1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie Here Upgrading Dish System

Discussion in 'DISH SETUP: Single sat, Multi-Sat & Motorised' started by The Rascals, Mar 25, 2017.

  1. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    Good Night Folks
    Finally went for a Laminas OFC1200 with the az-el mount as I feel more comfortable
    working with diseqc at the moment, I actually bought 2 of these as the shipping cost
    to Ireland was the same as if I bought 1.
    I will use the second one to maybe experiment with c-band(don't all go WHAT) there is
    not many satellites in c-band with a 1.2M but at least I will dip my toe into c-band and get
    a feel for it.
    Next question: what LNB works best for the OFC1200 for Ku and c-band that has at minimum
    of twin output.
    Great group of people here, and thanks to everybody for their help
    Regards

    The Rascals
     
    Chris1979 likes this.
  2. sonnetpete

    sonnetpete Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6,759
    Likes Received:
    2,604
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    Normandy, France
    I tried one or two LNB's for KU on my Laminas and found the Black Ultra to be the best. I didn't try the twin output however. I haven't tried C band on it, though I did experiment with a C band LNB on a 1 metre Gibertini and got a couple of satellites, so using the Laminas may not be such a silly idea.
     
    The Rascals likes this.
  3. lovelyperson

    lovelyperson Dreamer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alicante, España
    My Satellite Setup:
    2.0m PF dish
    1.8m PF Famaval
    1.8m PF Marrafa
    1.2m dish + Stab HH120
    1.0m dish fixed 19.2ºE(Canal+ Spain etc)
    TBS 5925 USB
    TM5502, TM5402 mk3
    60.0ºE - 63.0ºW
    My Location:
    Alicante, España
    Good man.....join the club........and we know what comes next when you ''dip my toe'' with C-band. :D:D

    Enjoy your weekend. respect-048.gif
     
    John likes this.
  4. pontiend

    pontiend senile member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,108
    Likes Received:
    2,726
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See Signature
    My Location:
    south yorkshire
    I have been messing with C Band on and off for a couple of weeks now. I am getting some transponders with a 100cm dish.Still experimenting.A lot of fiddling to do changing plate etc.Not had much time to catalog them yet.Just typed these this morning.
    10 East
    3677 Right 1083 3/5 8PSK CCM
    3819 Right 3473 3/4 32 APSK ACM
    3648 Right 20158 2/3 QPSK2 CCM
    3829 Left 10337 4/5 QPSK2 ACM
    3862 Left 2167 3/4 32 APSK ACM
    3986 Left 29298 3/4 32 APSK ACM
     
    Pipedream and Chris1979 like this.
  5. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    Hi All
    Just started painting the outside of the house, garden wall and patio to be done also, hopefully I will
    have the job done (it will take about 50Lt of paint) before the Laminas OFC1200's arrive
    Thanks for the help and sonnetpete for the Ku Lnb anbody with C-Band Lnb experience on a OFC1200
     
  6. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    My 2 Laminas OFC1200 have now arrived in Dublin port from Poland, so should have them in a day or so, it sometimes takes longer
    to get from Dublin to Cork than across Europe.
     
  7. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Модератор Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,495
    Likes Received:
    6,513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    North Somerset
    It takes longer for an item to get from London to Bristol than it does from US to UK...
     
    The Rascals likes this.
  8. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    My new Laminas OFC1200 arrived yesterday, packaging damaged and face down on the back of a truck, despite
    symbols and stickers saying keep it vertical (the usual courier story "I know noooothing") but both look all OK
    when unwrapped.
    My other courier for my HH120 stab motors and LNB's know it arrived in Ireland but as of now it is in the "Unknown Zone"
    as this weekend is a Bank Holiday in Ireland, next Tuesday the mystery may end, and the boy can start getting all his toys
    connected together and working.
     
    st1, nelson_b and Lazarus like this.
  9. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    Got to work today on my new kit as the HH120 motors and ultra black LNB's arrived this morning.
    As I am replacing motor and dish so all had to come down to get the new kit up, got the HH120 mounted
    and set the usual parameter (Latitude) assembly my OFC1200 and put a twin Black Ultra on it,
    mounted this on motor and aligned this with 8W my nearest due south satellite.
    Before I took down the old kit I had my Clarke-Tech tune to the Test Card on this satellite.
    There was no signal to be had (I take the TV (LG 43") and the Clarke-Tech receiver outdoors so I can
    see the signal my self, rather that the lady of the manor shouting through windows) despite moving
    it slightly east/west- up/down.
    Took OFC1200 down from roof again and tried it ground level still nothing, connected my old dish and lnb
    to receiver and test card there, made up new cable from Ultra Lnb on OFC1200 and conned to receiver,
    and tested at ground level, test card now present, a lot of choice words spoken (I will keep that priest busy
    if I go to confession) two hours wasted with a dud cable.
    Went back up on the roof and aligned again , yippie i a, yippie i o, test card on my LG, the sight of that
    test card make satellite junkies like me almost cry, did a few course adjustments as it was getting dark
    and tomorrow I will do a bit of fine tweeking.
    Did a blind scan on 8W, normally only get 3 channels with my Joe Blogs 1M dish, now I had 112,
    so a very good day's results was had, I must now blind scan all the other satellite positions and see
    what new world I will be able to see.
     
    4wd, st1, Tony1A and 6 others like this.
  10. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Модератор Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,495
    Likes Received:
    6,513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    See signature
    My Location:
    North Somerset
    Pictures please!
     
    Chris1979 and John like this.
  11. st1

    st1 SMC-dish aficionado

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    2,346
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Mostly SMC dishes pointing at 28.2E
    My Location:
    Nordsjælland, Denmark
    Excellent stuff... Congratulations!
     
  12. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    Thanks to everybody for the likes, I hope that my saga was not too long.
    Captain Jack, picture will be done over weekend, when it will all look nice and pretty
    not with cables everywhere like a bombed out power station in Iraq.
    Have now got Amos 3/7 at 4W and Nilesat at 7W (not all the tps on these sats just
    the stronger ones) as never had these before, I am now working my way east on
    the satellite list arc, as I am typing this I'm blind scanning Thor at 1 W.
    Scan just finished , have a look at this, 10715Ghz(H) 24498Ms ID = CDK_N with NETFLIX
    are they going by sat now.
    The HH120 motor is a dream compared to that Technomate 2600, yes it it slower but you
    have a fine nudge level and it is much quiter.
    I think I will swap out the twin Ultra Black for a quad version as I just got my hands on
    a Freesat V8 Super, and a TeVii S482 DVB-S2 pcie card, so I should be able to send a
    snapshop of my feeds etc with my post.
    The second OFC1200 is still not assembled as I am going to see if I can get a twin output
    C-Band LNB that would fit this dish.
     
    Chris1979 and Lazarus like this.
  13. PaulR

    PaulR Dazed and Confused Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    15,040
    Likes Received:
    2,822
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    --------See sig--------
    My Location:
    Wirral, NW UK and Vaucluse, France.
    At "only" three pages long you're a long way off that particular prize.

    Good story and looking forward to the photos.
     
  14. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    Raining here at the moment, so cant dolly up the dish for the photoshoot on page 3 of Satellite Dish exposed.
    One difference I see that there is less "bleedover" from 9E on a 10E scan as the beam with on the dish is less
     
  15. dxhound2003

    dxhound2003 Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My Satellite Setup:
    Az Box Premium.
    Triax 110 cm dish motorised.
    Black Ultra LNB. Nov 2011 DrD F15.
    My Location:
    Dundalk Ireland
    I can only get one transponder on the MENA beam on 8 West. 10971 V 27500 with the Al Jazeera channels very weak. The 3 channels on the European beam are strong. Maybe being further south than me gets you more, but is there a possibility that they are from 7 West? I had over 100 channels from 7 West at various times, but usually only a couple of transponders.

    Another test you could try is the Nordic beam on 4.9 East. I get one transponder very weak 11862 V 27500. Sometimes there are weak signals on a few other Vertical transponders. Being further south might be a disadvantage in this case.
     
    Lazarus likes this.
  16. st1

    st1 SMC-dish aficionado

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    2,346
    Trophy Points:
    113
    My Satellite Setup:
    Mostly SMC dishes pointing at 28.2E
    My Location:
    Nordsjælland, Denmark
    Point 1: You may be able to topimise performance even more. I seem to remember a member of This Forum (@Trust1?)who found out that the LNB holder of the OFC-1200 was not pointing the LNB at the sweet-spot of the dish. If you tilted the LNB slightly downwards, you could get even more performance from the LNB.
    Point 2: You will struggle to find a C-band LNB that will fit the 40mm holder from Laminas. Instead you will need to either "side-load" a Ku-band LNB with a suitable C-band one using clamps (plenty of threads elsewhere on this site), or manufacture a C-band holder from scratch. If you go for a Titanium Satellite LNB, they can also provide a generic C-band holder that could be adapted if the fee arm is adapted as well...
    (Or make you own feed-arms - I know @RimaNTSS would advocate this option!)
     
    The Rascals and RimaNTSS like this.
  17. Trust1

    Trust1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    93
    My Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    @dxhound2003 ,at the type with the plastic feedarm which is provided for 40 mm lnb's , the lnb is pointing to high in the dish .
    The signal increases when the lnb is pointing a bit lower but you also have to make the side arms a bit longer to keep the correct focal lenght .
    I made a lnb tilter for those feedarm .

    lnb tilter.jpg

    A 63 mm C-band lnbf (there are no other beside Corotors) wont fit in a proper way at that feedarm .
     
    The Rascals and st1 like this.
  18. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    To dxhound2003: I have Helm Alshabab TV 11012Ghz(H), Iraq Future TV 11095Ghz(H), Marjaeyat 2 11178Ghz(H) plus more all on
    8W, and I crossed check on Flysat against 7W so all good there.
    To st1 and Trust 1, thanks for the info.
    I recon a re-alignment must be done as channels east of 39 are breaking up, west to 34.5 there is no problem, so tomorrow we will
    have to go outdoors again weather permitting and do a bit of tweeking, and then we will experiment with LNB twitching, as st1/Trust 1
    has mentioned.
    Until it is fine tuned like myself, then the dish photos will be done
     
    dxhound2003 likes this.
  19. Trust1

    Trust1 Specialist Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    1,164
    Trophy Points:
    93
    My Location:
    Nijmegen Netherlands
    Also you have to correct the dish elevation after changing the lnb position , but I guess you know that .
     
  20. The Rascals

    The Rascals Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Satellite Setup:
    Clarke-Tech 5100C, 1M Dish
    My Location:
    Cork
    Hi Folks, just spent 5Hrs trying to tweek this system, Dish was low in the east and slightly high in the west, no problem, or so I thought,
    swing the whole system including motor slight to the west, realigned my 8W south satellite again, dish still low in the east, even at 16E
    and duly getting worst as you move east. I wonder is my HH120 motor not counting correctly, as when I am on 39E it shows roughly on
    it markings 54E, thats still 7 Deg of a difference. If I increase the height of the dish for 39E it is then too high for 8W.
    I would appreciate any info/guide, just for information I have installed my motorised systems myself since the 36V HH were out.
     

Share This Page

Click here to support our sponsors