26E Badr 5 and Badr 6 in Denmark

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
64
Reaction score
5
Points
8
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
Hello guys
I already get signal from badr 4 on my 110 cm dish.
Can I receive signal from badr 5 in the same time?
 

satelliteman

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
12,039
Reaction score
387
Points
83
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
Northants, Midlands UK & Lanzarote, Canary Islands
A

archive10

Guest
Hello guys
I already get signal from badr 4 on my 110 cm dish.
Can I receive signal from badr 5 in the same time?
Yes, sats are in the same place (almost :cool:).
If your setup (Dish, LNB, cabling) is signal optimised, and you don't get any BADR 5 channels, your dish is too small.
According to the footprint at satbeams.com, I would guess we are even further from the beams than the Guys in the UK, so we'd proably need a 1.8 meter or similar.

Couple of years ago, i did try to do some "hand-held" LNB-Work by holding an LNB NeXT to the LNB on my 1.8 meter, but I couldn't seem to find a proper mecahnical position that gave anything from 26E (as we discussed in another thread, there is very Little separation between 26E and 28.2E). The Channel Master feed holder design is not good for this.

When the weather improves, I might be tempted to modify the feed support arms, and see if I cam get anything off 26E. I'll post any findings.
 

Mike Wylds

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
150cm 30w TO 36e Polar Mount , KU and C Band
80cm Multi LNB 39e,33e,28e,23,5e,21.6e,19e
My Location
West London
I have a 150cm dish in london and can only get two transponeder from Badr 5.
Badr 4 24/7 on all transponders and Badr 6 most transponders over 12 hrs a day.
11227 V 27500 - Signal goes up and down all day. Only locks for about 12 hrs a day.
11108v 2200 feed. Signal is strong when up.
 

Dia M2030

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
64
Reaction score
5
Points
8
Age
54
My Satellite Setup
Yahsat
My Location
Denmark
11227 V 27500 - Signal goes up and down all day. Only locks for about 12 hrs a day.
11108v 2200 feed. Signal is strong when up.[/QUOTE]

Do you think, can I get these two transponder from Badr 5 either with mu dish?
 

Mike Wylds

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Age
51
My Satellite Setup
150cm 30w TO 36e Polar Mount , KU and C Band
80cm Multi LNB 39e,33e,28e,23,5e,21.6e,19e
My Location
West London
Not a chance with a 110cm dish that far north.
It might be possible with a 1.8M dish in Demark but you will have the find some local reports for badr 5 reception in Denmark.
 

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,229
Reaction score
12,292
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex
I occasionally get feeds from Badr-5 with my 100cm set up in the 10.950 to 11.200 part of the Ku band
11112 V 2200 Service 1 today was active about 30 min ago.

No DTH here from Badr-5 & 6,
Badr-4 DTH & feeds received here in the east of England.
 
Last edited:

william-1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
12,229
Reaction score
12,292
Points
113
Location
Epping Forest
My Satellite Setup
OP Gibertini 100 XP+ Inverto Black Ultra Lnb
Superior Dark Motor (160° max)
(50 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+Optima (A/B switch) Edision primo IP S2

Raven 88cm Mesh Dish + IBU Twin output
Stab100 H to H (120° max)
(53 east to 45 west)
Octagon SX88+ Ultra HD (A/B switch) Golden Interstar Alpha_X
My Location
Epping Forest Essex

solly

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Messages
6,506
Reaction score
3,757
Points
113
Age
54
My Location
Tel Aviv, Israel
Alarab News Channel HD
11938 V
DVB-S/MPEG-4
HEVC/UHD
DVB-S/HEVC 27500 3/4
 
A

archive10

Guest
Not a chance with a 110cm dish that far north.
It might be possible with a 1.8M dish in Demark but you will have the find some local reports for badr 5 reception in Denmark.
I'm afraid a 180cm is not enough.

Tried 26E earlier tonight on the CM180.

Wanted to re-align 28.2E after 4 years (and several sat changes), so I figured might just try 26E without having to loosen the main pipe fastening bolts on the CM180 mount, just the fine adjustment ones...
Moved the dish to 26E, and adjusted on BADR4.

Got BADR4 fine - all transponders coming in well.
BADR5 and 6 is quite different story - not much coming through. At all. In fact, nothing...

Yes, I see the signal humps on the spectrum scan, and I do see a couple of dBs on the meter, but nothing decodable.

Tried the following transponders:

(freq - power - C/N)

BADR4:

11996H - 74,4 dBuV - 13,1 dB
12015V - 75,1 dBuV - 11,6 dB
12523H - 72,5 dBuV - 13,1 dB
12683V - 76,5 dBuV - 12,1 dB

BADR 6

11785V - 61,6 dBuV - 3,4 dB
11843H - 60,7 dBuV - 2,9 dB
12456H - 60,0 dBuV - 1,5 dB

(I had trouble convincing the ProMax to receive Badr 5 - it wouldn't allow me to enter the frequencies I wanted. Probably a settings thing; but I will have to figure it out before continuing...)

So all-in-all: BADR5/6 in Denmark? No, not even on a 180 cm dish. Maybe on a 240, but probably not until you get to 370 or over.
 
Top