Enthusiastic novice - can anyone advise?

mr_jones

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
none
My Location
dorset
Hi Guys

I am an enthusiastic novice, wanting to install some stuff in m house and I wonder if anyone can advise.

I moved in to a brand new chalet bungalow in Poole Dorset about 8 months ago and got Sky to provide a new dish etc for standard sky.

Was going to get a high gain ariel and go for freeview with a set top box in each bedroom, but found out this morning that this is not an option in Poole.

As far as I can see, I can buy a dish and install it on a bracket extension to my sky dish.

From there i can easily 2 (or if just as simple 3) cables to bedrooms. I understand i would then place a receiver in each room and connect to the tv in each room.
Have a few basic questions....

Does this sound sensible?

Is there any way i can wireless from dish (or close to it) to each receiver so that the system is as flexible as possible?

Can I connect 3 cables to a signle dish or is there a better way....splitters?

Will placing 2 dishes within a foot or so cause any problems?

Any guidance for cost conscious reliable kit?

Any other help or advice would be much appreciated.

Happy new year, a great site you have here.

Thanks

Brian

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Hi Brian, you will need to install a Quad LNB on the dish and run the cables to the bedrooms from it. In the very near future, BBC Freesat will launch, am moving this to that section.

Robbo

Retired Mod
Reaction score
Website
www.mbcsatellites.co.uk
My Satellite Setup
TM6800HD, TM1000, TM600 Linux,TM2200 motor, Channel Master 1.2m motorised, TD110 dish Meter=Satlook Micro+G2 NIT
My Location
Gravesend,Kent,UK
Hi mr jones,
Welcome to the forum,