what receiver to buy

Jason Gradwell

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
sky
My Location
cumbria
hi, everyone.

i'm a noob to the site and would like some advice on what sat box to buy. i want something like a technomate 800hd or dreambox. this box is to be installed at home for domestic use to get overseas football etc.. and as a noob to the site i'm not sure as to what i can and cant ask on here, i.e. about firmware and software etc...

Captain Jack

Retired human
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
You need to figure out what channel broadcast the football you're after and then buy the appropriate subscriptions, if needed. Check Lovely Jubbly's Football site (Google it) for coverage.

Hixxy1

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
Definitely do not get a Technomate TM800HD. They're nothing but trouble.

wod

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
If your looking at dreambox consider vu+ as well, the UNO, solo2 and ultimo are very good that's if budget allows.

The vu+ uno can now be made into a twin tuner receiver with dual tuner upgrade and has internal hdd space for recording, is good value for around 270.

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
You definitely need to decide which service(s) you are interested in FIRST. Then we can tell you if that one is even feasible in Cumbria.

You can ask many things, although we dont permit the discussion of anything illegal.