28e levels in south france

ozumo

Contributor
Staff member
Joined
May 26, 2020
Messages
2,766
Reaction score
935
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Raven mk2 zone 2 x4, Channel Master: 90cm x3, 1.2m x2, 1.8m PF. CM polar mount x2, Az/El x3.
My Location
South Durham
I'm not sure how your dish is currently mounted but could you attach some brackets to the existing fence post so the dish is moved away from the fence to stop it interfering?
 

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
274
Reaction score
258
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Yes the ground support will be my problem too, I assume if permanent I will set it quite deep in concrete hole whilst ensuring it is totally perpendicular (to earth) etc. My problem at present is that my 120cm dish I decided I dare not place on the roof, and happen to have a fence post in a great position and more or less well aligned, issue is it is not perpendicular, the fencing interferes with the back of the dish alignment so the readings are not true, oh and the fence pole is not round so minor sideways adjustments are tricky - it has been a journey but still it all works now thanks in no small part to the support from here.

Once I am 100% that the dish is not changing location I will invest in a fixed post etc. Are there any instructions on this - and or recommended suppliers ? or is it simple a case of having something like a round scaffolding pole sunk into the ground in concrete ?
Lag bolts through pole clamps into fence post.Spacers to adjust pole tilt

clamp.jpg
 

jhalliday45

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Setting up still bought a 125 dish for France and planning to use old Sky HD for Freesat
My Location
Cazeres
I'm not sure how your dish is currently mounted but could you attach some brackets to the existing fence post so the dish is moved away from the fence to stop it interfering?
Yes hadn't really considered that - I had considered a scaffolding post over the fence post (I think it will just fit and concreting that in place) but this looks a better alternative, will see what I can do thanks.
 

jhalliday45

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Setting up still bought a 125 dish for France and planning to use old Sky HD for Freesat
My Location
Cazeres
Hi all, and thanks for the help so far, as I had an excellent image for ITV4 - for the tour de France, I had not further tinkered with the dish. However that is now finished and having discovered I only seem to have 2E and 2G channels I have been trying to search out 2F but I am just getting absolutely zero, not even close to a signal for them.
The quandary is that 2E & 2G are quite strong am getting BBC TWO HD near 100% perfect all the time, and am loathe to deviate too far from that - and being frank I don't think I should need to, I am assuming this is mm work now given I am well aligned to 2E & 2G.

Any further tips at all please on how to find 2F channels ?
 

dmaavrigdo

Member
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
274
Reaction score
258
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m Laminas OFC1200 dish
Golden Media 202+
Octagon SF8008 twin
Zgemma H9S
Technomate Nano M3
Technomate F3/5
Yamaha HTR-2067
My Location
Vansbro Sweden
Hi all, and thanks for the help so far, as I had an excellent image for ITV4 - for the tour de France, I had not further tinkered with the dish. However that is now finished and having discovered I only seem to have 2E and 2G channels I have been trying to search out 2F but I am just getting absolutely zero, not even close to a signal for them.
The quandary is that 2E & 2G are quite strong am getting BBC TWO HD near 100% perfect all the time, and am loathe to deviate too far from that - and being frank I don't think I should need to, I am assuming this is mm work now given I am well aligned to 2E & 2G.

Any further tips at all please on how to find 2F channels ?
BBC2 HD Luxury!
If you really want 2F I think a slight tweak to the west will be required.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-07-22 at 15-51-00 Satellite motion charts for ASTRA 2E,ASTRA 2F,ASTRA 2G based...png
    Screenshot 2021-07-22 at 15-51-00 Satellite motion charts for ASTRA 2E,ASTRA 2F,ASTRA 2G based...png
    176.4 KB · Views: 18

jhalliday45

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Setting up still bought a 125 dish for France and planning to use old Sky HD for Freesat
My Location
Cazeres
BBC2 HD Luxury!
If you really want 2F I think a slight tweak to the west will be required.
Yes BBC1 &2 in HD, but don't watch them much...all I want is Dave in SD :D

Will give it a try again this evening when the heat has gone and signal may be better. thank you
 

4wd

Getting the picture
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
2,182
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
5 W, 9-13-19-28 E
My Location
Bergen, Norway \ Alpes Maritimes, France
2f eu is surely strongly present, try 12148 H. The 2f uk's are the weakest of anything on 28e, needs the right dish size + working out -the- alignement. The pictures shows an example of the local (north of Nice) eu-uk difference.
My rule of thumb, if any eu beam not 'at least' at 100% 17dB, I'd experience trouble of some sort (weather, seasonal, time of day, dish size, alignement, whatever) for stable reception of some\many of the uk's.
 

Attachments

  • 2feu.jpg
    2feu.jpg
    162 KB · Views: 15
  • 2fuk.jpg
    2fuk.jpg
    176.7 KB · Views: 15

jhalliday45

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Setting up still bought a 125 dish for France and planning to use old Sky HD for Freesat
My Location
Cazeres
2f eu is surely strongly present, try 12148 H. The 2f uk's are the weakest of anything on 28e, needs the right dish size + working out -the- alignement. The pictures shows an example of the local (north of Nice) eu-uk difference.
My rule of thumb, if any eu beam not 'at least' at 100% 17dB, I'd experience trouble of some sort (weather, seasonal, time of day, dish size, alignement, whatever) for stable reception of some\many of the uk's.
OK so after much weeping, wailing an gnashing of teeth as I aligned the dish I decided to do some proper analysis of which channels I have and do not have. I thought I was missing AStra 2G because I don't have 4seven which should be on 2G however in fact I do have other channels on 2G , same across 2E and 2F.

In summary it seems I am just missing a few transponders ;

Astra 2G 11127V (for 4seven) and
Astra 2E 12129V (for Dave Yesterday etc)

Is it simply that these transponders may have lower signal strength ?

or could it be an issue with my LNB ?


I have 3 receivers here (4 if you count my scanner);
Arris Freesat 4K
Old Sky HD
Enigma 2 (cannot use due to misplaced remote)

both the Arris and the Sky box cannot find any signal on these transponders even when I do a manual search specific only these numbers etc.

Any ideas please ? or do i just have to live with it ?
 

4wd

Getting the picture
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
2,182
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
5 W, 9-13-19-28 E
My Location
Bergen, Norway \ Alpes Maritimes, France
11127V you should get as you have other 2g's, but that one is for some reasom extremely sensible to correct lnb skew, try turning the lnb very slightly while monitoring the results. I use that transponder for skew adjustment.

12129V is on 2f uk, weak, around 2-3 dB lower here than the best 2e uk's, so may fall under your dish size's reception capabilities, am suspecting you are right on the edge for the other uk's you receive. But may appear once the lnb skew is adjusted.

Also, try adjustments at different time of the day, signals varies in strength.

Good work getting so far! My impression, dish size is on the very limits, think about going up 20cm or so and things will work very well, with some headroom for rain and seasonal changes.
 

jhalliday45

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
Setting up still bought a 125 dish for France and planning to use old Sky HD for Freesat
My Location
Cazeres
11127V you should get as you have other 2g's, but that one is for some reasom extremely sensible to correct lnb skew, try turning the lnb very slightly while monitoring the results. I use that transponder for skew adjustment.

12129V is on 2f uk, weak, around 2-3 dB lower here than the best 2e uk's, so may fall under your dish size's reception capabilities, am suspecting you are right on the edge for the other uk's you receive. But may appear once the lnb skew is adjusted.

Also, try adjustments at different time of the day, signals varies in strength.

Good work getting so far! My impression, dish size is on the very limits, think about going up 20cm or so and things will work very well, with some headroom for rain and seasonal changes.
excellent will try with the skew - I think it is 80% right so will be minor adjustment - thanks again, really appreciate the help
 
Top