Windows 8

dig deep

Prince of Birthdays
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
8,333
Reaction score
390
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
Dream7020 and AZ Elite and a few DM800
My Location
Sweden
Anyone using it ?

I installed it but can´t find a Close button (or re-start) so I can´t stop using it :-roller


Strange is it not. First You use start button to Close it and now they skipped it. :-wow
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
More reasons to consider Linux?
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,500
Reaction score
3,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Isn't it the Windows button which brings up those options now?
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,216
Reaction score
7,464
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
Windows 8 is awful. It is so bad that some publications are demanding a recall. Windows 7 is excellent - I've no idea why they completely screwed it up in Windows 8. Let's hope Windows 9 is better but I am slowly moving to Mac anyway... I wiped Windows 7 on my main PC and put a "Hackintosh" on it.

Watch this - www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTYet-qf1jo
 

A nonymous

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
3,586
Reaction score
913
Points
113
I still think Windows XP is the most stable one going at the moment. Windows Vista was just complete Tosh, and Windows 7 wasn't much better.

Windows 8, well the least said about that the better.

The day that stop supporting windows XP will be a sad day, and will be the day i run my PC full time on Linux.

Nano
 

pgh13

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
409
Points
83
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
My Location
Midlands UK
I've found 7 pretty good and dabbled with the pre release, but can't see any reason for putting 8 on a desktop
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Not tried 8, but have XP and 7 on PC and laptop respectively and like them both.
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Still running Win 7 (Dual-boot with Crunchbang) on my Netbook and it's reasonably ok.
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
I've just recently bought a new hard disc and bought win7 as I don't have a fancy touch screen to use windows 8.

So I thought I'd update to 7 from xp sp3.

If win7 is working fine why the need to change.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
We have win7 at work and I find it absolutely infuriating.

XP all the way for me. :D
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,091
Reaction score
1,462
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Well I had real problems with 7 talking to my XP, but stumbled across the answer whilst trying to connect my ipad to the XP desktop. Needed a small registry hack to change two values, then it not only connected to the ipad, but also to the 7 laptop, funny old world. :)
 

dig deep

Prince of Birthdays
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
8,333
Reaction score
390
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
Dream7020 and AZ Elite and a few DM800
My Location
Sweden
Sorted now. Still using w7 but I always want to test (everything)

Have Ubunto as well, works very good.

BTW Hijacking comes to my mind when I read this thread (lol)
 

pgh13

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
409
Points
83
Age
69
My Satellite Setup
XTrend ET8000, Dr HD 15, PC/twinhan combination. 80cm dish. GBPVR with 2 DTTV cards +hauppauge Media MVP +Raspberry Pi running XBMC
My Location
Midlands UK
wod said:
If win7 is working fine why the need to change.
Coz they need to keep selling software so peeps upgrade and then find that their hardware is no longer compatible so have to buy new M/B, processor, memory etc. If they didn't the economy would stagnate and we'd all be in the sh1t!....... Oh sh1t, it already has and we are :(
 

Piltdownpaul

No.1 Spike Milligan Fan
Joined
May 27, 2012
Messages
2,009
Reaction score
685
Points
113
Age
52
My Satellite Setup
Skybox F3,Icecrypt S3500HDCCI, Technomate TM3000D,TM5400Ci Super, Samsung HD HDD Freesat Box,60cm dish for freesat, TD88 dish on a Skybox F3 57E to 45W.
My Location
South Leicestershire (Fleckney)
On my laptop in settings you can sleep windows 8 or shut it down.
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
dig deep said:
Anyone using it ?

I installed it but can´t find a Close button (or re-start) so I can´t stop using it :-roller


Strange is it not. First You use start button to Close it and now they skipped it. :-wow

I've been running Windows 8 since November, the price was really tempting! I hate Metro look and apps though, also the removing of the Start button. But there are substitutes for that, with 2,5 euros I got Startisback (there are others too)

_tp://www.startisback.com/

Now it looks and feels almost like Windows 7 (LOL)! :-wow
 

PaulR

Dazed and Confused Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 28, 2003
Messages
17,500
Reaction score
3,605
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
-----------See sig-----------
My Location
Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
Now it looks and feels almost like Windows7
But can you make it look like Classic Win98 or XP? :-rofl2
 

strs65

Regular Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
688
Reaction score
297
Points
63
Age
56
My Satellite Setup
Decoders: VU+ Uno, DR.HD F15
DVB cards: TBS6983, TBS 6925
Dish 1: Tecatel 1.10m
LNB1: Smart Oxid
Motor: Amiko DM3800
Dish 2: Gibertini 125L, with actuator
LNB2: Invacom QDF-031
My Location
Greece (Crete - Chania)
Well, now that I'm thinking it over, a DOS look with a command prompt, would be great! :-wow :-biglaugh
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,410
Reaction score
8,153
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
PaulR said:
But can you make it look like Classic Win98 or XP? :-rofl2

Shirley your main concern would be if it resolves your <br> <br> ??
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
I think this is what you're after.
www.classicshell.net/

I was running win8 for a month & found out the hard way how dreadful it is. The pc got thrown across the room while still plugged in, have reverted back to xp, win 7 & linux multiboot. Luckily the computer survived the landing :D
 
Top