1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Powerline adaptors

Discussion in 'Computer Discussion' started by Analoguesat, Nov 13, 2017.

  1. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    44,458
    Likes Received:
    7,361
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM 5402HD
    Skybox F3
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Anyone recommend a decent set of powerline adapters, or are they pretty much like for like?

    Just moved house and the master phone socket is in the most insane place possible by the front door. As its rented accomodation I cant start poking holes in the walls to get wired connections to my desktop. So a couple of powerline adapters would seem to be a sensible compromise
     
  2. Chris1979

    Chris1979 Super Moderators Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,859
    Likes Received:
    5,855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Gibertini OP150, Motek H180 H2H.
    Amiko S100 SMR99G H2H.
    Technomate 88cm Mesh SMR99G H2H.
    Sky Mini Dish on 28.2°E as Freesat.
    ISS 1.0m, Triax TD88, Gibertini 125.

    Dr HD D15, TBS6983, TM5302 x2, Vu Duo.
    My Location:
    South Somerset.

    I use a couple of these

    Buy Netgear 1000Mbps Powerline Kit at Argos.co.uk - Your Online Shop for Powerlines, Networking, Laptops and PCs, Technology.
     
    Analoguesat likes this.
  3. william-1

    william-1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Epping Forest
    My Satellite Setup:
    100cm Gibertini + Inverto Black Ultra
    (50 east to 45 west)
    TM6902 HD / Octagon SX88 /TM5502HD

    88cm Dish
    (53 east to 45 west)
    TM5302HD / TM5402HD M1

    45cm + Quad Lnb for 28.2E = SpiderboxHD9000+Eaglebox 800HD

    VM Modem/ZooStorm PC
    My Location:
    Epping Forest Essex

    I bought these a few years ago & they work very well TP-LINK TL-PA4010 Powerline Adapter Kit - AV600, Twin Pack for £25

    I think I bought them from Currys.

    u_10143560.jpg
     
  4. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,200
    Likes Received:
    4,677
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    Tell them it was mice ?

    If you are staying only a few weeks, you can always throw a cable out the window/over the roof , replace when it gets damaged.
     
  5. pontiend

    pontiend senile member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    2,808
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    south yorkshire
    I would think that most are pretty good these days.
    One thing to consider is do you need AC pass through.
    I replaced my really old ones recently with a pair of TP Link AV600 TL-PA4020P. They work fine
     
  6. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    I have a pair of TP Link.

    No issues at all. Reliable. Fit and Forget. No Interference problems.

    Of course, if you want a second opinion, there's a guy on DS who disses them at every twist and turn.
     
    william-1 and pontiend like this.
  7. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Модератор Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,636
    Likes Received:
    6,605
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    North Somerset
    I can't stand power line adapters. They are fine/OK for the sorts of broadband speeds that AS likes to find himself with but I've found them annoying to pair and they are useless for transferring large-ish files across.

    In fairness, they are convenient and have probably improved muchly since I used them last about 3-4 years ago.

    Sorry, that's not any help at all!
     
  8. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    I happily stream HD TV from my Foxsat with them. Current ones are capable of pretty decent transfer rates.
     
  9. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,200
    Likes Received:
    4,677
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    These are the devices that are behind raising the noise floor for Radio reception, including C-Band , there was a thread about this some time ago.

    UKQRM : Interference to radio caused by non-EMC compliant devices.
     
  10. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Модератор Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,636
    Likes Received:
    6,605
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    North Somerset
    No doubt. The quality of your power lines within the property also go a long way in determining reliability.
     
  11. Lazarus

    Lazarus Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    23,410
    Likes Received:
    6,443
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    80cm Motorised.
    Several small Dishes.
    Much else.
    My Location:
    North York Moors
    Yes. Ours were installed by me so are, inevitably, crap of the highest quality.

    The key problem was where to site the cryogenics infrastructure for supercooling the busbars.
     
  12. PaulR

    PaulR Dazed and Confused Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    15,317
    Likes Received:
    2,893
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    --------See sig--------
    My Location:
    Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
    Right next to the frozen head of Walt Disney?
     
  13. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    44,458
    Likes Received:
    7,361
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM 5402HD
    Skybox F3
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Thery wont make sod all difference on this internet connection...

    (complaints have already been sent to plusnet!)

    [​IMG]
     
  14. william-1

    william-1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Epping Forest
    My Satellite Setup:
    100cm Gibertini + Inverto Black Ultra
    (50 east to 45 west)
    TM6902 HD / Octagon SX88 /TM5502HD

    88cm Dish
    (53 east to 45 west)
    TM5302HD / TM5402HD M1

    45cm + Quad Lnb for 28.2E = SpiderboxHD9000+Eaglebox 800HD

    VM Modem/ZooStorm PC
    My Location:
    Epping Forest Essex
    Just saw the Plus Net ad index.png nice ad just very poor support on the ground.
     
  15. Channel Hopper

    Channel Hopper Suffering fools just so you don't have to Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    23,200
    Likes Received:
    4,677
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
    My Location:
    UK South East
    That's possibly because it's owned - and badly run - by BT insiders.

    On 5 March 2007, shortly after the BT acquisition, the Plusnet chief executive, Lee Strafford, and the finance director, Neil Comer, were dismissed by BT.[4] Strafford was replaced as CEO by a former BT employee, Neil Laycock, who had been with Plusnet in various senior roles for the preceding three years.
     
  16. Chris1979

    Chris1979 Super Moderators Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,859
    Likes Received:
    5,855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Gibertini OP150, Motek H180 H2H.
    Amiko S100 SMR99G H2H.
    Technomate 88cm Mesh SMR99G H2H.
    Sky Mini Dish on 28.2°E as Freesat.
    ISS 1.0m, Triax TD88, Gibertini 125.

    Dr HD D15, TBS6983, TM5302 x2, Vu Duo.
    My Location:
    South Somerset.

    keep using this site to report faults.

    BTW Performance Test
     
  17. jeallen01

    jeallen01 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    704
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    W London
    Not read much of that thread, but it's almost certainly true in heavily-populated areas - was a big source of argument in the EMC Regs compliance community before I retired, and probably still is. Big issue was that no-one could clearly define what the radiated and conducted emission limits should be in order to ensure no/minimal interference with other kit.

    Don't use them and probably never will .
     
  18. Terryl

    Terryl Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    1,197
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    OpenBox X5 on a 1 meter motorized dish.
    And now a 10 foot "C" band dish.

    Custom built PC
    My Location:
    Deep in the Boonies in the central Sierra Nevada mountains of California.
    The only problems I have had with PL adapters is when they are on the other-side of the incoming power phase, on some long runs out to the power pole the adapter had problems connecting to it's counter part, found out it was on the #2 side of the input AC line, and that the main line was around 100 feet or so to the pole.

    Solved it by finding a second outlet on that side of the power input and run a CAT5 cable from it to the TV set.

    Also had problems them located in the kitchen, when the microwave started up the PC would loose contact to the internet, solved that with an internal WIFI card.
     
  19. 2cvbloke

    2cvbloke Bulbs need shelter too...

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    9,079
    Likes Received:
    1,545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
    My Location:
    Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
    Thatnkfully here in the UK we don't use split-phase like the US, so everything in the house is on the same phase, of course whether poweline ethernet works depends on whether the wiring in the house is any good given some older houses could have been wired up by a bodger who didn't know what they were doing and got the whole lot mixed up...
     
  20. william-1

    william-1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Epping Forest
    My Satellite Setup:
    100cm Gibertini + Inverto Black Ultra
    (50 east to 45 west)
    TM6902 HD / Octagon SX88 /TM5502HD

    88cm Dish
    (53 east to 45 west)
    TM5302HD / TM5402HD M1

    45cm + Quad Lnb for 28.2E = SpiderboxHD9000+Eaglebox 800HD

    VM Modem/ZooStorm PC
    My Location:
    Epping Forest Essex
    Well power-line adaptors are better than Wi Fi here,

    Direct Ethernet link to my router = 80 Mb
    Power Line = 52 Mb
    Wi Fi = 28 Mb
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors