Advice Needed Swedish Microwave LNBs

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
Does any one have experience with Swedish Micorwave LNBs?

I've seen that they have a high spec "Ku-Band Quattro-PLL".
http://www.smw.se/ku-band-quattro-pll
This is a Quatro LNB and not a Quad. Meaning that a multi-switch is also needed.
I wonder if it worth the investment for fringe areas versus the Quad QDF-031 that I currently have.
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Wouldn't adding the multiswitch potentially mean you could loose the signal you might gained from that LNB?
 

pipino

Back from the dead
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
914
Reaction score
147
Points
43
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
2X Channel Master 1.20 , 1X Channel Master1.80 ,1X Channel Master 2.40, Motorized Gibertini OP150 , Motorized Fibo MF90 ,, 70cm eliptical raven ..hirschmann fibre glass 1.20m
My Location
Comunidad Valenciana..ESPAÑA
i´v used SMW in many installs ..i can tell you its a very high quality LNB specialy designed for profesional set up´s , yes you need multiswitch for it , with invacom you will get that extra you need to get complicated signals ,,but be ready to Exchange it every 4/5 years as it loses performance , tipical problem is the Oscillator shifting 5 to 20mhz , thing you wont have with SMW ,, shame they dont make PLL versión of invacom QDF31
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
If it is not better than the Invacom for difficult transponders I suppose is not worth the investment. I was hopping that with it I could managed to get the most out of may 3.1m Famaval for 2E/2F spot beam. But a price > 500€ is not too encouraging just for an experiment.

Another question...
Does any one know how the SW XM-140 feedhorn performs?
My current Invacom feedhorn just allows F/D from 0.32-0.43 and my dish would be matched with a F/D of 0.3. So, I'm not getting the most of it.
The SW XM-140 seems to go down to a F/D of 0.3. I've not seen many reviews as this feedhorn does not seem to be widely available on common sat shops.
 

pipino

Back from the dead
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
914
Reaction score
147
Points
43
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
2X Channel Master 1.20 , 1X Channel Master1.80 ,1X Channel Master 2.40, Motorized Gibertini OP150 , Motorized Fibo MF90 ,, 70cm eliptical raven ..hirschmann fibre glass 1.20m
My Location
Comunidad Valenciana..ESPAÑA
If it is not better than the Invacom for difficult transponders I suppose is not worth the investment. I was hopping that with it I could managed to get the most out of may 3.1m Famaval for 2E/2F spot beam. But a price > 500€ is not too encouraging just for an experiment.

Another question...
Does any one know how the SW XM-140 feedhorn performs?
My current Invacom feedhorn just allows F/D from 0.32-0.43 and my dish would be matched with a F/D of 0.3. So, I'm not getting the most of it.
The SW XM-140 seems to go down to a F/D of 0.3. I've not seen many reviews as this feedhorn does not seem to be widely available on common sat shops.
yes i know the XM-140 feedhorn , will perform very well using inverto C120 single or twin versión ,but not famaval but Pasat 2.40 dish , this setup is specialy used for scandinavian viasat in my area
 

DishDick

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
772
Reaction score
27
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
Gran Canaria
Pipino,

From your experience, which performs better in the low bands, Invacom 0.3dB C120 QUATTRO LNB QTF-031, or SMW
Quattro type E F-connectors, 48 dB max. I am looking to maximise my signal on a 2.7M offset for the low band frequencies.

What sort of difference in noise margin and MER do you get between these units?

Also I understand the SMW LNB is quite heavy, do you experience any probles with this on a large offset dish?

Thanks.

Also Pedro0102, expect to pay over 800 Euros, this is what SMW quoted (765 + VAT).
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
I contacted SMW and they told me that the XM-140 feedhorn was discontinued.
Does anyone know where I could buy a used one?
Else, does any one know a good feedhorn with F/D 0.3 to be used with a 3.1m Famaval dish?

Thanks!
 

pipino

Back from the dead
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
914
Reaction score
147
Points
43
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
2X Channel Master 1.20 , 1X Channel Master1.80 ,1X Channel Master 2.40, Motorized Gibertini OP150 , Motorized Fibo MF90 ,, 70cm eliptical raven ..hirschmann fibre glass 1.20m
My Location
Comunidad Valenciana..ESPAÑA
check it from here . tektronik.dk/catalog/da/6252-smw-xm-140-feedhorn-c120-wr75-442.html
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
check it from here . tektronik.dk/catalog/da/6252-smw-xm-140-feedhorn-c120-wr75-442.html

Are these guys still in business? Could not find a contact e-mail address on their site...
 

smoggy07

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
945
Reaction score
384
Points
63
Age
40
My Satellite Setup
Sky minidish and Sky + HD 250gig Anytime+ box with full ish appart from sports and movies, Dreambox DM500s clone (Pli Jade3 max var F/W), Motorised 1.1Meter Dish
My Location
middlesbrough, teesside, northeast coast, uk
.tektronik.dk/catalog/en/contact-us.html
 

bambule666

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
3.1m-primefocus,2.9m-offset,2.4m- chanelmaster, 1.2m chanelmaster, Invacom and inverto lnbs
My Location
Tenerife sur
Does anyone now have better results with the swedish microwave LNB tan with the inverto or invacom on large dishes 3meter ,for astra 2E ??
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
This would be a very expensive trial... So far I'm not convinced it is worth to spend that much money on an lnb...
 

dxn

Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
105
Reaction score
30
Points
28
Age
45
Location
Estoril - Portugal
My Satellite Setup
Prime-focus 2,10m, 0,2 LNB Black Inverto, TBS6983 dvbcard, Octagon SF4008 4K,
Dreambox7020HD, NOS cable 200mb, Tivusat, TDTsat Spain, TDT Portugal.
My Location
Estoril - Portugal
no matter what LNB you try, forget it. we are in deep null zone.
On Lisbon is impossible to get UK spots from 2E and 2F.
you will spend money for nothing., even with a 3 mtr dish.
 
Top