Where to get a pole?

Cheekykid

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
134
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Wave Frontier T90
Dreambox 7020S-Gemini 4.10
8 lnb's
My Location
London
Am in west london and I want to find a sat shop close to me that sells satellite poles in order to mount my dish. Have looked on the net but to no avail. I don't wanna pay for postage either. Anyone knows of a place that sells poles?
 

The Soulman

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Age
63
My Satellite Setup
Sky+/Grundig decoder. Technomate TMS1500 ci+/1 metre Gibertini Aluminium dish/Smart Titanium .02 LNB/Moteck SG-2100A,1.2 DiSEqC,USALS motor,all wired in Webro WF100 cable.
My Location
Blackburn,Lancashire,England
I metre length of scaffolding or any 1metre / 50mm diameter piece of stainless steel/galvanised piping / pole with a minimum thickness of 2mm will do.
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,024
Reaction score
1,429
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Try you local SGB yard.
 

s0ul

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
39
My Satellite Setup
great m8
My Location
uk
search the net for your nearest aerial supplier thet should stock them m8 . if ya in leicester ill sell u 1 :D
 

Cheekykid

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
134
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Wave Frontier T90
Dreambox 7020S-Gemini 4.10
8 lnb's
My Location
London
It appears that i need a 6cm thick pole which should have a square shaped base so that i can drill it on the flagstones. Been looking all over the net but nothing!
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,024
Reaction score
1,429
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Phone SCCI in Cheshunt, tell them you want a 2" by 36" Ground mount. They may be able to deliver as well.

PS. Why specifically a 6cm diameter?
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,024
Reaction score
1,429
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire

Cheekykid

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
134
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Wave Frontier T90
Dreambox 7020S-Gemini 4.10
8 lnb's
My Location
London

Cheekykid

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
134
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Wave Frontier T90
Dreambox 7020S-Gemini 4.10
8 lnb's
My Location
London
I can't find a place to get a pole. How do you call the stores that make these things? Stick to pieces of metal together. There must be somewhere in London. I want it to be about 80cm tall and 6cm thick.
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
23,363
Reaction score
3,736
Points
113
Age
66
My Satellite Setup
1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 35 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Cheekykid said:
I can't find a place to get a pole. How do you call the stores that make these things? Stick to pieces of metal together. There must be somewhere in London. I want it to be about 80cm tall and 6cm thick.
Do you mean a fabricating shop or light engineering workshop?
 

mhku

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
4,712
Reaction score
20
Points
38
My Satellite Setup
TM Nano ~ sg2100
My Location
Midlands
Phone a steel stockholder and ask for tube using mm e.g. od (outside diameter) = 60mm, 1mm thick and 1000mm long.

Try a local one to you:

_http://www.kellysearch.co.uk/gb-company-80153882.html
 

Cheekykid

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2005
Messages
134
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
37
My Satellite Setup
Wave Frontier T90
Dreambox 7020S-Gemini 4.10
8 lnb's
My Location
London
Topper said:
Do you mean a fabricating shop or light engineering workshop?

Yes a ligh engineering shop where you can order what you want.

Anyone else who has t90 wave frontier here? From where you got the ground pole?

I phoned many installers but none is willing to sell a pole to me unless i get them to do the job for me.

I'll try a local steel stockholder.

Anyone else who has t90 wave frontier here? From where you got a
pole? Normal poles are much thinner than what t90 requires.
 
R

Rd100

Guest
Just look on yell.com and phone a steel warehouse they will sort you out thats what i do
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,024
Reaction score
1,429
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Yes, but a steel warehouse will not fabricate a patio stand normally, you have to go to a fabricator or light engineering works..
 
Top