astra 1H at 19.2e no signal help for total newbie

mdfenemer

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
sky digital and 90cm fortecstar
My Location
UK
Yeterday after much thought and lots of research on the net I went out and brought a 90cm Fortec star with lifetimeII reciever which came in kit form from Maplins. I would like to pick up free to air German channels for my partner who is of course German. Armed with my new equipment and satelite meter I installed the dish facing 19.2 degrees east of south as directed on many websites..I have alterd the LNB skew as also directed to -8.1. I have also altered the dish angle to 153.42degrees as instructed. All the angles and directions for my setup came from.... _http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/satmeter.htm
where upon I entered the required satellite and my home address. My knowlwedge of this subject is nil. I have tried my best but cannot even get a signal. In the installation of the reciever it seems I can only search for certain Sats. Astra1 is one of many so is Astra3 and hotbird and many more but Astra1H is not listed. There is a section however that enables me to name a new satellite to search for, but it also asks for TP and SR and H/V . I really have no idea. This was supposed to be a valentines present but looks like it will end up down the tip and £90 worse off. I want to receieve free to air German Tv Stations I live in the West Midlands in the UK.. Please help but keep it simple..Many Thanks. Mark

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Welcome to the forum mdfenemer

OK the first thing to remember is that patience is a virtue.
Without a signal meter or signal finder as a newbie you may struggle but on the other hand you may strike lucky firstly your dish should look something like the picture when installed.