Missing channels on Hotbird 13.0E

svedish

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Fortec Star zone 2 kit
My Location
London
Hello guys,

a complete newbie here, so please forgive any stupid questions.
I am having a weird (at least for me) problem. I've installed a fixed sat dish to point at Hotbird (I bought a £59.99 Fortec Star kit from Maplins) to watch Italian television.

Before fine tuning I managed to scan for 40 channels. After fine tuning I got roughly 200 (with many with big pixel blocks). At that point I checked the signal and the strenght was 90%, while the quality was very low (between 10 and 35, often going up and down). I had a read around and I understood that the 'skew' was important. In fact I got the quality at 75-78%. Could't do better.

A new scan gave me at this point 450 channels and all the pixels were gone. The quality is really fine, at least for the channels I manage to see...

In fact, the problem is that some channels are just missing. Some big ones (like the Mediaset package - I.E. Italia 1, Canale 5, Rete 4 - or Euronews, or BBC World as well if I remember well).

I don't understand why to be honest. That's why I posted here.

Got a pretty vertical bracked, 90% strenght and 75% quality. Shouldn't this be enough to avoid missing whole packages of channels? I can understand some pixelation, but whole transponders not being loaded...:-doh2

Please help and, if any of you does this job in the London area, I'm happy to offer you some work to fine tune this thing.

Big thanks.
Best

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
You shouldn't have any problems getting those channels as Hotbird is a very powerful satellite.
Are you scanning in the correct frequencies?
11919 V 27500
12597 V 27500
Try scanning them in again but alter the frequency slightly, e.g. 11921 V 27500 or 11917 V 27500.