1.8 dish help needed please

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
i have had a 80 cm dish for over a year and have just brought a 1.8 merte dish so i can pick up nilesat i live in portsmouth have done some reading and some post say i might struggle to pick up nilesat can some please help.
 

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
What make dish is it? What lnb and feed are you using?
 

johnwilliam1

Regular Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2005
Messages
147
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Age
53
My Satellite Setup
technomate 1500
strong 4375
pace digi box
triax 1.1, triax 88cm
My Location
UK.
red rum,


when i had a 1.6mtr dish i got the verticals and thats from hartlepool in the north east, so realy you should pick it up, possibly the horizontals as well
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,080
Reaction score
9,813
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
At a guess its one of the 99 quid Maplin dishes. (Horribly low quality and have a nasty tendency to buckle in winter storms!)
 

rolfw

Believe it when I see it Admin.
Staff member
Joined
May 1, 1999
Messages
38,089
Reaction score
1,456
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Technomate 5402 HD M2 Ci, DM7000s, Transparent 80cm Dish, Moteck SG2100 DiseqC motor, lots of legacy gear. Meters: Satlook Digital NIT, Promax HD Ranger+ spectrum analyser.
My Location
Berkshire
Well if it is, then spend a few hours assembling the reflector, ideall on a very flat floor surface, one of our members RD100 has managed to get one to perform reasonably, but said that setup is crucial. The dish is i believed supplied with a standard LNBF, a C120 and feedhorn would probably produce better results.

If it isn't, would be interesting to know which brand it is. :)
 

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
it is a IRTE s.p.a made in italy i have order a c120 and a feedhorn and a v box 2 as the dish and moter is very old have been told this is what i need hopeing to get tomorrow to start geting it setup just hopeing it is big enough for nilesat so i can get the football cheers redrum
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,033
Reaction score
382
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Look forward to reading the results Redrum, although I had the impression it was going to be a fixed system.... don't know where that came from :D
 

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
yes mate will let you know hope quite soon have you heard of the dish.
cheers redrum
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
redrum said:
it is a IRTE s.p.a made in italy i have order a c120 and a feedhorn and a v box 2 as the dish and moter is very old have been told this is what i need hopeing to get tomorrow to start geting it setup just hopeing it is big enough for nilesat so i can get the football cheers redrum

on the feedhorn did you buy an adjustable one so you can get the best setting for the dish, the invacom feedhorn is a good one.

if the motor is an actuator then you might need to change it for a new one.
 

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
not to sure want i have ordered.the motor is a superjack ll +
 

wod

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
4,213
Reaction score
235
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1m channel master, jaeger smr1224, Inverto black ultra twin, technomate tm-1500ci, broken receiver vantage x221ci, New additions Skybox F5s and technomate tm-5402 HD arriving soon.
My Location
yorkshire
the motor should look like this if the dish uses a polar mount
 

Attachments

  • Actuator%2012-18.jpg
    Actuator%2012-18.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 31

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
The IRTE is a very good dish. There is a matched feed horn for the IRTE, see if you can get hold of one. It will perform much better with the matched feed.


-http://www.irte.it/I/a_csat.htm
 

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
yes wod it does look like that won when rain stops will try and set up let you know how i get on
 

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
set my 1.8 dish up and have pick up nilesat got all the showtime channels and sports channels signal strength is between 45 and 65 so i thing when it rains might not get a picture.
 

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
What feed horn did you use?
 

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
not to sure but dont thing i change the feed horn just but the c120 on.
i im bretty new had this so my sound a bit thick.my next thing is to get a viewing card or keys what is my best option look for key and could only find old one so i am guessing they dont come up very often can someone help.
 

CROSSBONES

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
2,003
Reaction score
187
Points
63
My Satellite Setup
1.2m channel master on a jeager 1224 motor. 55cm fibo Gregorian. VU solo2.
My Location
S.Wales
So What feed horn did you use with the C120 lnb?

Regarding the keys, just use the latest patch for your Technomate;)

Dont you use a spell checker?:-rofl2;)
 

redrum

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
My Satellite Setup
techonmate 1500 ci+with 80 dish just got 1.8metre to but up hopeing to get nilsat for football
My Location
portsmouth
I'm using the original feed horn that came with the dish.

That's why I don't leave many posts as spelling and grammar not my strong points. (I get the wife to do it when she's about!)
 

renibacterium

Member
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
60
Reaction score
13
Points
8
Website
Visit site
You will have no problem in Portsmouth getting the horizontal channels on 7 W with a 1.8m IRTE dish. I am in S W England and have a 2.0m IRTE and get all the horizontal channels.
 
Top