1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More than 1 lnb on one dish

Discussion in 'DISH SETUP: Single sat, Multi-Sat & Motorised' started by wa1es_4_ever, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. wa1es_4_ever

    wa1es_4_ever Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My Satellite Setup:
    90cm Fortec Star Dish
    1.2mtr Channelmaster Dish
    Manhattan Plaza 3300 Receiver
    My Location:
    Neath, South Wales. UK
    I know you can buy a bracket which holds up to 4 lnbs to use on 1 dish im not sure what they are called but ive seen them on e-bay for £22.
    My question is this, is there a way of making one myself a bracket to hold 4 or 5 lnbs for use on one dish if does anyone know what i could use or give me advice where to start. Im new to this and since im having no luck in getting my motor working on the dish then im going to try and get a few lnbs on one dish and since my wages aint going in till the end of the month i was going to attempt to make my own bracket but really dont know where to start.
     
  2. satlearner

    satlearner Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Deltech Bravia STB with USB HDD
    Deltech DreamGame STB with USB HDD
    1.8mtr mesh dish (C) - will be removing soon
    2.4 mtr mesh dish with 24 inch Actuator (C & Ku) (currently installing)
    90cm solid dish fixed (Ku) - will be removing soon
    120cm soli
    My Location:
    South Africa - GP
    Hi Colin,

    Amazingly i am thinking of assembling a multi LNB bracket as well. I have a 1.8mtr C-band dish and would like to add a KU-band LNB to it. The one main consideration is that the C-Band dish is prime focus and the KU-Band dish is an offset one. I have read that the offset is around 21Deg so I will have to add a bracket to the Quad mount to enable use of the KU LNB on the C-band dish.

    You mentioned that you are having problems with the motor setup. Can you give me an idea of what your setup is as I also have a 90cm dish with a HH90 motor. I am still playing around with it but i'm sure I can pass on some info to you on problems I experienced.

    regards,
    satlearner.
     
  3. Huevos

    Huevos Satellite Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5,479
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
    My Location:
    38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
    That doesn't make sense. It's much more important to have the KU LNB at the focal point than vice versa due to KU being a much smaller wavelength. The 3db beamwidth of a 1.8m dish in KU band is 1º, while in C band it is nearly 4º. If you realy need the C band LNB right at the focal point how about a dual band LNB?
     
  4. Huevos

    Huevos Satellite Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5,479
    Likes Received:
    796
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
    My Location:
    38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
    You need to persevere. I mean switching to a multi-LNB setup is ok if you don't like the pitfalls of motorised (like slower zapping) but not because you can't haven't set it up properly. With motorised you just have to get it on the arc. That's pretty simple. With multi LNBs you have to faff around setting up multiple LNBs that are not at the focal point of the dish and so are pretty inefficient. Also you are "stuck" with just a handful of satellites and never get the chance to explore or receive feeds.
     
  5. Tivù

    Tivù Tout Rond Bon Oeuf Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16,886
    Likes Received:
    2,065
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    N.Yorks Moors
    I agree entirely with Huevos.

    Setting up a Motor is straightforward if you are thoroughly logical, so if you just can't get it to work, in my experience it is because a fundamental (and obviously undetected!) error has been made in the early stage.

    Often, Posting a few piccies can help home in on any "howlers" .............
     
  6. Robbo

    Robbo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,424
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    My Satellite Setup:
    TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
    My Location:
    Gravesend,Kent,UK
    I would start by googling and check what the existing multi LNB holders look like. You could then base yours on one of those.

    To be honest though, I don't think it worth the effort trying to make your own, they are very cheap to buy anyway. I did make one once, very bady out of 15mm copper plumbing pipe, it worked ok for 2 or 3 sats but was difficult to adjust and get right.

    You need something that is curved,allows the lNBs to be moved up and down and from side to side.
     
  7. CROSSBONES

    CROSSBONES Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    My Satellite Setup:
    1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
    My Location:
    S.Wales
    This may help you mate :)

    ebay 300321281148
     
  8. d122k7trb

    d122k7trb Judas Priest

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    IClass Receiver
    2 Premium X LNBs Hotbird+ Nilesat
    120" Dish

    Computer system:
    AMD Phenom Quad quad core 9750
    4GB DDR2 Bus 800 RAM
    MB: Asus Crosshair
    1 TB Seagate Barracuda 32 MB cache
    22" LCD Widescreen Samsung 226BW
    SB X-Fi Xtreme
    My Location:
    Armenia, ME: The Arab Countries
    You wanna set up a motorized dish with 4 LNBs or use this 4 LNBs from the same dish. It's different.
    1) Using a dish with 4 exits or outputs could lessen on the quality and sharpness of your picture. It's not recommended.
    2) The second thing to come to my mind is: installing a motorized dish with 4 stops and a changer for 4 satellites. The probs are that the dish must be big enough to handle enough channels for those sats. It should change direction from x° to y°. It can lost its setting and ‘coz the dish is heavy, it can harm the motor.
    That was my Idea. As I’ve seen this things in my practical life.

    Arbi.
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors