Whats your most common way of accessing the forum?

Ghostleader

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
1,949
Reaction score
871
Points
113
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
80cm motorised Inverto dish with Dark Motor full metal gears, Xtrend 9500HD, Amiko Alien 2+, Amiko Alien 8900, Moded Zone 2 dish with multi LNB goodness! 50 inch full HD LCD and loads of other stuff! lol
My Location
Glasgow,ish!
So since I have a netbook with a dodgy battery & a 10 inch Ananova Android powered tablet thats O.S
can no longer handle this forum or plenty of other common sites I'm accessing the site on my S3 phone via the stock browser 99.9% of the time, and to be honest I dont see this changing as I really cant justify spending my hard earned on horrible Windows powered laptop/notebooks. So I wondered how many fellow forum members access the site via a mobile device for the hassle free nature of it? i.e. No boot up times etc etc?
 

pontiend

Contibruter
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
2,846
Reaction score
3,332
Points
113
Age
78
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
I do not own a smartphone. For a quick look on the forum on a morning and at the pub I use my nexus 7.It is much faster than firing up the pc.
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
Take a look at TapaTalk.
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,529
Reaction score
3,641
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Laptop/desktop all the time for me.

...although I am in the process of restoring to life one of my daughter's cast-off smart phones so that I can have $kype running all the time I am in a wifi area. So, who knows?
 

Ghostleader

Specialist Contributor
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
1,949
Reaction score
871
Points
113
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
80cm motorised Inverto dish with Dark Motor full metal gears, Xtrend 9500HD, Amiko Alien 2+, Amiko Alien 8900, Moded Zone 2 dish with multi LNB goodness! 50 inch full HD LCD and loads of other stuff! lol
My Location
Glasgow,ish!
remlap said:
Take a look at TapaTalk.
Dont want to upset anybody remlap but I found the cut down TapaTalk experiance a bit lacking, and also buggy for refreshing new posts etc, plus theres no way I'm paying another £1.98 to Google Play when it was only £1.49 when I had my awful Galaxy Ace (Crap's not even the word! Lol).
 

remlap

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 21, 2004
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
875
Points
113
Age
34
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 104cm motorised dish with a Technomate 5402 HD CI+ and TBS 6925 + Gibertini 90cm with 9E 13E 19.2E and 28.2/5E with a Hauppauge WinTV NOVA-HD-S2 Media Centre PC and Pure EVOKE Flow Radio + 100cm Channel Master with 2 LNBs at 24.5W and 30W
My Location
Wales
Yes it's lacking but get's the job done for me, I am beta testing a free release right now and I like it, it's meant to go on sale at a discount in July.
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,230
Reaction score
7,468
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Laptop - since I am on it all the time anyway (no life, you see..)
 

Adam792

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
877
Reaction score
640
Points
93
Age
29
My Satellite Setup
Dishes: 80cm (5°W/4.8°E), 80cm (30°W), 60cm Zone 2 (13°E/19.2°E/28.2°E)
Receivers: HTPC (Intel i3 processor, nVidia Graphics, and TBS6905 4x DVB-S2 PCIe tuner card) running Ubuntu with Kodi/TVHeadend, Wetek Play2, Skybox M3.
My Location
Cheltenham
I use Tapatalk. I thought it was worth the money and it works well. :)
 

nelson_b

Contributor
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
1,839
Reaction score
1,763
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Strong 4375 driving a 2.4 m Channel Master dual focus offset + Invcom Quad C120 K/U l.n.b. + BSC 421 and Zinwell C band l.n.b.,s - DR HD F15 - TM5302 - Octagon SX88+Optima - GT Media V7 - HD receivers. + other dishes currently in use - Antique 3.0 m Prodelin P.F. - Channel Master 1.8 m offset - Channel Master. 1.2 m.
My Location
North West Yorkshire - near Lancashire & Cumbria borders.
Desktop / p.c. -- or laptop + vodafone dongle when out, or on holliday
very old school! -- like most of my satellite kit - l.o.l.
regards --
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,109
Reaction score
1,478
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
I use Tapatalk on my Galaxy S3 and Tapatalk HD on my ipad, but prefer to use a browser on my laptop of desktop.
 

thehumangoing

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
129
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Age
85
My Satellite Setup
dm800se clone w/320gb hdd (DreamboxUK image) + skybox f3 + old dm500s
zone 2 on 28.2e
My Location
Ireland
PC.. never use forums on my phone as can't be bothered logging in...
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
35
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Most of the time I access via my laptop, but I do use my Galaxy S3 and my Galaxy Tab 10.1 to rea the forum, but there's a bit of an issue with the forum software where it blanks out EVERYTHING on the screen when using the reply box at the bottom of threads, so I can see where I'm typing, but I cannot see where the Post button is, or the formatting buttons are, or any of the other posts, etc., so I just restrict my mobile use to reading the forum... :)

As for using Tapatalk, well, I got my smartphone (my prev. Galaxy S, my S3 and my Galaxy Tab) to access the full-fat milk web like you would on a desktop, rather than the skimmed-milk that is no better than using WAP on a notverysmartphone, all the good stuff is gone and it's rather boring, the only issue is that the browser on the devices isn't too good with being compatible with multiple forum brands out there, but that's one of those things where you just have to make do, after all, it's mobile, it's wireless and it's not suffering with Windows... :)
 

pontiend

Contibruter
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
2,846
Reaction score
3,332
Points
113
Age
78
Location
South Yorkshire
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
south yorkshire
I have tapatalk installed but do not like it.I like the normal forum skin.But I can see that it may be a good
thing for a smartphone
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,478
Reaction score
8,185
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I check the Forum whilst sat on the throne each morning: This I call Crapatalk.
 

chris

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
356
Reaction score
259
Points
63
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
TalkTalk TV
My Location
Worksop UK
What about the forum mobile skin, scroll to the bottom of the page, click change theme and select the mobile skin.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,112
Reaction score
9,827
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Dektop at home.

My lovely little Dell netbook when Im away on holiday.

Occasionally on my HTC Desire but I find the screen too small and very annoying for anything more than a cursory look at the forum
 

trigger

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Messages
680
Reaction score
53
Points
28
Age
51
Location
Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote
My Satellite Setup
30W, 27.5W, 7W, 0.1W
4.8E, 9E, 13E, 19E, 23.5E, 26E, 28E
Technomate 5402HD super
Bein Sports on 25.5E
FTE Mini S2T HD Analyser
Horizon HD S2 sat meter
My Location
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
It's all gone different on my iPhone now a different screen etc. Looks good so far.
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
Desktop, mostly. Sometimes with a laptop...
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,719
Reaction score
3,341
Points
113
Age
70
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Usually a laptop using Vista and Chrome......occasionally I may use the spare laptop which is loaded with Linux Mint.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,647
Reaction score
3,845
Points
113
Age
67
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
XP Pro Desktop PC using Chrome, mostly. Sometimes with an XP laptop using Chrome sometimes Ubuntu laptop using Chrome...
 
Top