Russian Channels from the UK

victor999

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
77
My Satellite Setup
none
My Location
UK
Hi. I'm a newbie here with a question. I know little about satellite technology, but have learned a bit of late. I live in the UK and have a Russian wife. We would like to receive Russian channels. Do any of you know if I can do this? If so, which satellites (carrying Russian channels) should I be able to point at from the UK?


Thanks for any help you can offer.
 

krutoy

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
4 Sat Dishes with 7 recievers
My Location
Middle East
You could try Yamal 202 or search this link
http://www.lyngsat.com it will give you which ones are recieved in your area.
 

cdtronix

Supporting Advertiser
Joined
Oct 22, 2007
Messages
241
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Age
42
Location
Essex, UK
My Satellite Setup
1.1m Triax With Inverto Black Ultra fixed on 4.8East. 60cm Dish Fixed on 28East both Diseqc onto Dreambox 800HD. Cdtronix 1.2m Motorised with Twin LNB using Technomate TM6800 HD. Seperate Sky+ HD & Icecrypt S1500C.
My Location
Essex
theres a few on hotbird, around a dozen i think, have to check lyngsat to see exactly what there is.
 

krutoy

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
59
My Satellite Setup
4 Sat Dishes with 7 recievers
My Location
Middle East
Analoguesat said:
Yamal 202 is not possible in the UK. There are a few Russian language channels, but they are scattered across several European satellites.

http://en.kingofsat.net/find2.php?p...um_genre=&num_crypt=&num_standard=&ordre=freq


That is strange according to Lyngsat Yamal 202 is global and available on C Band http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/maps/yamal202.html. and http://www.lyngsat.com/yamal202.html.

I am not from europe so don't know why that would be if it was not available.
 

Park Royal

Regular Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
364
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
80
My Satellite Setup
Smart lnb, 1m Gibby dish, Stab motor, TM5200D receiver, 57east to 61west. DTT from Sudbury. Virgin Media broadband.
My Location
So called capital of Suffolk, UK.
Take your pick from the list at _http://www.flysat.com/tv-ru.php

For the UK look between 53east and 4 west, and best to go for the Ku band transmissions with horizontal and vertical polarities.
Circular transmissions (L & R) as well as C band transmissions are outside the scope of most popular sat boxes on the market.
Parky
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,979
Reaction score
9,771
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
krutoy said:
That is strange according to Lyngsat Yamal 202 is global and available on C Band http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/maps/yamal202.html. and http://www.lyngsat.com/yamal202.html.

I am not from europe so don't know why that would be if it was not available.

Ok fair enough - it is possible to get it on C-band in Europe :D (although Ive never seen anyone from the UK report getting it!)

Hardly anybody bothers with C-band in northwestern Europe simply because the dish sizes are too big for our crowded lifestyle. Sky UK did away with 60 and 80cm dishes because people in the UK didnt like the "big ugly dishes" on the side of their houses and went down to 43cm and 60 cm dishes instead.

C-band dishes need what is known as "planning permission" from the local authorities due to their size - not cheap and can take months to get.....

:D
 
Top