Swedish TV in Canary Islands?

Peroxide

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Astra 19.2E
Digital+ Spain & iPlus HD-receiver
My Location
Gran Canaria, Spain
Hi, my first post here!

I live in the Canary Islands (South Gran Canaria to be more specific), and I'm wondering if someone here knows anything about receiving Swedish tv from Canal Digital down here?
Like, how big dish would I need to get the Thor 0.8W beams for example? What LNB etc...

Thanks in advance!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
The Thor 5 T2 beam is a possibility. According to the Lyngsat maps, a 1.2m should do. You can forget the T1 & T3 beams with any sensible sized dish.

_http://www.lyngsat-maps.com/thor5.html
 

Peroxide

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Astra 19.2E
Digital+ Spain & iPlus HD-receiver
My Location
Gran Canaria, Spain
Ok, thanks for the info!
But where can I find out wich channels are on the T2 beam? Tried Google, but couldn't really find anything.
And the other beams, what do you think about size... 2 meters? 3 meters? Or more?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,126
Reaction score
1,489
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
This page will give you the details. :) _http://www.lyngsat.com/1west.html Far right column for beams.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
There is very little on the T2 beam. A couple of HDTV channels & one scrambled Danish mux. Which contains the not very fascinating Poker Channel fta..
 

Peroxide

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2008
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
Astra 19.2E
Digital+ Spain & iPlus HD-receiver
My Location
Gran Canaria, Spain
Thanks!
Well, will have to look for a big dish as possible then.. cause it seems like the most interesting stuff is on the T1 beam :(

Another question... is it possible to receive both from Thor and Astra 19.2E from the same dish? Is this what Diseqc switches are for? Or will I need two separate dishes?
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,312
Reaction score
9,943
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Its doubtful even the biggest hobby sized dish will give you anything useful, but best of luck. Please let us know how you get on - every reception report from extreme fringe areas is useful to build up the forum knowledge base.
 

deepbluesky

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1,026
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Age
46
My Satellite Setup
Octagon Quad Optima OQSLO @ Laminas OFC-1100 @ Powertech DG-380 @ Vu+ Solo²(OpenATV) / Technotrend S2-1600
Sony KDL32W656A / TBS 6220 (DVB-C)
Terratec T-Stick+ (DAB+)
My Location
Stuttgart (48.79N/9.19E)
This is extreme out of footprint and indeed unpredictable. The only information for Spain mainland i have is this here:
_http://forum.dxtv.de/wbb/thread.php?threadid=13288
3.1m in Barcelona (user Hhalb) does not get the vertical transponders 1,4,5 but very strong signal on 11325H. In Alicante the 11247V comes in stronger than from Thor 2 before on 4.5m.
Another topic for Thor 5 in Spain is _http://nowsat.mforos.com/26359/7193418-thor-5/ but up to now i cannot see any big dish results there. I just asked. Probably anyone knows more.
 
Top