2 trps on Astra 2A or Eut 28A?

satesco

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
2,031
Reaction score
2,848
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
seven antennas,one toroidal with 16 lnbs,
6 satellite receivers,2 Meters,9 PC cards(tbs6983,6903,6590,6504,6522,6209,2603,6909X,6903X,6902se,skystar hd2),2 tuners usb-tbs5927 & tbs5925,Skystar HD.
Satellite reception between 100.5E-50.0W
My Location
Romania
Two transponders(Data) were turned on Astra 2A at 28.2E:11603 V,29500,3/4,weak signal,from northern european spot and 11680 V,27500,2/3,strong signal,from southern european spot.Could also be from Eutelsat 28.5 E?
 

Attachments

  • 28e 11680v.jpg
    28e 11680v.jpg
    231.7 KB · Views: 118
  • 11603 V-29500,data test.jpg
    11603 V-29500,data test.jpg
    216.9 KB · Views: 115

BlindFaith

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
639
Reaction score
309
Points
63
Age
43
My Satellite Setup
-
120cm Echostar and 70cm (2nd location)
TBS 5925
My Location
52,0°N, 4,3°E and 52,5°N, 13,4°E
Same difference in signal strength here. Both transmit a broken transport stream.
 

Attachments

  • Snap145.png
    Snap145.png
    178.3 KB · Views: 92
  • Snap144.png
    Snap144.png
    168.1 KB · Views: 96

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
It's Eutelsat 28A.
Astra 2A can't do these frequencies, also they are not in Astra's transponder grid.
 

satesco

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
2,031
Reaction score
2,848
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
seven antennas,one toroidal with 16 lnbs,
6 satellite receivers,2 Meters,9 PC cards(tbs6983,6903,6590,6504,6522,6209,2603,6909X,6903X,6902se,skystar hd2),2 tuners usb-tbs5927 & tbs5925,Skystar HD.
Satellite reception between 100.5E-50.0W
My Location
Romania
A transponder-11684 V,27500,2/3- has been activated and has TV/Radio channles.The other-11605 V is still in the tests.
 

Attachments

  • 11684 V-28.5E.jpg
    11684 V-28.5E.jpg
    538.9 KB · Views: 80
  • 11605 V test carriers-28.2E.jpg
    11605 V test carriers-28.2E.jpg
    202.9 KB · Views: 77

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
11605 V is SR 29.5, FEC 3/4, DVB-S2 QPSK, Pilot off and now carries a copy of 12574 H (BT Sport 1 & 2 HD and ESPN HD)

Has anyone worked out where these are coming from yet? It can't be 2A.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
Again the frequency is in Eutelsat's grid of 33 MHz transponders (11604 V center freq.).
The other candidates Astra 2E/2F are just 26 MHz and in different grid.
So Eutelsat 28A again.
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Again the frequency is in Eutelsat's grid of 33 MHz transponders (11604 V center freq.).
The other candidates Astra 2E/2F are just 26 MHz and in different grid.
So Eutelsat 28A again.
Oops sorry, yes, I didn't read your other post properly. 28A seems the most likely option but it's just odd that Eutelsat are using this band again when it wasn't that long ago it was predicted 28A would be shutting down/failing completely. Perhaps it's just until 2G is launched.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
Pretty high power compared to 11200-11450 but based on skew I would agree this is Eutelsat.
 

hvdh

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
2,371
Reaction score
3,357
Points
113
Age
60
Website
gso-satellites.nl
My Satellite Setup
Dr.HD F16, TBS 5927, T-55, Laminas 120 cm
My Location
Oss, NL (5.5°E 51.8°N)
Now 11604 V 29500 3/4 and 11681 V 27500 2/3 are really in use.
The parallel Astra 2F transponders 12574H and 12581V were switched off.
 

C0re

Specialist contributor
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
463
Reaction score
121
Points
43
Age
43
Location
Ede
My Satellite Setup
Technisat Multytenne 28/23/19/13 E
VU+ Solo SE
My Location
Gelderland, The Netherlands
Am I the only one thinking this is a bit strange. This part of the spectrum is in the hands of SES since Octorber last year.
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Am I the only one thinking this is a bit strange. This part of the spectrum is in the hands of SES since Octorber last year.
No, it's not just you!!

Interesting that the two reactivated transponders fall very closely into the SES frequency pattern, but probably just a co-incidence as the symbol rate and FEC would need to change anyway once an Astra craft takes over.
 

C0re

Specialist contributor
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
463
Reaction score
121
Points
43
Age
43
Location
Ede
My Satellite Setup
Technisat Multytenne 28/23/19/13 E
VU+ Solo SE
My Location
Gelderland, The Netherlands
EDIT the 2C doesn't have capacity in that band.
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Maybe the 2C takes over when it arrives?
Maybe, but not in this frequency range. They would need to clear out some of the 2E and 2A transponders and do some major switching again.
 

C0re

Specialist contributor
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
463
Reaction score
121
Points
43
Age
43
Location
Ede
My Satellite Setup
Technisat Multytenne 28/23/19/13 E
VU+ Solo SE
My Location
Gelderland, The Netherlands
Does 2A, 2E or 2F cover that frequency range?
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Does 2A, 2E or 2F cover that frequency range?
Not 2A or 2C. Only 2E and 2F (plus 2G) could cover the 11.45-11.7GHz range.

If 2C is coming back into use at 28.2E it can only realistically do transponder 1-24 (11.7-12.17GHz)
 

C0re

Specialist contributor
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
463
Reaction score
121
Points
43
Age
43
Location
Ede
My Satellite Setup
Technisat Multytenne 28/23/19/13 E
VU+ Solo SE
My Location
Gelderland, The Netherlands
Interesting to see whether major switching will take place with the arrival of the 2C.
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Interesting to see whether major switching will take place with the arrival of the 2C.

Yes indeed, there's 9 x 2E transponders, 12 x 2A transponders and 3 empty transponders that could potentially move to 2C.

Then there are still 10 x 2A transponders outside of the range of 2C that presumably need to go somewhere eventually, depending on how long 2A will stick around. Plus we now have these Eutelsat 28A transponders...
 

gibertini

Regular Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2013
Messages
479
Reaction score
337
Points
63
Location
up north
My Satellite Setup
DM800HDSE SIM 2.10 80CM ORBITAL FIXED@28.2E
My Location
53.6N 2.4W
If 2C is coming back into use at 28.2E it can only realistically do transponder 1-24 (11.7-12.17GHz)

why do SES/ASTRA limit the spacecraft like this! if they made them 10.7 to 12.75 capable then all craft could be moved and back up each other ect.. is it just a cost issue or is there more to it?
 

timo_w2s

Retired moderator
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,360
Reaction score
2,885
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
Vu+ Duo 4K SE
Dr.HD F15
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
why do SES/ASTRA limit the spacecraft like this! if they made them 10.7 to 12.75 capable then all craft could be moved and back up each other ect.. is it just a cost issue or is there more to it?
The new birds are much more flexible but maybe back in <2000 it wasn't so easy to make wideband birds.
 

Huevos

Satellite Freak
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
6,038
Reaction score
1,277
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
57E to 58W, C-band and Ku, DVB-S2, 4:2:2 and blindscan.
My Location
38.5ºN, 0.5ºW
why do SES/ASTRA limit the spacecraft like this! if they made them 10.7 to 12.75 capable then all craft could be moved and back up each other ect.. is it just a cost issue or is there more to it?
Because they are made to a budget.
 
Top