My Satellite Setup
Humax VA-Fox (Viaccess Card Slot)
1.1m Triax Dish
0.3 LNB
HH110 Motor
My Location
London
Hello all,

I am new to the concept of "Digital Receivers" with CAMs & cards, upto now I've been using a Free to Air receiver and lately I,ve been reading on receivers that can take CAMs & viewing cards that enable you to watch extra progs.

Apart from the Humax F1 Fox , I have a 1m dish & a motor and as I understand I just need one of these receivers with a CAM and a card. I am interested in watching football and maybe some movies.

Can anyone please advise me on what receiver I should go for? I have seen Manhattan, Humax , Echostar , Kaon and some others mentioned. Any of these I should avoid.

Absolutely any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
tinman73

gameboy

Ding Dang Doo
Reaction score
Website
www.gamezplay.org
My Satellite Setup
DreamBox 7000s - Nokia Freeview - Several GameBoys - DS Lite - ZX81 - SNES - N64 - Saturn - Dreamcast - PlayStation - PS2 - Gamecube - PSP - iPod - iPhone - XBox - PS3 - Wii - iPad - No Life!
My Location
Scotland
tinman73 said:
Can anyone please advise me on what receiver I should go for? I have seen Manhattan, Humax , Echostar , Kaon and some others mentioned. Any of these I should avoid.

This is a difficult question to answer as everyone will have their own favourite.

I don't think any of the new receivers are 'bad' but here are a few things i would do to help decide.

1) Decide on a budget (that should thin the list down)
2) What features are essential or just wishes i.e. Record to hard disk, control a motor. more than one CAM slot etc?
3) How much work do you want to do i.e. Program cards,update cards or leave it to the box?
4) Are you confident with computers as some boxes require some complex set up?
5) Do you have a Internet connection that you could use to update the receive or would you rely on Satellite updates?
6) Read all you can on your shortlist.
7) Find the best price.