Enigma 1 & 2?

Discussion in 'Dreambox Support Forum' started by CROSSBONES, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. CROSSBONES

    CROSSBONES Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
    My Location:
    S.Wales
    So what is the difference between enigma one and two?:confused

    As the 7025 and 8000(if its ever released) use enigma 2.

    What are the advantages if any?;)
  2. compufunk

    compufunk Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
    Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
    My Location:
    NW, Ireland
    Did you ever find out anything about this? I've been searching for some answers on same and cant find much.

    Also which boxes use which version?

    Regards,
    C:)
  3. tomthebomb1968

    tomthebomb1968 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Satellite Setup:
    VU+ Duo 250gig/ DreamElite BH 1.3.2 Multiboot

    Dreambox 500s-(clone) / DM-600

    Relook 400s 160 Gig-/SifTeam 1.93 e enigma

    Foretec 90cm Dish with Nikkai Diseqc Motor- 2 sky+ receivers fixed 28.2 east.
    My Location:
    Newtownabbey, near Belfast, Northern Ireland
    i think twin tuner handling must be the main difference
  4. CROSSBONES

    CROSSBONES Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
    My Location:
    S.Wales
    no didnt find out any more. The 800 also uses enigma 2.
  5. compufunk

    compufunk Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
    Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
    My Location:
    NW, Ireland
    I found some info if anyone is interested,

    Taken from _http://www.saunalahti.fi/znark/dreambox/dm7025/enigma2_development_toolchain/
    1.3 What happened to Enigma 1?

    Enigma 2 is a rewrite of Enigma 1 (or mere “Enigma”), which is another, older set-top box-oriented DVB viewer and DVR application. Without delving too much into historical details, it suffices to say that Dream Multimedia still ships many of the other Dreambox models with Enigma 1, and develops and maintains this “old” branch of Enigma, too. The DM 7025, however, was shipped with the all-new Enigma 2, and the upcoming DM 8000 is expected to be shipped with Enigma 2 as well.

    The most striking difference between the two Enigmas is that Enigma 1 is a C++ application through-and-through whereas Enigma 2 only has a relatively compact C++ core for the lower level stuff and handles much of its internal logic in Python. For instance, in Enigma 2, the user interface logic and menu structures are all handled by Python modules and they could be completely rewritten by merely altering the Python code. In Enigma 1, similar changes would require altering the C++ code and recompiling the binary. In addition to that, Enigma 2 also includes a new plugin interface that allows writing plugins as Python modules. The old Enigma 1 only allowed binary plugins.

    I do not know the original reasoning behind developing a new, rewritten version of Enigma, but apparently the old C++ codebase of Enigma 1 was somewhat messy and hard to maintain, and it does not handle multiple tuners and DVB multiplexes too gracefully. These points alone could explain the need for something new.


    The Python-orientedness of Enigma 2 makes rapid development and changes in the user interface logic easier, and it should also make plugin development much more accessible to the end-users.


    The full page is worth reading :cool:
  6. PCD

    PCD DB Magician

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Dm600 and 7020 can use both Enigma1 and Enigma2 images. Those with these boxes can try out E2 images and see the difference. Most new developments for skins and plugins are now in the E2 area.
  7. mhku

    mhku Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,688
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM7020S ~ sg2100 ~ Gemini
    My Location:
    Midlands
    Which E2 images are there for the 7020 so I can give one a try?
  8. PCD

    PCD DB Magician

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The last image is here :- :)

    h**p://www.i-have-a-dreambox.com/wbb2/thread.php?threadid=89021

    I am making a new one in cablelinux.info board.

    Your feedback will be most welcome !
  9. Tsiklon

    Tsiklon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Satellite Setup:
    Various
    My Location:
    Europe
    If an Enigma2/Gemini image is used on a DM600PVR, will the remote control operate the same way as it does on the DM7025 e.g. when you press the red button on a DM7025 it starts recording? I have both receivers and it is really annoying that the layout is different on both boxes.

    Alternatively, is it possible to change a DM600PVR running Engima1 to use the same remote layout as a DM7025?
  10. PCD

    PCD DB Magician

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is one reason why many people prefer to use enigma2 with the 7020 or 600. But, as these boxes are primarily for enigma1, Gemini and other mainstream image-makers do not produce enigma2 images for them.

    However, there is a well developed enigma2 image for the 600pvr (S +C) on the IHAD Database entitled - DM600PVR TestImage of 080618. Unfortunately I cannot post it here as it is too big. Please ask if you have any problem trialling it. :)

    Some details :-

    Enigma2 of 080518
    Cable patch
    Harddrive options for recording and playback
    - Insert pcip and share folder name in /etc/pcvideo
    Caid and emuname in infobar
    Plugins included
    - Pauli-neutrino and Tuxcom
    Skins included
    -Nemesi.GlassLine and BlueLine.Black mod
    Shortcut buttons
    -red>Record green>Subservices yellow>Plugins blue>ExtraSetup

    Also :-

    Addonmanager - for ipkg download and install from user defined server, or from /tmp folder.

    Grab 0.70 (see screenshot tool below)
    Webinterface
    Recording and streaming improved (see below)
    Yuv enabled
    Picon
    (1) Put the Enigma2 picon folder in '/media/cf/', or, '/media/usb/', or (2) make a new folder 'picon' with selected icons and put this folder in /usr/share/enigma2/

    Extra Setup also includes :

    New Emumanager :-

    Enigma1 emus can be used. Ftp emu binaries to /usr/bin/cam and conf files to /etc or /usr/keys as necessary. Emu start and stop scripts to /usr/script/cam (see examples in image). Reboot, and any emu can be run or stopped from the Emumanager. The emu will continue in future bootups until stopped.

    Also - view ecm.info.

    New Scriptmanager :-

    Ftp userscripts to /etc/scripts.

    Crond :-

    Edit by ftp the crontab file (in /etc) as usual with time and command etc. Start Crond from setup window and reboot. An example crontab is in the image which will create a folder cronresult in /etc. Crond will run after future reboots until stopped.

    Inadyn :-

    Edit the file inadyn.conf in /etc with your inadyn info e.g. usrname, password, alias. The example file is for the dyndns.org setup.

    Telnet command > /usr/bin/inadyn --h for other options. Inadyn can be started and stopped from the setup window and will run after future reboots until stopped.

    Also - view inadyn.log.

    pmt.tmp :-

    The image is set to include pmt.tmp in /tmp from start. If any emu start kills it, it can be restarted from the setup window. Check pmt.tmp window.

    Skins :-

    Default Skin - Nemesis.GlassLine .

    Recording :-

    Records as .ts files to hdd. Playback of .ts files with the 'video'button.

    Streaming :-

    Streaming (both viewing and recording on pc hdd) to pc is possible with TuxvisionE2.

    Streaming of .ts, .mpg, dvd, divx and other file types from pc have been tested with Stream2dbE2 (Stream2dbE2).

    Screenshot Tool :-

    "Grab" included. Telnet command > /usr/bin/grab -f png for screenshot as .png and /usr/bin/grab -f bmp for screenshot as .bmp. Telnet command > /usr/bin/grab -h for help options.

    Special thanks to :-

    Tunhj1 and the CableLinuxInfo team for testing and suggestions, elektronikfreak for finding bugs, and other friends for suggestions and testing.

    All log files can be found in /tmp.

    No emus or keys included.

    Regards, pcd.

    Attached Files:

  11. compufunk

    compufunk Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
    Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
    My Location:
    NW, Ireland
    I tried the above image on a DM-600 and an older version, I liked the interface / layout options etc,

    I found that both test images crashed in the motor set-up screen, so I reverted back to Gemini 4.4,

    It would be nice to have a stable E2 image for a DM600
  12. PCD

    PCD DB Magician

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    First time I have heard of this. Which buttons did you press when this happened? I will try that. Probably a small problem of png missing.

    It can only be stable if people test. :)
  13. compufunk

    compufunk Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
    Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
    My Location:
    NW, Ireland
    Sorry but I cant remember what buttons I'd been pressing or at exactly what point the problem was occurring, All I know for sure was that it was in the page for seting your Latitude/Longitude for motorised systems.

    When I manage to get Barry Allen working on my box, I'd be happy to try to get the problem to occur and give you any output from log files.:)
  14. compufunk

    compufunk Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM 600-S, VU+ Duo,
    Moteck SG2100, Fracarro Penta 85 dish, LG LH3000 42" TV + some computers
    My Location:
    NW, Ireland
    Hi PCD,
    Crash log attached,

    Your missing png!
    skin.SkinError: pixmap file /usr/share/enigma2/skin_default/lock_on.png not found!

    Attached Files:

  15. PCD

    PCD DB Magician

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    In your pm you explained - you had two problems.

    (1) You tried to do manual scan but the motor did not move. I have the same motor as you Moetek SG2100 - have had no problem so far with scanning. Have you tried to scan the satellite where the motor is, i.e without trying to move it ?

    (2) The image crashes at the Satfinder screen. That is easy to sort out. Thanks for finding out - I have not checked this before.

    Cheers, pcd.
  16. pya

    pya Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    DM800 HD
    My Location:
    Belgium
    ENIGMA1 VS ENIGMA2

    Beside some indeniable advantages of Enigma2, there is a big disadvantage : the http interface of Enigma2 is much less mature, some nice features are missing, and mainly, IT IS SLOOOOOOW :-( Furthermore, the streaming to PC with VLC does not work if you change the default http port (80).

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors