Sky Digital in Vienna

redwien

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Newbie looking for advice, currently using a 80 cm dish for FTA german, spanish channels
My Location
Vienna, Austria
Was wondering if anyone could give me some information on picking up Sky in Vienna, Austria. I was in touch with skynow.tv (their new European service) and they said I would need a 120 cm dish. However, this seems very big to me as I'm sure I've been told by people (usually in pubs when I've had a few) that they are using smaller dishes.

Also do you think manual installation is possible, I have already installed a 60 cm dish picking up Astra 1. Is it possible to have one dish picking up Astra 1 and Sky?

Help very much appreciated :-worship.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
48,905
Reaction score
9,747
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The bigger dish is needed for the transmission on Astra 2D (BBC ITV, soon to be C4 and possibly C5).

If you can do without these channels then a smaller dish is ok.
 

Turok

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
2,237
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Age
33
My Satellite Setup
1,25 Fibostop
Jäger Smr 1224 & Smo 36 Dual Axsis Motor
Dynasat F1
Monterey 140
Drembox 800
sky Pace HD Box
Tagra 2,20 M Fullsize Dish
Echostar 2,40m Mesh for cband!
My Location
Austria
Hi there:)
for sky cards,in our country,you can contact,or visit directly this 2 companys

_www.olbort.at
not far from vienna

or,take a look on w**.mhr.at

Price are very high,like ,on every "Sky Agent"outside uk,but when you know no one on the island,then this is the only solution for you!
 

p

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
112
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
90cm gregorian
5way zone2
My Location
Rainham, essex
As allways http://www.lyngsat.com/28east.html

lyngsat is your friend, check what channels you are after, and then the sat they are on's footprint, not acurate but a good starting point guide.
 

redwien

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Newbie looking for advice, currently using a 80 cm dish for FTA german, spanish channels
My Location
Vienna, Austria
Turok said:
Hi there:)
for sky cards,in our country,you can contact,or visit directly this 2 companys

_www.olbort.at
not far from vienna

or,take a look on w**.mhr.at

Price are very high,like ,on every "Sky Agent"outside uk,but when you know no one on the island,then this is the only solution for you!

Sky Cards for Austria are now available from Sky direct _http://www.skynow.tv not cheap but in line with charges in Ireland (my home country) but danke!
 

redwien

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Newbie looking for advice, currently using a 80 cm dish for FTA german, spanish channels
My Location
Vienna, Austria
Analoguesat said:
The bigger dish is needed for the transmission on Astra 2D (BBC ITV, soon to be C4 and possibly C5).

If you can do without these channels then a smaller dish is ok.

I never even thought I could get these channels as I thought they were only available in the UK and Ireland, but now that you say they're available I want them.:-doh2
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,465
Reaction score
3,574
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
redwien said:
Sky Cards for Austria are now available from Sky direct _www.skynow.tv!
This is not $ly direct. This is a company that very professionally makes its website look like $ly's real site.

The giveaways are the mispelling of "Support Center" (the American way of spelling centre) and in the FAQs
Can I install the digital satellite system myself or should I hire someone?

We don't advise self installation. We recommend to contact your local satellite technician.
where in the UK $ly have a huge fleet of installation vans.

No doubt there are more clues elsewhere.

Are they reliable? I really couldn't say but you have to make your own mind up about a company that disguises itself to look like something else.
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
Sorry for the bad news. In Vienna Astra 2D reception starts from 2.40m and above. Even with this size reception is not 24/7 and hard on the limit. The rest is easily available on 60cm.

The 1.20m line for Astra 2D is in SE Bavaria. A friend of mine has a Gibertini OP125 nearby Traunstein. This still gets all the frequencies of which some are on the limit. Eastwards the signal goes down.

Have a look on the 2 discussions about 2D in Vienna:
_http://www.satundkabel.de/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=3247&start=15&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=
_http://forum.digitalfernsehen.de/forum/showthread.php?t=86624
 

Turok

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
2,237
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Age
33
My Satellite Setup
1,25 Fibostop
Jäger Smr 1224 & Smo 36 Dual Axsis Motor
Dynasat F1
Monterey 140
Drembox 800
sky Pace HD Box
Tagra 2,20 M Fullsize Dish
Echostar 2,40m Mesh for cband!
My Location
Austria
on bbc with 2,40 m,signal not very stable,sometimes here sometimes not,dpends on the weater,here in western part of austria 700 km away from the capital,55 cm,for bbc ist enough !

but,the ruomer,that bbc,will crypted again,goes around,and then the will swiching maybe back to the old normal beam,but i dont know exactly,could also be posible that this never happens,because,tehre a part,of the freesat uk?

if you want to reveive bbc contact olbort,he can help you,i visit him personaly a couple of years ago,and take a look on his irte 3.1 meter antenna,maybe the only peron in vianna,that can watch bbc :)
 

redwien

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Newbie looking for advice, currently using a 80 cm dish for FTA german, spanish channels
My Location
Vienna, Austria
PaulR said:
This is not $ly direct. This is a company that very professionally makes its website look like $ly's real site.

The giveaways are the mispelling of "Support Center" (the American way of spelling centre) and in the FAQs

where in the UK $ly have a huge fleet of installation vans.

No doubt there are more clues elsewhere.

Are they reliable? I really couldn't say but you have to make your own mind up about a company that disguises itself to look like something else.

Completely fooled me.
 

dxsat

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
745
Reaction score
70
Points
28
Age
66
Website
skyinmadrid.com
My Satellite Setup
Snap's setup: (In Spain) Humax HDR, Prodelin 1.8m dish + Invacom QDF-031 + CM feed, (In UK) CallFlow VDSL + EE 4G, Sky Q, YouView HD, Mac OSX, iOS
My Location
UK: Tonbridge, Kent. Spain: Madrid.
Re: _www.skynow.tv

Notice the price: 249 Euro each year on top of your Sky package, and no contact number, address, or even in which country it is based.
 

redwien

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
44
My Satellite Setup
Newbie looking for advice, currently using a 80 cm dish for FTA german, spanish channels
My Location
Vienna, Austria
Thanks everyone for the wake up call.
 
Top