That ka carrier on 9A....

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Its been a while since I took a look on 9East with my ka lnb ..
You will remember I never managed a lock on Saorsat ..due to what I belived was a modulated blank carrier blocking any possible reception ..
Well I still can't lock saorsat ..and that carrier no longer registers on the F15 as video capable ..but carrying a blank signal ..though modulated.
The carrier is still there and prevents locking of Saorsat ..but I suspect its now carrying data ..coz the F15 doesn't know what to make of it anymore ..
I'll investigate fully with the TBS card ..assuming there is sufficient signal for a lock ..
I used to get 12 db with the ka lnb at the focus on Christina ...but also got 8.5db when used as an offset on Christina (offset by around 5 to 6 degrees) ...or 8.5 db on a 65cm offset solid dish with the ka at the focus.
The ka along with a slim ku have been mounted either side of the Cband lnb on a couple of simple blackets I designed using bent ally strips and 22mm and 15mm pipe clamps as used by plumbers..

The whole lot fed through yet another switch (diseqc 4 port) mounted on Christina ..
The only port I cannot use is port2 ..as this is the same port /output from the 16 way uncommited switch from the various receivers (via sps switches) in my system ...
the diseqc 1- 4 port is connected to port2 of a diseqc 1.1 uncommited switch ...thus sending control info to switch to port2 (uncommited) would be misinterpreted by the 4 port switch between it ..and the lnbs ..thus selecting port 2 on this also ...by default..
So it is left blank ..and the lnbs are on ports 1 / 3 & 4...to avoid this conflict.
It works well enough ...although signal levels on lnbs designed for offset dishes ..and offset themselves on a pf dish ..
Well ...lets say ...I don't believe in ..nor expect miracles.

Ohh ..and the ultimate in screening for the main feed from the switch ...as it now runs _inside_ the lower tripod leg ..
rgds
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
This might make it easier to understand why using port 2 creates a switching conflict issue ..
The 16 port uncomitted still has many inputs available ..but the new arrangement makes it possible to have 3 lnbs on the PF under diseqc 1.2 motor control via the vbox ...and still have inputs from fixed or in the cases of the TD110 and TD88 ...under usals (diseqc 1.3 ) control ...
Complicated I know ...but it works well ..and still only about 3db loss accross the whole switch system ..
It should be more ..but strangely ..it doesn't appear to be the case..
rgds
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Scratch the 16 port uncomitted switch ...I must have had a senior moment ..
Don't want to re-draw the diagram ..
It is in fact an 8 port switch ...
I was considering daisy-chaining that one to _create_ a 16 port ..with another 8 port ..but thats for another day ...if I ever need it ..
So just substitute any reference to 16 port with 8 port ..
the rest is the same..
rgds
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
The signal level using the ka lnb on this dual used frequency has climbed to 9.7db in the last hour ..
Needless to say ...still nothing from Saorsat ...but then ...I wasn't expecting it ..
Previous experiments have shown this to be a no-go at my location..
Still ..its nice to have the ka now permanently in the system ..albeit useless..
rgds
VS
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,677
Reaction score
7,414
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Vipersan said:
Still ..its nice to have the ka now permanently in the system ..albeit useless..
rgds
VS

You could always substitute it for a BUC and take them on at their own game.
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Channel Hopper said:
You could always substitute it for a BUC and take them on at their own game.

Over my head mate ..
BUC ? ...sorry ....'scuse my ignorance ?
;)
VS

..sounds tho' like you're suggesting I should upload/broadcast something ..and jam their signal ..
..am I close ...lol
?
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Going back to my somewhat complicated switch setup ...
I wish there was a combined switch that would replace the daisychained sps(s)
One unit that did the reverse of a 4 sources to one box ..
ie..
1 source to 4 boxes ..
Such a thing was never made ..to my knowledge .
It would have _very_ limited appeal.
...and sps switches are a dying breed ...
gawd knows what I'll do if one fails..
;)
Emitor still make 'em ...but you need a second mortgage to own one ..

First there was Global ....then there was jaeger ...both have ceased to exist..
cest la vie
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Uk ..another slightly mad question ...
I've had a re-think regarding the insertion of the extra diseqc 4 port switch on the pf dish itself ..and come up with another daft idea ..
See the revised diagram ..
The idea being that since I dont actually want signal to pass down to the Vbox motor control ..only the diseqc 22hz command to move the motor ..
Could a 4 port diseqc switch be used in reverse ..
Essentially as a 3 or 4 port tap with high isolation between the 4 inputs ..yet allowing the 22khz diseqc 1.2 command to find its way from any of the 3 or 4 outputs used from the 8 port uncomitted switch to the vbox and thus move the dish ..
I have already tried a 4 port diseqc switch in this configuration as a test ...and regardless of which input port is used ..the motor does indeed move ..so the 22khz is finding its way to the Vbox ..
My question really is regarding lnb isolation between the 4 ports used ...since the 4 port diseqc switch isn't receiving a command ...and simply being used as a 22khz tap ..
??
ANY feedback on this would be appreciated ..as doing this would require seperate cable runs outside for each lnb on the PF dish ...BUT in theory would reduce quite considerably ...insertion losses due to the effective removal of the 4 port switch in question ..
rgds
VS

btw ..a plea to mods ..
I realised this morning that I had posted this in wrong section ...
could one of you please move it en bloc to Fringe ..or some other suitable location ..
cheers
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Vipersan said:
Uk ..another slightly mad question ...
I've had a re-think regarding the insertion of the extra diseqc 4 port switch on the pf dish itself ..and come up with another daft idea ..
See the revised diagram ..
VS
...Well to answer my own question ...
I have only tried this with Cband and the ka lnb so far ...as I only have 2 cable runs to Christina ...
But ...it does appear this idea is viable ...as I can switch from C @ 1West to that ka transponder (saorsat jamming) ...and the PF moves seamlessly between the 2 sat positions on the Vbox ...and switches the relevant feeds without employing a 4 port diseqc switch on the PF dish ..
And yes I have gained back about 2db ..at least as far as C band is concerned ..
The Pentagon Channel currently booming in at an astonishing 7.6 db ..
(this appears to be power level up atm)
Wheras using the pervious config I was lucky if I got 5.8db
So to answer my own question in a nutshell ..
Yes you can use a 4 port diseqc switch as a 4 port tap with what on the surface appears to be adequate signal isolation...but allows the 22khz motor control info to bleed backwards to the 2 daisychained Vboxes ..
So ..I'm gonna have to invest in another reel of cable and a bag of F connectors ..
More work ..to gain 2 db and still have 3 lnbs on the Christina under full vbox motor control for all 3 lnbs..
Nice ;)
VS
 

Vipersan

Emmett Browns Ghost
Staff member
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
10,918
Reaction score
6,661
Points
113
Age
64
My Satellite Setup
IP9000HD +
TD110 Dish and TD88 Dish in Tandem
66°East to 60°West.
AZbox PrmHD + OpnbxS9HD + Skybox + DrHD F15
2x VboxII AZ-EL
2 m+ Alcoa PF + BSC421 C-Band lnbf...
+SS2/TwHnS2-3200 pci/TBS6925 pci
1.5 Fortec Star -Gbox - HtoH Ku/Ka/C
My Location
UK
Ok ..its clear this is my chosen option for a rewire ..so am going to need a drum of cable ..
Many debates on this subject ...
But found this on ebay
100 mtrs ..

Coaxial Cable CAI Type 100 (same spec as WF100 and exeeds CT100 specification) for fixed installations

Professional TV and CCTV installations including HD Digital; Satelite; Terrestial and Cable TV

Standard BS EN 501171:1997 (same as WF100 and exceeds CT100 specification)

Class 1 solid copper central conductor to BS EN 60228:2005

FPE (Foam Polyethylene) Dielectric

Copper tape screen longitudinally overlapped with copper wire braiding

PVC (Polyvinyl Chloride) Sheathed

Temperature range -20C to +70C

------------------------------
Perhaps not the best ...but what do the experts think ?
rgds
VS
 
Top