Which PCI card?

sharpxl521

Reaction score
I'm new to this so please forgive me if i'm asking something that's been asked 1000 times before.
I currently have Sky Digital and was planning on installing a TV card to my pc, so i'd have a second tv/recording/ editing rig in my office. Pretty simple and straight forward to do, as i already have a second aerial running in here. For best results, which card should i buy?. I see a few cards come with analogue and digital recievers, so one of these would be a good idea and futureproof, IF i was ever to get rid of the Sky. For the moment, i'm stuck with satellite because analogue and terrestrial digital aren't available, due to my rural location.
BUT....while looking into TV cards, i noticed satellite PCI cards are also available. Now if i hooked one of these up to the existing sky digital dish, would I be able to recieve any viewable channels or would i just get a heap of encoded signals?. Again, which Sat card is the best to go for?.

kalamar

ASBO Club Member - Persona non grata
Reaction score
Hauppauge Nexus-S and SkyStar 1 are proven winners.If you got the $200. to buy one ,then thats the way to go. Use like.....ProgDVB and the right plugs and you will get all you can with this setup. If you cant get something special...well thats the way it is and nothing can be done about it at this time. But.......better days are a commin

sharpxl521

Reaction score
Ok, i've done a bit of reading around on the forum and to be honest, my head hurts. A lot of information to work through and take in.
Anyway, from what i understand, i'm not going to recieve anything without moving my dish?. Right or wrong?. Or are the bbc channels, ITV, channel 4 and 5, available, without the need of a viewing card?. Thanks :)

Lancelot

Retired Mod
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
SS1.
125cm Gibbi with Channelmaster feedhorn and Inverto C120 twin.
36v H to H 62E - 61.5W
My Location
South central