36e - Russian Circular Beam - DX Reception

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
I know it's kind of a silly question.
Had a load eastern Europeans asking if they can pick this sat up.
It's Skegness area and they all said they would chip in for a massive dish in excess of 3 Metres.
Money isn't a factor. Would like to know other peoples reception reports.

Cheers
Hixxy
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,113
Reaction score
9,827
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Forget it - you are probably looking at well over 5m for decent reception - and unless you have a very very understanding council theres not a hope in hell of getting planning permission

According to this thread

http://www.satellites.co.uk/forums/fringe-reception-general/197384-russian-beam-36e.html

a couple of frequencies can just about be made out on a 3.5m in London, (very very weak and not watchable)

And a dish that big is going to suffer from co channel interference with the Sub Sahara African beams where the frequencies are reused (eg 11766, 11785)

You would be better off finding some sort of IPTV solution
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,113
Reaction score
9,827
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
AH heres a Russian IPTV service - I knew Id seen one:

-http://www.sateuropa.co.uk/cart/catalog/set-top-boxes/russian-kartina-iptv-receiver-3080.html

400 quid - thats a bit cheaper than a 5m dish :D



The channel listings can be seen here:

-http://kartina.tv/epg/
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
Thanks for your reply Analoguesat.
The council have become lenient around here, to the point that they made them remove a 1.2 m dish just a few inches round round the corner.
The're is more polsat/cyfra/viasat dishes here than anyone in Europe !!!
It keeps me happy, a lot of the euro women are quite fit. Had to go and re-align a 1m last week for a nice lithunanian ......
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,113
Reaction score
9,827
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
There are various sites that aggregate free IPTV streams as well:

-http://wwitv.com/television/174.htm

happens to be one Ive got bookmarked. The quality is rather variable, but most of the streams work ok on my sub 2meg broadband service
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
Edit! The council made them move it about 6 years ago. There's so many viast, polsat, ect dishes about. Can take some pics for you, in fact saw a T&K with three dishes stacked up haha. Would be good for your museums, there is also some rare dishes from portugal, especially the orange televes and loads more from the other foreigners lol.

Hixxy
 

Captain Jack

Модератор
Staff member
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
11,240
Reaction score
7,473
Points
113
My Satellite Setup
See signature
My Location
North Somerset
-http://www.kartina.tv is the place to go. Get one of those Dune HD players for £70 off eBay and you're off. The only reasonable solution. Works with slower Internet connections too.

I also looked into the Russian beam thing and it's just not possible in England. It's like trying to receive Astra 1N in Moscow (i.e. impossible).
 

Analoguesat

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
49,113
Reaction score
9,827
Points
113
Location
Scottish Borders
My Satellite Setup
TM 5402HD
Sky+ UK.
My Location
Scottish Borders
Another useful site for difficult to get satellite channels is lyngsat stream

-http://www.lyngsat-stream.com/tvcountry/Russia.html

Heres the Russian entries - have a delve around as theres all sorts of stuff available from many countries.
 

Hixxy1

Regular Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
457
Reaction score
111
Points
43
My Satellite Setup
DM800/7020Si/7000S, VU+ Duo, Skybox F3 & F5, TM1000D, Skystar 2 DVBdream, Triax TD110, Darkmotor, Inverto Black, Hotbird 13 Zone 2 MK 4, 28.2 Zone 1 MK4
My Location
East Midlands
Thanks CaptainJack & Analoguesat. Thanks for the website links, sat will always be the best though.
Possibly BT and people may lay more fibre lines, but at the end of the day sat will always be the redundancy backup :-)
 
Top