1st time install of a Sky+ box.

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,756
Reaction score
3,370
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
So, I took my car to have the bottom ball joints changed and in chatting to the (english) mechanic he said was having problems with his sat dish. I think it was the original one from the last French occupants, as it's fitted with a 3° monoblock. He's tried to align it himself but can't get above 40% quality on the French receiver he's using. Anyway, in an exchange of labour costs I've offered to align his dish, swap out the monoblock for a new single LNB he has and install his Sky+ box. (He's replacing the nearside ball joint on my car for free) :):)

Thing is, I haven't installed a Sky+ box before. Is there an installers menu to find and does anyone have a few tips? Or is it just as straightforward as plugging in and switching on? (I don't think he has a subscription) Will the fact he's using a single LNB complicate matters? (obviously he can't use the PVR feature to it's full extent)
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,034
Reaction score
383
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
East Midlands, UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
As long as you are seeing 28e the box should boot and load. Using a single LNb won't complicate matters, these receivers don't have DiSEqC control.

If using the signal screen, look out for 0002, stream 07d4.

P.S... put him in a new cable feed as well, you might be able to blag an off-side ball joint too :-rofl2
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,632
Reaction score
8,324
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Have they dropped the £10 recording tax for no (or lapsed) subs yet?

ie Can he use the PVR at all, notwithstanding the feed limitation?
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,756
Reaction score
3,370
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
satelliteman said:
P.S... put him in a new cable feed as well, you might be able to blag an off-side ball joint too :-rofl2

Nah, he's just replaced that but was going to do both until the nearside bush refused to come off, so it needs cutting off and he'll have to order one. Still not costing me any labour though.

@Tivù : Not sure about the recording tax but he's adamant he doesn't need to record anything (which begs the question, why a Sky+ box?).
 

Lazarus

Tout Rond Bon Oeuf
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
26,632
Reaction score
8,324
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Ah, ok: I was a little worried you'd have an angry mechanic wielding a self-grip wench (sic.) in your general direction.
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,331
Reaction score
9,953
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Tivù said:
Have they dropped the £10 recording tax for no (or lapsed) subs yet?

ie Can he use the PVR at all, notwithstanding the feed limitation?

Nope - its still required.

In the medium long term suggest a Freesat PVR to them sp

Oh and if its an old Thomson or Amstrad remind them them power supplies tend to self destruct.....
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,756
Reaction score
3,370
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Analoguesat said:
In the medium long term suggest a Freesat PVR to them sp

Oh and if its an old Thomson or Amstrad remind them them power supplies tend to self destruct.....

It's new and boxed and though I couldn't see which brand it was, it should last them a while (at least till I drive away). ;)
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,756
Reaction score
3,370
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
A quick update. Realigned the dish, fitted a twin LNB (for which he'd provided a second feed) and installed his Sly+ box. He'd bought two from Fleabay, which was just as well as the first one I tried refused to boot and had a permanent red light. Is that terminal or does it just require a cold start after a rest of 10 minutes or so?
 

smoggy07

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
945
Reaction score
384
Points
63
Age
38
My Satellite Setup
Sky minidish and Sky + HD 250gig Anytime+ box with full ish appart from sports and movies, Dreambox DM500s clone (Pli Jade3 max var F/W), Motorised 1.1Meter Dish
My Location
middlesbrough, teesside, northeast coast, uk
sonnetpete said:
A quick update. Realigned the dish, fitted a twin LNB (for which he'd provided a second feed) and installed his Sly+ box. He'd bought two from Fleabay, which was just as well as the first one I tried refused to boot and had a permanent red light. Is that terminal or does it just require a cold start after a rest of 10 minutes or so?

Leave it ten mins then try the sky button on the remote
 

sonnetpete

Grumpy Old Moderator and quiz inquisitor..
Staff member
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
8,756
Reaction score
3,370
Points
113
Age
71
Website
wordpress.com
My Satellite Setup
Laminas 1.2M fibre dish with an IBU, on a Clarke Tech USALS motor, covering 57E - 24.5W to an Octagon SX88. Displayed on a 20" Dyon LED TV.

Seperate 80 cm dish on 28E with a Humax Freesat for SWMBO.
Free Sat V8 meter. Sony Bravia 46" LCD, Sony BluRay and Home Cinema.
My Location
Normandy, France
Thanks for that, I'll let him know.
 
Top