S2 with Hadu
Oscam with TNTSAT
My Location
Belgium
Hey all,

I was wondering, what is the maximum spread between satellites that a single LNB can pick up? Kind of like the 28.2 - 28.5E cluster. I am asking specifically about an LNB pointed at 9E. Is it possible to pick up 10E with that?

Thanks!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,620
Reaction score
8,316
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Depends upon several factors >> The bigger the dish, the narrower the accepted beam.

And for good results on 10E a decent dish size is needed anyway.

Bottom line: With a dish aligned to 9E results on 10E might be restricted to one or two Channels only BUT if you align and optimise on 10E, then you should get the rather stronger 9E Channels.

Your Profile shows you have a TD88, which even on its own won't be hugely successful on 10E.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,318
Reaction score
9,950
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
9 & 10 E are easy on normal sized dishes - that what I do with my 1m Orbital (aligned onto 10E)

You should be able to get a few 21.5E and 23.5E frequencies at the same time - several of us have done this.
 

RimaNTSS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
5,214
Reaction score
5,564
Points
113
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Some SAT-related hardware.
My Location
N-E from Riga
I am quiet skeptical about getting 2 sats on one LNB, that is always compromise: you get everything from one sat and something from another one, or vice verso. I have some experience on getting 4W and 5W on T-90, was not so happy. So, I think that in ideal world each bird has to have own LNB. :-doh2
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
My little 35cm BSB Channel Master is currently getting reception of 5w and 8w perfectly.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
remlap said:
My little 35cm BSB Channel Master is currently getting reception of 5w and 8w perfectly.
Wow thats good, i thoought you would struggle with 8w, 5w is any easy catch!
 

NWW

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
42
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
TD88 9E/13E/19.2E/28.2E 4x Inverto Black Octo's, 8x Diseqc
HTPC with DVBlink 4.5.2 TBS6981/Digital Devices Cine S2 + DuoFlex S2 with Hadu
Oscam with TNTSAT
My Location
Belgium
Thanks for the answers.

Unfortunately, 9E being a quad LNB and 13E an octo, there is any space between them to catch 10E, that's why I was wondering if it was possible :)

I'll scan a couple of transponders on 10E :)
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Set up on 10E and see what you get from 9E.
 

NWW

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
42
Reaction score
8
Points
8
Age
31
My Satellite Setup
TD88 9E/13E/19.2E/28.2E 4x Inverto Black Octo's, 8x Diseqc
HTPC with DVBlink 4.5.2 TBS6981/Digital Devices Cine S2 + DuoFlex S2 with Hadu
Oscam with TNTSAT
My Location
Belgium
Can't do that, 9E and 13E are tightly squeezed together.

I have no "need" to get 10E, it was just an experiment x)
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
remlap said:
My little 35cm BSB Channel Master is currently getting reception of 5w and 8w perfectly.
Eek, my BSB dish is looking at 5E in Finland and working well right now. I hope Eutelsat's new 3E satellites don't start interfering with it.
 
Top