Network connection

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
None yet
My Location
Dublin
Hey all, I just bought a dm500 clone, I have it in my game room out my back garden, about 20 metres from my house.My wifi does strecth out there, and I get a download speed of 1.87Mbps. Which I believe should suffice?I'm only new to satellite, though I have researched for nights on end. And I understand almost everything I have to do.At first I thought I had two options.-run a cat5 cable from my router out to the game room.-use a wifi bridgeNow I'm not so sure about the second option.I have only heard of the term FTP and never understood what it was until now. I have read on various sites that you can't use an FTP program over a wifi bridge, or you can though it's slow. I've also read on other sites that you can FTP using a wifi bridge.So I'd like if anybody can help me clear this up. And what you think my best option would be.Thanks for any help in advance

Mickha

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
1.2M Channel Master, 1224 motor, VU+ Duo 2
My Location
North West
I'm sure one of the Dreambox owners can help you, when they have time, unfortunately most of us do have to go work, occasionally:)

I've read your thread and I'm not sure what you're trying to do, or what information you require, from memory FTP just stands for File Transfer Protocol, for which your Wi Fi speed seems fine, but what exactly are you trying to do?
Are you using the Dreambox to stream movies from your PC?
Are you using it as a satellite receiver and trying to share a subscription card?
What exactly is your satellite set up, apart from a Dreambox 500s?

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
None yet
My Location
Dublin