Open & closed source?

jenny

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
Devon
Hi guys, I've decided to explore the wider world of satelitte tv (become bored with the limitations of sky) and would like to ask you lovely people on here for some advice and tips etc?

Firstly, can I ask what's the difference between open and closed source boxes? Are linux based the only open source?

Many thanks, Jenny
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Linux boxes can still be Closed Source .....................


Things like Dreambox are Open Source as they are widely customisable with various Images, Plug-Ins etc.

I have a couple of Skybox F3s, which use Linux but are not Open Source as I cannot do much to alter its looks, feel, operating methodology, menu structure etc. and can only use embedded features rather than having an external and independent resource for adding features.

The former is great for real enthusiasts, but the latter is far easier to get to grips with.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
If you tell us a little more about what you think you want to achieve, we can focus our advice.

For example:


Do you want to access a wider range of Satellites?

Do you want Free To Air Channels only or do you want non-UK Subscriptions?


Any information/wants/needs/preferences/must haves would help.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,590
Reaction score
3,821
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Tivù said:
If you tell us a little more about what you think you want to achieve, we can focus our advice.

For example:


Do you want to access a wider range of Satellites?

Do you want Free To Air Channels only or do you want non-UK Subscriptions?


Any information/wants/needs/preferences/must haves would help.
Also knowing your budget would be useful
 

jenny

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
Devon
Thanks for your quick responses guys.

Eventually I'd like to be able to access more than 1 satelitte but just to get started maybe try something that is basically plug and play and have been thinking about the skybox f3 but, knowing me I'd get bored with this very quickly if it's not very versatile.

I'd like to access more than just UK FTA channels. Am I correct in assuming that a receiver needs to be linux based to do the unmentionable things? Does it ideally need to be open sourced? I've read on other threads about emu's etc but I don't have the room in my house for a bird of that size lol. What's that all about?

I may be a woman and a bit new to all this but please don't think I'm totally stupid.
 

jenny

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
Devon
Just to add about my budget I'm thinking of anything up to about £150 depending on whether I go for a good second hand box or a cheap end of the market brand new unit. Thanks
 

jenny

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
Devon
Hi guys,

I've been looking on ebay and found a Blade BM 7000s which look very nice and within my budget. I also found a Golden Media 'spark' and a fulan 'spark' which are apparently the same thing (both made by the Fulan company it seems) but with the GM being more expensive. They're all HD which is good as I like to sit in and watch a film or two with my daughter on a Saturday evening.

All these boxes seem really good for the money but as I have no idea how to drive these things which one would be the easier for me to learn in if you get my drift? I'm really relying on you boffins for expert guidance here please.

Many thanks, Jenny
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
The "unmentionable things" you mention are not within the gift of this Forum to discuss in detail.

Our advice is always to obtain legitimate subscriptions.

As for HD and other Satellites, the Skybox range are inexpensive and flexible. They are capable of the "unmentionable things". They are relatively easy to drive - which is a dilemma as you say on the one hand you have no idea how to drive these things but on the other hand claim rapid onset of boredom!

I'm not bored with either of mine ....................
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The F3's are capable, although they have various quirks - many of which we have found and are mentioned here in the forum in the Skybox section.

They are a cheap way into the multi sat hobby and have the advantage that if you decide the hobby isnt for you after a few months you havent spent loads of £££'s on the receiver. They are also easy to learn how to drive.

Several of the regulars on the forum have one as second or third receivers (or in my case 6th!)
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Analoguesat said:
The F3's are capable, although they have various quirks - many of which we have found and are mentioned here in the forum in the Skybox section.

They are a cheap way into the multi sat hobby and have the advantage that if you decide the hobby isnt for you after a few months you havent spent loads of £££'s on the receiver. They are also easy to learn how to drive.

Several of the regulars on the forum have one as second or third receivers (or in my case 6th!)
5th for me!!! I've had my skybox f3 for a week -its the most sensitive receiver i have-fantastic value for money at the moment too.
 

jenny

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
Devon
Thanks for the honest advice guys.

Maybe I'm being a bit hasty but when I bought my first PC many years ago (remember the days of the 286, 386 etc) with the intention of using it for letter writing and playing solitaire it wasn't long before I was taking it to bits to upgrade the hardware then upgraded to newer machines and learned how to upgrade software etc.

I just know that once I get my teeth into this it probably won't be long before I'll be seeking other toys such as a motorized dish and a more sophysticated box. Question is, do I start with a very basic model and work my way up or start somewhere around the middle to save time and hassle later but rely on the advice of others to help me get to grips with it?

I've always been one to try and run before I could walk.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
There are 2 routes to go for multi sat - one dish with multiple lnb's or motorised.

There is a third way - multiple dishes but only a few maniacs go down that route (I include myself in this - Ive currently got 8 dishes in the back garden!) Its not popular because it makes the garden look untidy to some folks eyes (*) & the neighbours tend to complain!

Almost all receivers will do multi say & motorised, so dont be afraid of buying a cheap receiver to bein with - for example my F3 is currently hooked up the 3 lnb's and I get Russian TV from 53E, Turkish from 42E & Armenian from 36E on it.


(*) I think the dishes are a thing of beauty and my neighbours & the landlord are tolerant of my slightly odd hobby!
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,521
Reaction score
818
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
Another thumbs up for the F3, does everything I need (apart from 422) and at the price they are it's worth it just for the FTA HD output, I only bought it for the BBC Olympic streams but have now connected it to a 1m motorised dish. The menus are quirky but easy enough to work out which is a good job because the manual is a waste of paper.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
I agree with the menu issue, but now i know what i'm doing its second nature. Comes from messing with too many stbs! Very stable now i've all my satellites programmed in, but then so was the icecrypt and thats a useful bit of kit ,smart card slot and cam slot too,could have done with 2 usb slots which was the only down side.
 

jenny

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
Devon
Sounds all very exciting guys and I can't wait to get started lol.

I've been checking out a few cheapish boxes on various sites but it's a real minefield for a beginner. From the reviews I've read for the Blade 7000s it sounds really good for just over £100 but there's also a couple of Icecrypts for the same sort of money although I don't think they're all linux based.

There is also a Cuberevo which seems good for the price but I can't find much info on them anywhere on the net and also a couple of Amiko's (which are apparently made by Fulan as are Golden Media). I also read somewhere about avoiding anything Chinese made (which rules out Fulan in it's various forms) as apparently they use cheap components and boxes start to freeze or just stop working after a few months.

Am I right in assuming only the linux boxes can do the unmentionable things (not that I have that in mind of course)?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Generally speaking the linux boxes are the only one possible of doing the dubious stuff. Ahem.

Most Linux boxes and certainly all the clones will originate from China.

A couple of years ago there were no end of problems with clone boxes but the quality seems to have got better recently and fewer problems are reported

One make you could have a look at is the Vu+ range - a bit more expensive but pretty good receivers (although I personally dont like the software on them)

Have a look at the websites from the various forum sponsors

http://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/635-forum-supporting-advertisers-special-offers/
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,958
Reaction score
7,223
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
jenny said:
Thanks for your quick responses guys.


I may be a woman and a bit new to all this but please don't think I'm totally stupid.
Of course not. Total stupidity can take years to perfect
 

jenny

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
16
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
Devon
Of course not. Total stupidity can take years to perfect
But when you're a woman and blonde Channel Hopper people (men ehm) seem think it comes naturally.

I see Maplins are selling an Icecrypt 3200 HDCCI for £99 which seems really good especially considering they're going for £119 on ebay. What I'm thinking is not only is it a good deal but at least you can trust Maplins over most ebay sellers and if something goes wrong with it you just take it back.

What does HDCCI mean though? Obviously I know what the HD stands for but what about the CCI? While we're on the subject I've been seeing the terms CCCAM and other CAMs mentioned alot but what on earth do they mean and do?

Sorry for being blonde guys.
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
Ive got the icecrypt s3500hdcci in front of me here,nice kit. 10000 memories slots on the back for cards for payview channels and a slot for cams (conditional access module) which needs to be plugged in before you can insert certain payview channels. This was £149 in August from a place near East Midlands Airport. (Trade warehouse). Never given me any trouble, but you could get a skybox for 50 quid less and it'll do pretty much the same. It all depends what you want from your box.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
jenny said:
But when you're a woman and blonde Channel Hopper people (men ehm) seem think it comes naturally.

I see Maplins are selling an Icecrypt 3200 HDCCI for £99 which seems really good especially considering they're going for £119 on ebay. What I'm thinking is not only is it a good deal but at least you can trust Maplins over most ebay sellers and if something goes wrong with it you just take it back.

What does HDCCI mean though? Obviously I know what the HD stands for but what about the CCI? While we're on the subject I've been seeing the terms CCCAM and other CAMs mentioned alot but what on earth do they mean and do?

Sorry for being blonde guys.
CAM = Conditional Access Module - slot one into a receiver and slot the pay tv cards slot into it. Different types for different encryptions.

CCCAM = a software cam used by linux receivers. It can read pay tv cards, and is one of any number of software cams. Often used for card sharing (which we can only help with in the most general terms)
 
Top