Stuck on what HD TV to buy... (help wanted)

marcaaron20

Dreaming Satellites
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Dreambox 8000 HD,
80cm Orbital Satellite Dish
Motorized
LNB with 2 outputs, 2nd output leading to upstairs and using Dreambox 500S.
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K Amp/Receiver,
My Location
Stockton-on-Tees, Cleveland
I am a newbie when it comes to HD TVs and am stuck on what to go for, here are some issues that i need resolving before I jump in and part from me cash;

1. Make/Model - (What is the best make/model to stick to)? (I quite like the look of the Samsung and Sony ones)
2. Plasma or LCD? - (I tend to watch a lot of channels with a logo in the corner, for example the music channels, MTV and all that)
3. Size? - (Looking in the 32", 37", 40" range in Widescreen)
4. Resolution?
5. Response time?
6. HD or True HD?
7. Connectivity? (HDMi, SCARTS etc. , and how many of each)
8. Frame colour? (Silver or Black, I'm looking at the shiny black effect to fit the colour of me front room)
9. Price range? (My budget is roughly between £400 and £600, but willing to go higher if inproves quality and lifespan of the TV)
10. Any other things I've missed please add also

please submit your answers and advice..
This info can be for other newbies like me who are scared of buying a HD TV

moosegoose

bog standard
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
80 cm dish hh motor teco tm1000 dreambox 7020
cas 3interface
dragon cam.promax tv explorer 2.
My Location
norwich