Win XP Home Factory Reset ?

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,672
Reaction score
7,414
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
I have a small Dell desktop PC which I was using up to a year ago running preinstalled XP home (Service Pack 3) with a COA hologram licence on the side.

It has no partition on the hard drive with a recovery options, but I would like to remove all personal data within it and restore to the original condition as I got it, in order to use at home with the family.

Is there any way to set it back to factory condition without the Windows CD ?
 

excollier

Bikes, Booze & Blues
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
931
Reaction score
452
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
TD 78 and Freesat+
My Location
Furthest outpost of the EUSSR
Did you set a restore point when SP3 was installed, that will take it back.
Actually, one should have been automatically set, but you may have to go through loads of tedious security patches etc for the time since SP3 went on.
Windows can be such a time consuming os at times.
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
Channel Hopper if you want i can send you a copy of my Dell XP Installation disk, just PM me your address. You will still need to back up your data but the Installation disk will go straight in without asking for the COA. You will be able to find the drivers on the Dell website using the service Tag on the machine.

The installation disk works on all Dells as its the one i use on My Vostro as the Vista disk it came with is quite frankly cack :D

i also use it on 2 other Optiplex GX520s in the house and also my daughters Optiplex 170L.

Nano
 

2cvbloke

Bulbs need shelter too...
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,768
Reaction score
1,806
Points
113
Age
36
My Satellite Setup
No satellite stuff for the moment (aside from a 43cm minidish that was on the house already), Samsung SyncMaster T27B550 Smart TV & Monitor, and a few computers...
My Location
Near Pontop Pike, Co. Durham
Take out the HDD and hit it with a hammer until it's completely mangled, usually does the job of removing personal data... O-Ha

Also gets rid of the Windows virus too, oh wait, that's the OS... :confused
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,672
Reaction score
7,414
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
[sub]Thanks for the offer, I don't need any data off the PC, it's really just to clean out the office stuff and save some of the hard drive, which is limited to 20GB[/sub][sub], [/sub]

[sub]Will PM you[/sub]
 

Channel Hopper

Suffering fools, so you don't have to.
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
32,672
Reaction score
7,414
Points
113
Age
57
Website
www.sat-elite.uk
My Satellite Setup
A little less analogue, and a lot more crap.
My Location
UK
Just testing on another machine

_http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=19751
 
Top