°

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Anyone else wish the standard keyboard had a degree ° symbol on it? I realise not many people need it but in our hobby it would be quite useful....

On a PC you can get it by holding down the alt key and on the numeric keypad type 0176. When you release the alt key a ° will appear.

PS. Do I win a prize for one of the shortest (and hard to click) thread titles? :D
 

skomedal

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
2,108
Reaction score
2,112
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
This and that
My Location
thule
Nice find:-applause

Regards
 

Topper

Amo Amas Amant Admin
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
24,002
Reaction score
4,019
Points
113
Age
70
My Satellite Setup
Has gone to a good home elsewhere
My Location
Blackburn, Lancashire
Should confuse the bots that is for sure
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
It's included on a French (AZERTY) keyboard, accessed via ) and shift....sadly I'm not using a French laptop so can't demonstrate...
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
It's included on a French (AZERTY) keyboard, accessed via ) and shift....sadly I'm not using a French laptop so can't demonstrate...
The few times I've had to use a French keyboard was quite frustrating. Even if it does have a ° I don't think I'll bother changing my UK keyboard for it...
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,315
Reaction score
1,631
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
░ °

Oh yes.:) If you just type alt 176, the first thing is what you get. :)
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
And what about the Mac?
 

Captain Jack

Retired human
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,832
Reaction score
8,018
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°°

:D
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Retired Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,954
Reaction score
3,497
Points
113
Age
73
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
The few times I've had to use a French keyboard was quite frustrating

Oh, you should try swapping between it and a UK one fairly regularly....it's annoying with a capital F...
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
iPhone and iPads are easy, just hold down the 0 (zero) and a ° option will pop up.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Yep, I use the alt key and numeric keypad for some of the Spanish Accents.
I have before now used the copy and paste for degree symbol. Nice tool ;)
 

aceb

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
842
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Prof Tuner 7301 /
1.25m Gibertini + Inverto B.Ultra/C1W, Moteck H180, 68.5E-67W Ku/C-Band /
1.8m Precision PF + ESX241/Inverto Black Pro, 66E-63W Ku/C-band /
2.4m Fortec Star+Titanium C1W/Pride plate, 49E-58W
My Location
Sussex
On a PC you can get it by holding down the alt key and on the numeric keypad type 0176.
I've always used the alt key and 248 °° Nope, no difference, same result.
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Yep, I use the alt key and numeric keypad for some of the Spanish Accents.
I have before now used the copy and paste for degree symbol. Nice tool ;)
I sometimes just copy and paste too, usually after a quick google of the word degree.

Oh, you should try swapping between it and a UK one fairly regularly....it's annoying with a capital F...
Luckily I use the Scandinavian keyboard more often and that's reasonably similar to the UK version (just a few of the symbols are moved about) so I can remember the layout.
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,105
Reaction score
8,687
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
I've always used the alt key and 248 °° Nope, no difference, same result.


Maybe yours is Celsius and the other is Kelvin? :-lol:-doh
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
I've always used the alt key and 248 °° Nope, no difference, same result.
I saw that mentioned on a few pages but I couldn't get it to work (it's not easy on my keyboard as it has no proper numeric keypad so I need about 4 fingers to type this silly symbol).

This is what I get with alt-248: ◘
Maybe it doesn't work in Firefox?
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
iPhone and iPads are easy, just hold down the 0 (zero) and a ° option will pop up.
Just discovered this works with Windows Phone 8.1 as well.
 
Top