1. sjude

    sjude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My Satellite Setup:
    Kaon DVR - KSC-N620
    Fortechstar FSCI9800
    My Location:
    MUM
    Where can I find a PowerVu CAM or Decoder. How does it work for encryption.

    Will Freecam2.019 work for PowerVu decording.
    :confused
  2. rolfw

    rolfw Believe it when I see it Admin. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 1999
    Messages:
    35,597
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    Berkshire
    To my knowledge it is not simply an encryption and it is only possible to watch Powervu channels with a dedicated receiver, although I have heard talk of modifying certain other receivers.

    I don't believe that there is a hack available either.
  3. Old Satellite

    Old Satellite Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To the best of my knowledge you need both a dedicated Power Vu reciever and an over the air enabler from the service provider for the decoding of Power Vu.

    There are currnetly several attempts to further understand Power vu so far all are unsuccesfull.

    Generally it is a secure system for network providers and a vast Majority of the providers also use low power C band for up linking.

    There are many recievers that can be purchased including, both professional rack mounts and normal consumer appearance.

    If you check ebay etc you can on occasions pick up a second hand unit- but there still expensive and not of much use.

    currently the encryption format is safe and hence it will not work on your freecam 2.019

    regards

    Old Satellite
  4. sjude

    sjude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My Satellite Setup:
    Kaon DVR - KSC-N620
    Fortechstar FSCI9800
    My Location:
    MUM
    Thanks, Old Satellite guy,

    I would like to purchase one Powervu decorder and then purchase a subcription for a package. Is it possible. Do I need to give a serial number or some other number to the service provider ?

    Which site can I purchase the decoder.

    Thanks again for the help
    regards,
    Jude
  5. gepeto

    gepeto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, you are right.
  6. Old Satellite

    Old Satellite Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The vast majority of Power vu Packages are for cable end distrubution networks only, and consequently are not for single user access . Those packages where this can be purchased are likely to be extremely high.

    Which package are you interested in ? and where is your location?
    We can then try to advise what is possible.

    Regards


    Old Satellite
  7. sjude

    sjude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My Satellite Setup:
    Kaon DVR - KSC-N620
    Fortechstar FSCI9800
    My Location:
    MUM
    Old Satellite,

    I am from India but currently in ME. I have seen the packages for Sony TV which is PowerVu on PAS10. If I go for the decoder here I could subcribe for the package giving the ID of the receiver. Subcription rates in India are very less and many channels in that package. In the ME they are expensive besides which unwanted channels also included in package. I am looking for Sony and AXN. Where can I get a PowerVu decorder cheap.

    regards,
    Jude
  8. Old Satellite

    Old Satellite Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are not any very cheap power Vu decoders due the nature of use.

    The best option to track one down is by Ebay,or simlar or if you can not wait untill one is advertised then purchase from SA in the USA.

    Are you sure however that Sony will allow you to subscribe ? why not email them and ask them for confimation anyway- as i stated they are normally for cable companies only.


    If sony allow indiviudal subscribition they may also be the best option for the reciever as well?

    check out the following address for new purchase etc

    http://www.planetcomm.com/satcomm/i...power Vu [url]http://www.growl.de/d9234.html

    regards

    Old Satellite
  9. Old Satellite

    Old Satellite Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. sjude

    sjude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My Satellite Setup:
    Kaon DVR - KSC-N620
    Fortechstar FSCI9800
    My Location:
    MUM
    Thank you Old Satellite, for the information. I have sent many emails to Sony but they have not yet replied to me.

    regards,
    Jude
  11. theslydog

    theslydog Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Location:
    moon
    To get powervu is a major pain in the ass.

    You need a Rx new about $1600US
    2nd hand Rx range from $0-1000US

    Current std business/consumer model has been the same for years SA-D9234

    Every PowerVu box ever made has a unique U/A number (corresponds to an orange tagged chip within the box - activated chips can be changed from box to box :D) and this number is kept in a SciAlt database

    To be able to activate a box you need the service provider to send a letter to SciAlt in Canada allowing the authorisation. SA then send a letter back to the provider saying OK. Then your box is activated. Dont hold your breath during this period...

    If you happen to have picked up a 2nd hand box and you want to swap providers. This box has to be released from the original provider - involves more letters. If it is not released the box will not be activated to a new provider. Each box can only have one provider.

    BTW you can make a switch block to use multiple chips with one box. :D

    Generally individuals can not actvate a box only companies.


    Other info I found
    --------
    http://www.growl.de/d9234.html
    (has pics + good info)
    --------
    http://www.vidiot.com/D9234Setup.html
    --------
    the baud rate is 115200
    it also has 2 stop bits 20.0 us
    each bit is 8.0 us
    it has 10 bits per byte 80.0 us
    the first byte is always 9 bits and the first byte of the answer is 9 too is this normal

    the computer i tested its byte was 87.0us at 115200 e 8 2.
    two stop bits was 18.0us

    is there a program to convert bin files from nokia i loged powervu and found my HSN for the chip in powervu box.
    if you want to know what your HSN is for your powervu box goto menu find decoder address (ISE) 000-154-1234-2 convert only 1541234 to hex 178472 and you then have your hsn.
    -----------
  12. sjude

    sjude Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My Satellite Setup:
    Kaon DVR - KSC-N620
    Fortechstar FSCI9800
    My Location:
    MUM
    Thanks for the info. But first I need to get hold of a second hand PowerVu decoder. If that is too difficult then I cannot experiment. My search for PowerVu ends here.

    Regards,
    Jude
    :confused
  13. theslydog

    theslydog Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Location:
    moon
    There are tons on ebay sell for around $100US. But usually need a US address as they will not ship internationally.

    Need also to be quick to beat the snipers who bid $5 over in the last 2 seconds. Must be a way to do this. Something I will have to look into.
  14. DODO67

    DODO67 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    somebody know the adress nomber of power vu provedors for the european chanels?
  15. ctomer

    ctomer Guest

    A lot of the Romanian channels are encrypted with PowerVu. ProTV 5e, Antena1 10e, TVR1 and TVR2, both 16e, are all encrypted in PowerVu. I guess those channels are used for terrestrial feeds.
  16. Analoguesat

    Analoguesat Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    37,143
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    My Satellite Setup:
    Dreambox 7020S,
    Skybox F3
    Echostar IP3000VA,
    Vu+ Duo (just horrible)
    Sky+ UK.
    My Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Yup - tell him to forget it via satellite. There is NO CHANCE whatsoever of getting an authorised decoder for the service off Telstar as those services are for cable operators.

    Thats also the ONLY location where ESPN 2 is carried in the skies above Europe so theres no alternative.

    If hes got a decent broadband connection tell him to investigate slingbox hosting.
  17. dvmedia

    dvmedia 'What's On' Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    1m Orbital Motorised Dish, Fixed 65cm Fortec Dish on Astra 1, Fixed 45cm Minidish on Hotbird, Pace MSS500, TM-5600D CI USB Super, Nokia 9800s, Skystar USB 2, Grundig Sky Digibox, Manhattan Plaza XT-M
    My Location:
    High Wycombe, Nr London, UK
    Maybe this is a really stupid question..

    But how come I can hear audio with some PowerVu channels across various satellites?
  18. Topper

    Topper Amo Amas Amant Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    17,203
    Likes Received:
    497
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Satellite Setup:
    IDD CI24 ECONO MM Penta 1.20 Galaxy II
    1.2Mtr Polar MTG yes it has been on the arc for 25 years and is now fixed on 13 East using two pairs of rusty molegrips. Unlike me they never groan but always perform.
    My Location:
    Blackburn, Lancashire

    simply because they decide not to encrypt the transmitted audio, you could argue ( and I am sure some overpaid executive does) that is it an enticement to get you to subscribe but well................. we are just mere mortals not executives Humping
  19. BombedOne

    BombedOne Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Covering 30W-105.5E range, two motors, C and Ku band. Various receivers/cards/cams/etc.
    My Location:
    Republic of Georgia
    You can get relatively cheap AFN receiver with active subscription, but there's not too much of interesting stuff on AFN channels...
  20. hellodickie

    hellodickie Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Satellite Setup:
    Windows PC
    My Location:
    Lancashire
    Dear all,

    let me introduce myself: I am a spaniard who resides in UK and despite liking british telly very much, I miss the odd spanish things (specially the footy). I have a satt. dish that picks signals from, amongst many others, Hispasat 30.0W. I also have a cheap technomate dek that picks most spanish channels but obviously can't decode (scramble channels), obviously they are scrambled with powervu. About a year ago I got hold of a powervu dek (from Germany!) on *bay...but I can't do anything with it. I've tried all possible combinations od freq, polarizations, symbol speeds,...etc. on my searches, but it does not pick a single thing.
    Just a couple of things:
    -Powervu does not require a card to work, but my dek has a smartcard slot and in the instructions manual says it is there for "possible future upgrades".
    -In spanish forums there has been some chat about the possibility of connecting your dek to a pc and loading it with some keys that can be found on the internet...and apparently it will work then.

    Has anybody heard anything of the subject?...

    ...and,...does anybody know if it is possible to LEGALLY ergister your dek with sciatlanta / powervu and watch your thingy legally? (provided reasonable price is asked for).

    Thank you all, I wait for your replies and willing to help (if i can)

Share This Page