Optimum dish size

wolsty

"Satellite Expert"
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
787
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo, Humax IRCI5400z, Sony Bravia KDL-32EX403, 1.1m Triax, Technomate TH-2600 DiSEqC mount, Sony BDV-E280 Home Cinema system, ancient Logik Freeview PVR.
My Location
Kernow
My existing dish is about 90 cms vertical x 80 cms horizontal. On my Hummy, signal strength for the strongest channels shows at about 40% and signal quality at about 30% even on a good day. The signal does vary quite a lot, so the picture is unstable. I'm over 5 degs W and nearly on the 50 deg N latitude, so I'm way off the Thor footprint. I've resigned myself to buying a new dish, but I'd be grateful for views on the optimum size under 1.2 metres (neither my motor nor my pocket will take anything larger)

:) :) :)
 

wolsty

"Satellite Expert"
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
787
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo, Humax IRCI5400z, Sony Bravia KDL-32EX403, 1.1m Triax, Technomate TH-2600 DiSEqC mount, Sony BDV-E280 Home Cinema system, ancient Logik Freeview PVR.
My Location
Kernow
The signal on clear channels, eg Kiosk 1 is fairly stable at about 30%. However, on encrypted channels such as MUTV, Discovery and Kiosk 2 - 22 the signal strength fluctuates visibly and quite rapidly between 20% and 30%. As a result, the picture is unstable when using the Season setup.

:confused
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I would have thought that 1.2 metre would have been close to the minimum for steady reception of those channesl from your location wolsty, I pick them up in anything but bad weather on my 63cm, but am a lot further East and further north than you.
 

wolsty

"Satellite Expert"
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
787
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
75
My Satellite Setup
VU+ Duo, Humax IRCI5400z, Sony Bravia KDL-32EX403, 1.1m Triax, Technomate TH-2600 DiSEqC mount, Sony BDV-E280 Home Cinema system, ancient Logik Freeview PVR.
My Location
Kernow
I had a feeling you were going to say that, Rolf. There are advantages in living out in the Atlantic, so close to the Equator, but easy reception of Thor is not one of them. Still, the primroses in the hedgerows are pretty at this time of year.

:) :) :)
 

amdaley28

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
55
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
Visit site
My Location
pj::
Hi there.
There is only two rules regarding dish size.
(1) Get the biggest you can afford.
(2) Make sure that it's properly set up.
Regards.
amdaley28:)
 

jimbo

Retired Mod
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
3,482
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
71
My Satellite Setup
Sky HD, TM6800HD, Manhattan Plaza ST550 and TM1500 CI+. 1.0m dish and 36v motor, Panasonic DVD HDD recorder and Panasonic video/DVD recorder. Sony G800 HD TV stand/surround system + Sony KDL40W2000. Infinity USB, Elvis, CAS1, CAS2.
My Location
Greater London
In a perfect world you would be right amdaley28 but, unfortunately, neighbour relations and planning permission come in to play these days. So, location of dish governs the size allowed I'm afraid.
 

pixey

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
194
Reaction score
0
Points
16
My Location
South UK
@Wolsty, 1.2m CM dish, Lat 51.9 Long 0.09, signal very strong (can't remember exact figure at the moment).

Hope this helps.

pixey
 

Old Satellite

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
458
Reaction score
0
Points
0
My recommendation Wolsty would be at your location to go for a 1.8 mtr for reception in less than perfect conditions.
a 1.2 and a 1.5 mtr will provide an improvement but at your location you will most likely loose several transponders at various times.

Regards

Old Satellite
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,672
Reaction score
7,159
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Put up a large dish and camouflage it

Before
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,672
Reaction score
7,159
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
And after


It doesnt have to be quite so large, but blending in is really helpful
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,081
Reaction score
1,455
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Nice CH, what's the imitation foliage, just standard plastic stuff?
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
31,672
Reaction score
7,159
Points
113
Age
56
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
A British Army surplus tank/APV cover.

Plastic 'leaves' totally transparent to microwaves and about 20 quid for the larger size that can be tied behind the dish

Stands out a bit in the winter though
 
Top