USB DVB-S for one-way satellite internet

Sandbox

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Triax 60cm offset dish / single Invacom 0.3 LNBF / DM600 PVR
My Location
Bahrain (Middle East)
Dear all,

I'm interested in setting up a one-way internet satellite connection using my 256k ADSL connection as my uplink.

I've had a look at providers on google (there are serveral) but what would you recommend hardware wise?

It'll be for a single PC. Will Any USB DVB-S receiver do the job?

Any info would be much appreciated,

Cheers
 

Sandbox

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Triax 60cm offset dish / single Invacom 0.3 LNBF / DM600 PVR
My Location
Bahrain (Middle East)
Thanks for the input guys! ;)

Anyways, I went ahead and ordered myself a Technisat SkyStar2 USB receiver from Germany. I've seen it listed on numerous one-way satellite websites so it cant be that bad!

Can't wait to see what happens!
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Sorry Sandox, I guess that internet by satellite is fast becoming a forgotten art.:) It's certainly ten years since I was forced to use it. :)
 

Sandbox

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Triax 60cm offset dish / single Invacom 0.3 LNBF / DM600 PVR
My Location
Bahrain (Middle East)
No worries :)

Looking skywards for a decent internet connection has now become a necessity for me.. and here's why

- 1Mbps broadband connection costs 74 Pounds/month
- 2Mbps will set you back 94 pounds/month

Either package requires a setup fee of 40 pounds. O-st
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
That is incredibly expensive, any reason for that?
 

Sandbox

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Triax 60cm offset dish / single Invacom 0.3 LNBF / DM600 PVR
My Location
Bahrain (Middle East)
I live on one of those man-made islands (see avatar) and it's got it's own ISP - other operators in the country were denied access to the island so in a nutshell the current ISP (owned by the island's developers) are enjoying their anti-competitive, monopolistic status & do as they please at my expense as a consumer.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
That's a drag, shame you cant wifi to the mainland. :)
 
Top