Blindscan on linux with tbs cards

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Thanks. Perhaps you could teleport some of your brain cells to me too...
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
LLew,
I have found the problem: it seems that yesterday, crazycat performed some update to media_build,
which results in new problems (because of slight version mismatches. It really only affects drivers
which are not even of interest, but media_build then fails on those uninteresting drivers).

Be careful with the following instructions, because the "rm" command could
remove things you don't want to remobe

I assume that you first cd into the folder which contains both
media/ # my blindscan tree
media_build #the media build folder

#First clean the media_build tree and checkout the working version (from before yesterday)
rm -fr media_build/* # erase everything
cd media_build
git checkout -b works ffcdfed96c45c8e80ffd6a154c16d64c81416010
git reset --hard

#now start the build as usual. Note that you are already in media_build
make dir DIR=../media
make distclean
make allyesconfig
make -j8

#if everything works out, then install the drivers
sudo make install
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Hi deeptho,

OK , media_build cleaned and built again. A fresh start.

There's a lot of files in the new build skipped because of the unavailability of vmlinux. Has it got lost somewhere?

There's also an error which seems to concern the absence of Proc/ProcessTable.pm. I can't find an exact match online for this file. Maybe in a different form?

A truncated copy of make -j8 showing the error (there were many skipped BTF generation files).

Code:
4l/zd1301.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
  LD [M]  /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko
  LD [M]  /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10039.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10039.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/kernels/5.13.19-200.fc34.x86_64'
./scripts/rmmod.pl check
Can't locate Proc/ProcessTable.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Proc::ProcessTable module) (@INC contains: /usr/local/lib64/perl5/5.32 /usr/local/share/perl5/5.32 /usr/lib64/perl5/vendor_perl /usr/share/perl5/vendor_perl /usr/lib64/perl5 /usr/share/perl5) at ./scripts/rmmod.pl line 4.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at ./scripts/rmmod.pl line 4.
make[1]: *** [Makefile:54: default] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l'
make: *** [Makefile:26: all] Error 2
[root@fedora media_build]#
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Hi deeptho,

OK , media_build cleaned and built again. A fresh start.

There's a lot of files in the new build skipped because of the unavailability of vmlinux. Has it got lost somewhere?

There's also an error which seems to concern the absence of Proc/ProcessTable.pm. I can't find an exact match online for this file. Maybe in a different form?

A truncated copy of make -j8 showing the error (there were many skipped BTF generation files).

Code:
4l/zd1301.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
  LD [M]  /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko
  LD [M]  /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10039.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10039.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/kernels/5.13.19-200.fc34.x86_64'
./scripts/rmmod.pl check
Can't locate Proc/ProcessTable.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Proc::ProcessTable module) (@INC contains: /usr/local/lib64/perl5/5.32 /usr/local/share/perl5/5.32 /usr/lib64/perl5/vendor_perl /usr/share/perl5/vendor_perl /usr/lib64/perl5 /usr/share/perl5) at ./scripts/rmmod.pl line 4.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at ./scripts/rmmod.pl line 4.
make[1]: *** [Makefile:54: default] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l'
make: *** [Makefile:26: all] Error 2
[root@fedora media_build]#
I've done an update and rebuilt with make j8 - the vmlinux issue seems to have disappeared now, leaving just the error.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Hmm - gets weirder. I found a perl-Proc/ProcessTable online and installed it. That error has gone now after a rebuild, but the vmlinux issue has reappeared :confused

So, no errors showing now, just scores of those 'Skipping BTF generations'.

Your advice please - Is it safe to make all now?
Code:
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zr364xx.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
  BTF [M] /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko
Skipping BTF generation for /home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/zl10353.ko due to unavailability of vmlinux
make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/kernels/5.13.19-200.fc34.x86_64'
./scripts/rmmod.pl check
found 741 modules
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l'
[root@fedora media_build]#
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Llew,
the vmlinux message is just a warning. The build was successful.
now: sudo make install
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Well
Llew,
the vmlinux message is just a warning. The build was successful.
now: sudo make install
Well, that built OK deeptho, but there's only the media and media_build folders in blindscan kernel, no Makelists file, so can't do anything else (?)
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Well: while in the media_build directory, simply type
sudo make install

Reboot bedfore use
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Well: while in the media_build directory, simply type
sudo make install

Reboot bedfore use
I had done that, with the result I said.

Doing another sudo make install and reboot yields the same two folders only.

It's not giving up without a fight, is it? Neither am I :(
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
LLew,
Why would there be any extra folders?
Please read again:
first cd into media_build
Then type
sudo make install

sudo make install puts the compiled modules in /lib/modules/..../
After reboot you can use them.

The earlier log messages you were posted where for "make -j8" not for "sudo make install"
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
first cd into media_build
Then type
sudo make install
That's what I've been doing deeptho. I saw the files disappear into /lib/firmware.

Tail end of make install:
Code:
        rc-pinnacle-pctv-hd.ko rc-proteus-2309.ko rc-dvbsky.ko
    firewire/: firedtv.ko
    common/v4l2-tpg/: v4l2-tpg.ko
    v4l2-core/: videobuf-dma-contig.ko videobuf-dma-sg.ko v4l2-dv-timings.ko
        v4l2-mem2mem.ko videobuf-vmalloc.ko videobuf-core.ko
        videodev.ko v4l2-jpeg.ko tuner.ko
        v4l2-async.ko v4l2-fwnode.ko v4l2-flash-led-class.ko
    pci/meye/: meye.ko
    platform/cadence/: cdns-csi2tx.ko cdns-csi2rx.ko
    usb/ttusb-budget/: dvb-ttusb-budget.ko
/sbin/depmod -a 5.13.19-200.fc34.x86_64
make -C firmware install
make[2]: Entering directory '/home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/firmware'
Installing firmwares at /lib/firmware:
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l/firmware'
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/davidL/Downloads/blindscan_kernel/media_build/v4l'
[davidL@fedora media_build]$
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Looks normal to me.

Reboot and try...
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Looks normal to me.

Reboot and try...
Sorry deeptho, I was probably confusing you with my earlier posts.

As you say, it's installed OK now.

Now I Just need to get blindscan working in my Fedora kernel and the TBS cards registered in /dev/dvb.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
Just the one scan until I investgate a problem. Could be a kernel issue, or perhaps my compiled blindscan app.

I can only do one satellite scan, after which the frontends seem to lock up, preventing a repeat satellite scan.

Only a reboot allows me to do another scan.

A 5W Verticals scan with my TBS 6903X -

5W Vertical.png

Frontend trouble, detailing the progress of the spectrum scan. When this detail appears after the Adapters are shown, the frontends lock out.

frontend problem.png
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
A section of of 5W's Horizonal spectrum seems a good place to start checking, after seeing deeptho's graph of that area, as it has a couple of low SR's.


A good test of the TBS 6903X's internal high speed FFT engine. 100kHz resolution.

Graph TP numbering -

1. 11454H SR 543
2. 11456H SR 2000
3. 11457H SR 260
4. 11461H SR 5780
5. 11465H SR 667
6. 11472H SR 9800
7. 11480H SR 3215



5W Horizontal_1.JPG
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
Just the one scan until I investgate a problem. Could be a kernel issue, or perhaps my compiled blindscan app.

I can only do one satellite scan, after which the frontends seem to lock up, preventing a repeat satellite scan.

Only a reboot allows me to do another scan.

A 5W Verticals scan with my TBS 6903X -

View attachment 138895

Frontend trouble, detailing the progress of the spectrum scan. When this detail appears after the Adapters are shown, the frontends lock out.

View attachment 138896
These messages are perfectly normal.

What exactly goes wrong?
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
These messages are perfectly normal.

What exactly goes wrong?
Every other scan gives me zeros in tmp/spectrum.dat, so a reboot is necessary to fill one up.

I wanted to check the log, but I don't see a kernel log in my file system. Does it have another name deeptho?
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
If this is done with the neumo-tune program: are you using the latest version of both the kernel
and the neumo-tune program?

I just tested and all works fine
neumo-blindscan -c spectrum -U0 -pH -a0 --spectrum-method fft --spectral-resolution 100

There should be no reason to reboot, except when the kernel crashes (but I have not seen any crashes
for many months)

You can also run the blindscan from neumo-dvb. It has been tested more and it is easier to use

About the logs
sudo dnf install rsyslog

Double check that /etc/rsyslog.conf contains the following line
kern.debug /var/log/debug

Then
sudo systemctl enable rsyslog
sudo systemctl start rsyslog

Debug messages will appear in /var/log/debug
and will have a clearer timestamp than with dmesg

Note that this file will grow big after a while. If you remove it, it will be recreated at next boot
and new messages will appear in it.
 

Llew

cerca trova...
Staff member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,233
Reaction score
4,202
Points
113
Age
81
My Satellite Setup
Triple Dragon, Dreambox 8000, Echostar AD3000ip, TBS6522,6925,6983 PCie cards.
Gibertini 1.25m motorised dish driven by the AD3000, with either Inverto BU Quad or Norsat / XMW Ka LNBs . SMW 1.05m + 3 other dishes. Speccy: Promax HD Ranger+
My Location
The Flatlands of East Anglia
If this is done with the neumo-tune program: are you using the latest version of both the kernel
and the neumo-tune program?
No, I was using neumo-blindscan.

My problem solved - I was going into root every time (unnecessary), so it was just flat-lining the next scan for some reason after the first successful scan.
You can also run the blindscan from neumo-dvb. It has been tested more and it is easier to use
Yes, I shall continue there.
 

deeptho

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
700
Reaction score
422
Points
63
Age
57
My Satellite Setup
Wavefrontier T90, Laminas 120cm, 2 other dishes; tbs 5927, tbs6904, tbs6909x, tbs6903x, tbs5990, tbs6981,tbs5927
My Location
Europe
No, I was using neumo-blindscan.

My problem solved - I was going into root every time (unnecessary), so it was just flat-lining the next scan for some reason after the first successful scan.

Yes, I shall continue there.
That behaviour is difficult to explain. Root or not should not matter....
 
Top