Newbie Here signal problem

kazmundo

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
sky tv to 4 rooms and broadband
My Location
huddersfield
hello,,,,bit of a strange one but here goes.......the tv picture goes black for a second when turning off the oven on two tvs when watching sky....no probs when on freeview,,the actual tv is not turning off,just the sky signal for 1 or 2 seconds at most....very occasionally goes off when flicking a light switch also.....the wiring has been tested as well as my HD splitter box and ariel antenna booster..all no probs........on advice i tried surge protection to sky box,splitter and tvs to no avail......any ideas please?

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Can you try it without the splitter? I am assuming it's the HDMI splitter?

kazmundo

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
My Location
huddersfield
yes will do......whats your thoughts on this?

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
No idea. Perhaps something causing the splitter to throw a wobbly. Lots of splitters are cheap and nasty and unlikely to be protected against small surges. Why this happens only on Sky HD box, I don't know. It could be the Sky HD box throwing some interference out on its HDMI port, confusing the splitter - what Sky HD box and how old is it. Some have a tendency to have their power supplies slowly die with strange side effects.

A

archive10

As CJ says, try without the splitter. but it may be the many things.

I had something similar previously:

I used to run my Freesat box from the utillity room via HDMI extenderd (dual Cat 6 twisted pair cables) to living room.
Every time I turned on or off the lights in the *hallway*, I lost signal for 1-2 seconds on the Freesat box.