Newbie Here Nova Greece

xd andy

Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
Sky Mini Dish zone 2, Nova Receiver (Pace DS831), Tracked to Hotbird 13E, LG 49UF850V Smart TV with built in DVB-S/S2 module and CI slot.
My Location
Shropshire, UK
Hi all,

apologies for dropping in, but I couldn't find any definite info elsewhere.

We currently have a Nova Greece subscription, card, and box (Nova branded Pace DS831) working nicely.

As a result of our old LG TV dying (11 years old), we bought a new one; 49UF850V smart TV.

Unknowingly, it has a built in DVB-S/S2 receiver as well as a DVB-T/T2 freeview, but the satellite side is not configured towards freestat.

It also has a CI slot.

As the dish is already tracked on Hotbird 13E, I've performed a blind scan, and picked up whats available. Sadly the only greek language FTA channel is RIK Sat, and all the Nova channels are encrypted, unsurprisingly.

Now, I've wall mounted this TV, and am quite keen to loose cables and remotes, so am keen to use the internal DVB-S2 tuner and dump the PACE box.

I've looked a lot around and about the issue of obtaining an Irdeto CAM, and they all seem to claim that they contain the necessary encryption algorithms to decode Nova.

But I cannot find anything anywhere on anyone actually being successful at this.

Has anyone any experience of doing this, and gotten it to work?

If not, does anyone know if I can get a suitable CAM allowing me to access Sky, with an official card ofc, and with a dish realignment to Astra.

If not this, then is the CI slot and CAM modules actually good for anything worthwhile ?

kind regards and TIA

Andy

Captain Jack

Burnt out human
Reaction score
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset