Solution for C-Band & WiMax frequency Interference

mathew2323

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
ECHOLINK EL700
90cm Kuband Dish&LNB
180cm C-Band Dish & LNB
My Location
Middle East
CASE STUDY

Location : Manama; Bahrain ( Middle East )
Digital Satellite Reception : C-Band Channels from Insat ( _http://www.lyngsat.com/in83.html ).
Dish : Roof top 6 feet solid dish.
LNB: Digital C-Band Dual LNB ( V & H ) ( LNB specification link: _http://www.eurostar-digital.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=135&Itemid=187 )

The FTA reception of C-Band channels with the above system was perfect until last week.
By October 15, 2007 in Bahrain, one company started the new WiMax board band internet service and their customers are increasing day by day.
Last week one Wimax reception antenna / dish is installed on the roof of nearby building and which is facing to our building ( both are 5 story building ).
As soon as they start using this Wimax system, my TV screen start showing pixalization even though I have very good signal strength ( < 78 ~ 80 ).
The local dish installers are reported this problem from many of their customers during last week.
We believe this is due to the C-Band & WiMax frequency Interference.

Please advise the proper solution and product.
How I can buy the product in Bahrain.
Is it you have any distributer in Middle east ( Bahrain, Dubai etc )
What is the price if I order by courier.
If your product can over come this problem, then you will have a very big market all over Middle east and India.
Pls send me the details at the earliest.

Regards
Aji
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I would have thought that it was down to Wimax to solve the problem, as they have caused it.

PS. Live links disabled, please read the rules.
 

Tsiklon

Regular Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
88
Reaction score
2
Points
8
Age
111
My Satellite Setup
Various
My Location
Europe
Microwave filter sell what you need but I think they are very expensive.
_http://www.microwavefilter.com/

One cheap solution reported in Australia is to use a standard LNB (3.7-4.2GHz) instead of an extended LNB (3.4-4.2GHz). However, if the channels you wish to receive lie in the 3.4-3.7GHz range, then that is no good.

_http://www.siliconchip.com.au/cms/A_103784/article.html
_http://www.vetrun.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1983
 

mathew2323

Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
ECHOLINK EL700
90cm Kuband Dish&amp;LNB
180cm C-Band Dish &amp; LNB
My Location
Middle East
Tsiklon said:
Microwave filter sell what you need but I think they are very expensive.
_http://www.microwavefilter.com/

One cheap solution reported in Australia is to use a standard LNB (3.7-4.2GHz) instead of an extended LNB (3.4-4.2GHz). However, if the channels you wish to receive lie in the 3.4-3.7GHz range, then that is no good.

_http://www.siliconchip.com.au/cms/A_103784/article.html
_http://www.vetrun.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1983

Thanks Mr.Tsiklon for your advise.
I will try with standard LNB and feed back the result.
 

hariharany2k8

Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
Home user with 512KB internet line
My Location
Bahrain
Mathew,

Could you please tell us the result after changing the LNB.

I am also facing the similar problem.

Thanks
Hariharan
 

Sandbox

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Triax 60cm offset dish / single Invacom 0.3 LNBF / DM600 PVR
My Location
Bahrain (Middle East)
Channels 'blocked'

By BEGENA P PRADEEP



BAHRAIN'S Indian community is up-in-arms over satellite channels from home allegedly being blocked by Internet signals, broadcast on the same frequency.

Hundreds of customers are cancelling Indian satellite subscriptions for at least 12 channels, because of the disruption, say service providers.

Government investigators says signals are being disrupted because Zain Bahrain and Mena Telecom are broadcasting broadband wireless Internet services over the same frequency of the TV channels.

Bahrain's Telecommuni-cations Regulatory Authority (TRA) says the problem is a spill-over caused by Indian broadcasters using the same frequency that Bahrain uses for some of its telecommunications.

Transport Ministry Wireless Licensing, Frequency and Monitoring Director Hisham Khalifa bin Khalil told the GDN that the TRA and Zain Bahrain had refused to accept the directorate's findings of the source of interference.

"The TRA has provided a particular frequency to Zain and Mena Telecom to provide broadband wireless Internet connection," said Mr Khalil.

"But this frequency is almost the same for a number of Indian television channels.

"So people have been facing reception problems since last August, when Zain installed its towers.

"We used specialised equipment from the German company Rohde and Schwarz to determine the source that is interfering with the signal of the channels.

"But, the TRA and Zain refuse to accept our findings and say the equipment is faulty.

"But we don't accept this, because almost all the Gulf countries use this company's equipment for this purpose, because it is one of the best in the global market.

"We have campaigned a lot with TRA and Zain but haven't reached a conclusion."

Mr Khalil said that as a result, his directorate was negotiating with the German company to set up a branch in Bahrain, to help monitor frequencies and interference.

"Once the company starts operations here, all the concerned parties will sit together and study the problem, find the source of interference and submit the findings," he said.

"We perform our job to eliminate interference in signal transmission, in the most transparent way.

"But I think they (telecom companies) don't want to accept our findings because if they do, it'll mean a huge loss to them."

TRA communications and consumer affairs director Dana Chehab told the GDN that there was a "spill-over" of telecommunications and television channel signals that causes the problem.

"We used to receive some unpaid Indian TV channels here but that does not mean that they are licensed to broadcast here," she said.

"Such problems arise when two countries allocate the same frequency to a broadcast channel and a telecom service.

"In this case, India has provided the 3.6 band for some of their TV channels, while the same band is being used by Bahrain too.

However Ms Chehab would not comment on Mr Khalil's claim that the TRA had refused to accept the directorate's findings, saying it was an "inside issue".

Gulf Satellite company manager Basheer Ambalayi said the company had been receiving an average of 50 complaints a day for nearly four months.

"We understand that a Bahrain telecommunications company shares almost the same frequency of these Indian TV channels.

"So wherever the telephone company installs a tower, people living a couple of hundred metres in its vicinity will experience an interference with their broadcast."

Al Belad Electronics and Satellite-Fixing Company manager Madhu Gopalakrishnan said that they had stopped accepting any orders to install satellite dishes to receive the Indian channels.

"We are not accepting any more orders to fix satellites because it just means more trouble for us as well as the customers," he said.

"It has made a very negative impact on our business, but we have no choice.

"If this continues, then there will be no need for any satellite-fixing companies in Bahrain.

"The problem began a year ago and has become worse since the last four months."

Nashmi Satellite Channel company manager P R Venugopal said that despite promises from Zain Bahrain, the TRA and the Wireless Licensing, Frequency and Monitoring Directorate to rectify the problem, there had been no improvement in the situation.

"I understood that the problem was with Zain installing towers for its wireless Internet connection and sent them a letter.

"They replied in writing that they didn't have the right person with them now to correct the problem and that they would bring someone from the US.

"But it's been months since the promise and still the problems are only getting worse.

Zain Bahrain networks director Essam Zainal said that he was not aware of Zain's signals interfering with any TV channels and that they are operating with a licensed frequency.

"We installed all the towers in a single go sometime in August.

"However, Mena Telecom, with whom we share almost the same frequency, has just recently begun installing their towers."

begena AT gdn DOT com DOT bh
 

Turok

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
2,237
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Age
33
My Satellite Setup
1,25 Fibostop
Jäger Smr 1224 &amp; Smo 36 Dual Axsis Motor
Dynasat F1
Monterey 140
Drembox 800
sky Pace HD Box
Tagra 2,20 M Fullsize Dish
Echostar 2,40m Mesh for cband!
My Location
Austria
you have tried a norsat cband lnb,the have very good protection,form "outside"signals,people told me that lives in wimax areas!
very expensice nearly 200$ but,very good quality!

here good thanks i have no wimax!
 

brufen

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Nile Sat - Pentium4
My Location
KSA
Hello.........I found a very good solution and already implemented to my Dish. i just put a iron bed beside my dish and its receiving all the C band channels successfully as it was not working before due to WimMax and Zain Towers.Remember the iron bed should be with iron web on it.(bed for sleeping)

PAGAL LOTA
 

Ejaz Haider

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
58
My Satellite Setup
Asiasat-5 CBand
My Location
Karachi Pakistan
Can any one answer how the WiMax interference can be eliminated on C-Band downlink?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Shield the dish from the offending transmitter(s)

If thats not practical then you are out of luck - C-band is dying in many areas due to the proliferation of wimax these days.
 
Top