Very Newbie help required please

M

MasterAbacus

My Location
Yorkshire
Ive got an anaolugue static system, pics up the odd channel, but im thinking of upgrading it!

Im asumin the LNB is a Analogue one, But i have a spare $ky minidish, could i put that LNB on my 80cm dish?

Are the Sky LNB`s dual singel or Analoge?

Could i keep it as it is, and make it motorizd? does my reciver need to be able to move the dish, or is there a separate control box ill need?

As you can prob gather, ive no idea about any of this, but im just starting out after finding this forum a couple of weeks ago, so any help would be gr8.

P.s Im just wanting a bit of fun, and something to play about with, im not wanting to spend hundreds of pounds, but would like to learn a bit about the sat scene... Cheers in advance guys...

R

robbins1940

If you want to view other satellites you need a bigger dish. The Sky minidish is good only for 28.2/28.5 east.

You need at minium a 80cm dish, if you want to watch Sirius and Thor channels you need at least 1.2m to get all the stations.

You also need a 40mm type universal lnb. The lnb that comes with the minidish will only work with the mindish.

David

M

MasterAbacus

My Location
Yorkshire
Ive got a 80cm normal dish that has an LNB on it! Not sure what kind it is tho, how can i tell?

M

MasterAbacus

My Location
Yorkshire
Does a universal LNB pick up both digi and analogue?

rolfw

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Yes it does.

M

MasterAbacus

My Location
Yorkshire
How do i know what mine is on my 80cm dish?

rolfw

rolfw

Staff member
My Satellite Setup