Thank you BT

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
No idea what BT have done to our ratty miles long old phone line but a 30% increase in download speed is most acceptable and almost doubling of the upload speed will do nicely.













Oh you want to know what our new stats are????

d/l 2.3meg
u/l 0.6 meg

:D



Now Im wondering how long we will keep these heady heights!
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Nice!

Mine went up from 0.72 to 1Mbps a few months ago.

Sl w, ut very stab e
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,590
Reaction score
3,821
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
No idea what BT have done to our ratty miles long old phone line but a 30% increase in download speed is most acceptable and almost doubling of the upload speed will do nicely.
Oh you want to know what our new stats are????

d/l 2.3meg
u/l 0.6 meg

:D



Now Im wondering how long we will keep these heady heights!

That is pretty decent for your location, in fact it's blooming marvellous, it must be all the rain causing a short circuit in the flooded basement at the exchange....:p
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,665
Reaction score
3,304
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Funnily enough mine has increased as of Tuesday......I put it down to the lines drying out....


oh, it's now 1.2MB download.....
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
That is pretty decent for your location, in fact it's blooming marvellous, it must be all the rain causing a short circuit in the flooded basement at the exchange....:p

Lol ;)
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
Has some cables been damaged by the recent winds and bt has fitted some new copper cable ?

how far are you from the nearest exchange ?
 

DishDick

Regular Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
772
Reaction score
27
Points
28
My Satellite Setup
.
My Location
Gran Canaria
My word. I knew we had it bad, but I thought it was excellent there. Most people I know get 40 - 50 Meg there. Heard one tourist moaning about the number of times theirs fell below 80 Meg in the UK. Poor love!

My mates here get 0.39!
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
We get about 2.1Mbps Down and 0.16Mbps Up on the ADSL (Primus) here over positively ancient GPO cabling, but my mobile broadband (Three) gets 10.26Mbps Down and 2.27Mbps Up, with no wires at all, not even a USB cable, kind of sad that no wires can get faster service than with wires, heck, if I had the money I could have much faster Satellite broadband, but, that's a bit too pricey, that and the ping speeds are terrible!! :-rofl2
 

smoggy07

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
945
Reaction score
384
Points
63
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Sky minidish and Sky + HD 250gig Anytime+ box with full ish appart from sports and movies, Dreambox DM500s clone (Pli Jade3 max var F/W), Motorised 1.1Meter Dish
My Location
middlesbrough, teesside, northeast coast, uk
Not bad for a 60Mbps connection lol
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Here's why ....................



 

Archived-1

Persona non grata
Joined
Apr 14, 2007
Messages
7,570
Reaction score
8,586
Points
113
My Location
uk
Here's why ....................



You should try a different server tivu, we don't like parting with much us sheffielders lol.
I get about same as A/S, I could upgrade to faster speeds but I find the speed is ok for my needs.
 
Last edited:

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I've tried servers from Hull to Hong Kong, Martin and the result is the same.
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I'm only using 100Mb switches on my network so I'm probably maxing out my FTTP connection but this is what I'm getting right now...



Even out in the sticks in Lapland our ADSL syncs at the maximum 8Mb on the cheapest package (real life downloads about 6-7Mb). I'm sure if we upgraded to ADSL2+ it would be closer to 20Mb.

It's shocking that there are so many places in the UK that still can't get a decent speed. I'm still waiting for FTTC in the UK but at least ADSL2+ is giving me 12-14Mb or so although that may change once we are forced from BE to Sky.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,405
Reaction score
8,150
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I could make use of our Community Broadband, but the cost is too high.

It's one of those conundrums whereby the cost deters new entrants to the scheme, but only when the number of users rises will the price come down!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Has some cables been damaged by the recent winds and bt has fitted some new copper cable ?

how far are you from the nearest exchange ?

Not as far as I know - the storms werent particularly bad up here

About 3 miles along the lines, or 1.5 miles as the crow flies!
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
My word. I knew we had it bad, but I thought it was excellent there. Most people I know get 40 - 50 Meg there. Heard one tourist moaning about the number of times theirs fell below 80 Meg in the UK. Poor love!

My mates here get 0.39!


There are huge areas of the UK with terrible telecoms infrastructure - and not just rural areas.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
I used to get a similar speed to Smoggy when i was with Virgin media. the only problem is that they used to throttle the sh*t out of my connection which made the 60mb/s connection pretty pointless as it crawled to snails pace during peak time.

I switched to BT for a third of the cost. I have at one point managed to get 17Mb/s down the phone line until a line fault messed that up and it dropped down to about 2mb/s. I'm just waiting for the connection to stabilise and hopefully it should return back to the 16-17Mb within the next week or so. Its sitting around 12mb/s at the moment and it still responds quicker in peak times than my VM connection did.

3324028913.png
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Yes, the main reason I haven't gone with VirginMedia even though it's available is that throttling would screw everything up (especially when using the Slingbox at peak viewing times) and the upload speeds are not much better than what I have with ADSL now.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,590
Reaction score
3,821
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Here is a conundrum for you, my broadbandScreenshot-Speedtest.net by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test - Google Chrome.png.jpg
 
Top