2E back to southern Portugal?

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
I have all the FTA channels on 2E UK spot beam back today!
No signal on 2F spot beam.
Something very bizarre is happening...
Did something happen to 2E and a backup is being used?
 

Lazarus

Retired Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
27,101
Reaction score
8,686
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
80cm Motorised.
Several small Dishes.
Much else.
My Location
North York Moors
Don't think so .................. yours is the only anomalous report across the Forums I frequent.

Enjoy it while you can!
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
The only backup for 2E UK spots is 2C Europe beam and I think it that was in use we'd have heard from a few more people...
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
I just noticed this now.
I'm quite sure that yesterday this was not happening.
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
The signal is marginal with my 3.1m antenna.
STV transponder is now gone.
I suppose this was a marginal change in the satellite position that may have improved the signal on the ground over this area.
I doubt that with normal dish sizes people will notice any change.
 
A

archive10

Guest
I see yours is motorised, but mostly aimed at 28.2E.
What is your skew? 28.2 generally has a different skew than everything else (as I am sure you know).
Are you optimised for 28.2, or could you squeeze out half a dB by fiddling with the skew?
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
It is optimised for 28.2E
But probably some fine tuning for 2E is needed now...
More transponders breaking up now....
But this is a first since 2E entered service.
I never had a signal lock before!
 

timo_w2s

Retired Mod
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
4,359
Reaction score
2,883
Points
113
Website
www.timo.me.uk
My Satellite Setup
See Signature
My Location
Maidenhead, UK & Helsinki, Finland
Since Astra 2E is at 28.3E I assume you've nudged it slightly further east than when it was optimised for 1N at 28.2E?
 

dxn

Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
105
Reaction score
30
Points
28
Age
45
Location
Estoril - Portugal
My Satellite Setup
Prime-focus 2,10m, 0,2 LNB Black Inverto, TBS6983 dvbcard, Octagon SF4008 4K,
Dreambox7020HD, NOS cable 200mb, Tivusat, TDTsat Spain, TDT Portugal.
My Location
Estoril - Portugal
I have all the FTA channels on 2E UK spot beam back today!
No signal on 2F spot beam.
Something very bizarre is happening...
Did something happen to 2E and a backup is being used?

Have to check this later. That's great news :)
 
Last edited:

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
When I left home this morning everything was watchable.
Some light breakup on the STV transponder.
I also suspect this could be due to the weather conditions this week (quite abnormal for this time of the year)
 

jleal

jleal
Joined
Apr 1, 2003
Messages
179
Reaction score
16
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
NACI5700, 800HD, relook 400s, Dream500, SS1, SS2HD with motorised 1.8PF and T90 toroidal
My Location
Portugal
I don't know if you already seen this thread

http://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/threads/astra-2e.162862/

Things have been improving here since I first noticed I had some signal in some transponders. I don't know if it is related to the hot weather (30ºC!!!) or the time of year but I've been having improvements in signal and the amount of time channels are up.
Right now I have perfect pixellation free BBC one, Two, Four, ITV1, 2, 4, all Channel Fours including more 4, film4 and E4 and also ITV3 wich is now almost pixelattion free and I have some signal now with sound on bbc three. A few weeks ago bbc three and ITV3 were almost with no signal.

Do you have the HD channels on 2E beam? I don't have any.
No signal also on 2F but sometimes theres a little amount showing up on the Channel5 transponder but no lock yet.

My soon to be 2.3m dish is not here yet, so this is all with a PF 1.8m in the obidos/caldas area.
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
Since Astra 2E is at 28.3E I assume you've nudged it slightly further east than when it was optimised for 1N at 28.2E?
Not really. I already had tried to optimize it after 2E was in service (without success on the UK Spot beam).
And as it is motorized I can always try to do move it East/West to optimize reception
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
I don't know if you already seen this thread

http://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/threads/astra-2e.162862/

Things have been improving here since I first noticed I had some signal in some transponders. I don't know if it is related to the hot weather (30ºC!!!) or the time of year but I've been having improvements in signal and the amount of time channels are up.
Right now I have perfect pixellation free BBC one, Two, Four, ITV1, 2, 4, all Channel Fours including more 4, film4 and E4 and also ITV3 wich is now almost pixelattion free and I have some signal now with sound on bbc three. A few weeks ago bbc three and ITV3 were almost with no signal.

Do you have the HD channels on 2E beam? I don't have any.
No signal also on 2F but sometimes theres a little amount showing up on the Channel5 transponder but no lock yet.

My soon to be 2.3m dish is not here yet, so this is all with a PF 1.8m in the obidos/caldas area.

Thanks for the link to that discussion. I had not seen it yet.
In my case I just noticed the 2E channels comming up yesterday.
This seems to confirm a trend in increasing signal strenght of 2E over this area.
I suppose that this may be temporary either due to favorable propagation conditions or due to a slightly different satellite position.
I can't get a lock on the HD transponders. When I look on the spectrum analyser the signal is there (about the same strenght as the remainining transponders) but the C/N is bellow the receiver threshold.
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal

joddle

Specialist Contributor
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
555
Reaction score
106
Points
43
Age
73
My Satellite Setup
2x Pace 2600 C1 (in a box just in case) , 3 x Humax HD Foxstat (2 of which in store as spares) . 3x Manhatten Plaza - Pasat 2.4 PF dish mounted on flat roof with Invacom C120 quad LNB .
My Location
Massanassa, Valencia, Spain
Would a slight wobble of the sat do all that? - it does seem to have some sort of period ie it seems to swing in strength a little over several months or so and as mentioned higher up and on another thread and it does seem to be the whole footprint is affected which makes me think either it has been moved a little on purpose, or more likely the sat has a very slight and slow wobble - or of course it may be something completely different!!!
 

dxn

Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
105
Reaction score
30
Points
28
Age
45
Location
Estoril - Portugal
My Satellite Setup
Prime-focus 2,10m, 0,2 LNB Black Inverto, TBS6983 dvbcard, Octagon SF4008 4K,
Dreambox7020HD, NOS cable 200mb, Tivusat, TDTsat Spain, TDT Portugal.
My Location
Estoril - Portugal
well tested here now and don't get anything here not a sniff :(

What are the strongest frequencys?
 

skomedal

Regular Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
2,108
Reaction score
2,112
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
This and that
My Location
thule
Would a slight wobble of the sat do all that? - it does seem to have some sort of period ie it seems to swing in strength a little over several months or so and as mentioned higher up and on another thread and it does seem to be the whole footprint is affected which makes me think either it has been moved a little on purpose, or more likely the sat has a very slight and slow wobble - or of course it may be something completely different!!!

Think its a wobble as stated in my post in another thread :-

We are talking extreme fringe reception on astra 2e @28.2e satellite.

My location is very near/close too the so called first null line in scandinavia, have persevered to get lock and load on this bird and have succeeded with signal max 65 % qual on bbc3 and 62% qual on bbc2 hd so well happy.

Problem is these signals fade gradually towards the evening then cut out ~1900cet to reapear next day with repeat procedure.

Maybe when the BST ends might get extra evening viewing.

So either this bird has a wobble or is programmed to reduce signal strength at prime viewing times will see when BST ends.

All is not lost however when signal drops out I stream from pc to tv.

Regards

Regards
 

Pedro0102

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
83
Reaction score
30
Points
18
My Satellite Setup
Motorized system mainly aiming @ 28.2/28.5E
Famaval 3.1m
Invacom quad
My Location
Lisbon, Portugal
well tested here now and don't get anything here not a sniff :(

What are the strongest frequencys?

The lowest ones.
10714h is the strongest.
Everything is watchable now except HDs. No breakup.

The thing I find very strange is that before yesterday I had never spotted any signal.
And suddenly yesterday there was a significant signal increase. I suppose that a wobble would not produce such a sudden change...
 
Last edited:

Fredrik M

Regular Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2013
Messages
52
Reaction score
38
Points
18
Age
49
My Satellite Setup
Gibertini 125 dish, Inverto Black Ultra single aimed at 28.2 E, built in Philips TV receiver
Triax 110 aimed at Telstar 12 (15 W)
My Location
Landvetter (15 km E of Gothenburg), Sweden
Skomedal, the 2e is definitely not programmed to decrease output during prime time tv hours ;-). For us in western Sweden it could rather appear to be the opposite, an increase in the evenings. Take a look at the logging of signal strength that 'bema' does (30 km from where I live): http://www.eta.chalmers.se/~muy/weather/wx/grafer_astra.php

It is going to be interesting to see how they are going to arrange the birds when 2g comes into play. For us livning close to the 'null' lines, small adjustments seem to matter.
 
Top